We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Comfort of Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shealane Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a wonderful place to be able to spend a week! The location of Shealane Country House is fabulous -- on Valential Island -- within walking distance across the bridge to Portmagee on the mainland with its lovely shops and pubs. So many sights to see locally on the island but also convenient for day excursions to other wonderful nearby places such as the Dingle Peninsula, and Skellig Michael. -- The rooms as so lovely, comfortable, and clean, with spacious tile and wood baths with fantastic showers. I especially loved having beautiful light streaming in through the roof windows in both the bedroom and bathroom (which had shades for night time). Lovely views from the bedrooms, and awesome views from the glassed-in breakfast room. Breakfasts were delightful -- just about anything you could want, cooked to order, along with cereals, yogurt, and wonderful fresh fruit salad each morning. Owners and hosts Mary and Jim were warm, friendly and delightful, and ready to do anything necessary to make your stay the best. Can't say enough about this wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very welcoming and helpful hosts. The breakfasts were very good and the view from the Breakfast Room wonderful. We stayed for three nights which is about right for exploring Valentia Island. It was tempting to sit in the Breakfast Room and soak up the view and the relaxed pace of life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'm starting to feel like family- my recent trip over for a week-long painting trip, was my fifth time to stay at Shealane! Mary and Jim are always so welcoming- and they make our whole group of painters feel welcome, too. Breakfast is wonderful and the views from the breakfast room are amazing! Such a wonderful place to linger in the early morning as the channel and the fishing village of Portmagee come to life! I always sleep soundly here, the rooms are spacious & clean and the beds so comfortable! Showers are great- with perfect water-pressure, quite welcomed after a long day outdoors painting the scenery! Mary is always helpful with knowledge of the area, and any advice we might need help with. I'll be coming back next summer with another group of painters - so many wonderful sights in the surrounding area- an artist's dream!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxanneSteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Paradise has been found! Shealane B&B is truly a hidden treasure! Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Jim, who then proceeded to carry all our bags to our room. Our room, number 1, was luxurious! Finished in pine, It looks to the West & the Atlantic Ocean, & South across the bridge to the picturesque village of PortMagee. Mary is a delight to meet. Warm & charming, she is very knowledgeable when it comes to her beloved Ireland, & gladly shares her enthusiasm for it. She also goes far & above the call of duty. In my case, I discovered that my hair sray bottle had leaked & got all over a brand new shirt I had not yet worn. She worked patiently with it for 2 days, & when we were leaving, she handed it to me all washed & neatly folded. That's something I never would have expected. Mary is a natural when it comes to owning a B&B. She is the quintessential B&B hostess. Breakfast is served in the Observatory, bright & sunny with windows all around. It shares the same views as our room. Breakfast is fantastic!. You must try the pancakes, simply the best ever. Even the coffee is the best I have drank ever. Located only some 12 minutes by car to N70 (Ring of Kerry Rd) near Cahersiveen, it is convenient & easy to do all your sight-seeing. Also, it's an easy 15 minute walk across the bridge to Portmagee & the shops & Pubs. Try the Bridge Bar for a great atmosphere & food. Small Valentia Island has several sites of interest to explore. More about Shealane, the sitting room makes you feel warn & cozy & want to curl up with a good book & a glass of wine. We've stayed in several wonderful B&B's, but Shealane is hard to beat. There is so much more to write about this great place, We are so glad we found it. The only negative I can say is that we had to say goodbye and leave. That was very difficult. We can only hope to return there some day, & to stay longer. We already miss it! We arrived as strangers, but left with great memories, and as good firends! Thanks Jim & Mary!

Room Tip: Room 1 is Deluxe. Good sized, good bathrom, and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Loved staying here a couple of months ago on our trip around Ireland. Fantastic views, perfectly situated, great breakfast and wonderfully comfy and spacious bedroom. Best of all though, were the terrific hosts who were a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdavis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had the great pleasure of staying with Mary and Jim for 2 wonderful nights at the end of August and Shealane Country House is without doubt the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed in.
The warm and honest welcome that we received from our hosts was just a taste of the pleasures to come during our stay......in particular the scrumptious home cooked breakfasts in the wonderful sun room which has a panoramic view of the Valentia Island and nearby Portmagee.
Mary was fantastic in organising a much anticipated trip to Skellig Michael for us and no doubt had some small hand in making sure that the sun shone so brightly all that day.
Anyone who gets the chance to stay at Shealane Country House will find themselves wishing to make a return trip as soon as possible.
We wish Mary and Jim all the very best and say a big thank you to them for a memorable trip Valentina......Mary and Stuart

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I really enjoyed my overnight stopover at Shealane House. It's situated perfectly across the bridge from Portmagee. My en suite bedroom had a great view.Jim and Mary were warm and welcoming hosts, the breakfast was lovely and I must say their sun room has the most amazing views of the local landscape. Mary had great ideas for sightseeing, local restaurants and music. Valentia island itself is beautiful and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omsibuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
4.2 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
279 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glanleam House
Glanleam House
#2 of 2 in Valentia Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
4 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#3 of 9 in Valentia Island
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shealane Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shealane Country House

Address: Bridge Road | Corha-Mor, Valentia Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range: £85 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shealane Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing