We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabolous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shealane Country House
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabolous B&B”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This B&B is a great find - located on Valentia Island it is a must for travellers who want a home from home. The welcome we received from Mary & Jim was second to none. They were so friendly and accomodating - I wish we were staying longer. Our room was superb and the Bed was the best we slept in on this trip - 10 days driving the Wild Atlantic Way...
The view of the Bay overlooking Portmagge as we had or breakfast was so idyllic & the breakfast was gorgeous - freshly prpeared fruit salad & Pancakes cooked to order - heaven - the best Pancakes I have ever eaten............
We normally stay in Hotels but after Shealane Country House it will be B&B's from now on - the friendliness & warm welcome was lovely - thank you Mary & Jim - we will be back..

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Shealane Country House is one of our favorite B&Bs ever. We stayed two nights in mid July. The room was spacious, nicely furnished, and equipped with all the little things you could possible need to make your stay comfortable. Most importantly, it was extremely clean. Free wifi worked perfectly. Wonderful breakfast selection with beautiful view on Portmagee. Mary and Jim are the nicest and most helpful hosts. They arranged a boat trip to Skellig Michael for us (highly recommended!!), arranged for our laundry to be done, etc. I hope we will have the opportunity to come back to Kerry some day. Then we will definitely stay at Shealane's again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a nice place to stay! Mary was very helpful when planning our trip and made many suggestions to my wife for our trip that started in Dublin and took us thru Cork, the Ring of Kerry and then up past the Cliffs of Moher, Doolan and then back to Dublin.
Breakfast was terrific, the room was very nice and comfortable and it was just a nice short walk over the bridge and into town for some good food. Mary and he husband made us feel very welcome during our stay. Traditional Irish, which was exactly what we were looking to experience. Kevin & Kathleen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Everything about Shealane was wonderful, including the hospitality of Mary and Jim Lane. The location on Valentia Island is great, with fabulous views of the fishing village of Portmagee over the bridge. We were treated to those great views every morning when we had breakfast in the beautiful sunroom with windows on three sides. The breakfasts were delicious, with a number of choices, and accompanied by warm chocolate chip brioche. My room was so cute and comfy and the bathroom had all the modern conveniences. I love everything about Shealane.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We could not ask for anything more from Shealane. Ideally located with wonderful views over the bridge to Port McGee. Comfortable rooms, guest lounge, great breakfast. When the weather is up to it there is a very comfortable terrace and gardens.

We will return!

I don't need 200 characters to review Shealane, just go, you will not be disappointed!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room offered a very nice few over the harbor of Portmagee. The room was very quiet and included a TV and a beautiful and clean bath. The breakfast was very tasty; especially the chocolate rolls. The price was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PichlerU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This B&B was recommended to me by a colleague and he could not have picked a better place! We arrived much later than planned but we were received with Jim's big smile and "no problem at all". Our room was beautiful with a fabulous view onto Portmagee and the hills of the island. The beds, bathroom and furnishings left nothing to be desired and we slept like babies. Breakfast in the big breakfast room overlooking Portmagee was a delight. Good Irish home cooking, fresh fruit, juices, Irish breakfast, organic food and home made bread, every dietary need was accommodated with grace. Jim and Mary gave us useful tips and booked us onto the boat ride to Skellig Michael, last minute - a definite highlight! Also very worth seeing is the Skellig Experience, down the road from Shealane. We spent three delightful days and nights, discovering the island, relaxing and enjoying the landscape, the good food and the Irish hospitality. We will definitely be back again! Many thanks for such a warm welcome agus slán! Cita L. , Germany

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
4.2 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
239 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 9 in Valentia Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
330 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shealane Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shealane Country House

Property: Shealane Country House
Address: Bridge Road | Corha-Mor, Valentia Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shealane Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing