We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Glanleam”
Review of Glanleam House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glanleam House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valentia Island
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Our trip to Glanleam started out bright and sunny on June 3rd 2012 and things got even better from there on in.We were greeted by the most friendly young lady,the daughter of the house who gave us a map and advised us on the route to walk towards the healing well and meditation area.We started off in the walled garden and then walked through the secret wood which would delight any child and get their imagination going,where fairies and goblins might live.!!!!We sat in the warm peaceful sunshine at the healing well as there are garden benches throughout the grounds to rest and retreat from the real world in this magical place.Every corner we encountered showed us one more beautiful area.The wild flowers were al in bloom and the sun glistened on the sea and nearby Valentia lighthouse,which can be viewed more closely if you take a short walk through a lovely meadow,Having completed our tour we were met by the gracious lady of the house who enquired if we had enjoyed ourselves,-well,it surpassed all of our expectations.My only advise would be is to pack a picnic because it was hunger and the desire for a cup of tea which made us leave this beautiful place.There are lovely picnic areas and toilet facilities nearby.Marian and Conor.cork.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank marian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

I accidentally discovered Glanleam while I was looking for B&B in Valentia. It proved to be an extraordinary find. It is a beautifully restored old house, full of beautiful things.Our room was airey and spacious with a fine king size bed. The bedroom had a wonderful view and an excellent bathroom. We were served a great breakfast with free range eggs and specially cured free range bacon.
The gardens are enchanting - a sub-tropical drippy paradise. It is mild and damp and wet, of course, in Valentia. Otherwise the wide range of exotic trees and plants would not survive. The gardens are somewhat informal but all the better for that, in my opinion.
I found that the landlady was a fount of fascinating information and insights. I would have liked to stay longer in Glanleam and would love to return. I can whole-heartedly recommend Glanleam, especially to anyone with an interest in gardens, trees and plants. A truly beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ursula777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Attacked by two vicious barking dogs while walking in the garden. Fortunately they were muzzled but one doesn't expect such an encounter after paying 6 euros entrance fee. Toilets unusable, really not suitable for the public and definitely overpriced.

Stayed: April 2012
13  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we stayed last year 2011 in glanleam,had a brilliant stay in the boat house what a place.our kids woke up every morning and walked straight out onto a piece of paradise which is the beach on valentia island. The boat house was amazing well kept and clean with the most amazing views of valentia lighthouse from the up stairs leaving room, we had young kids and found the place kind of kid friendly.the gardens are really special very natural and wild but well kept at the same time,endless walks and a real place to let go and relax.the only down fall was the price which was very expensive and also the owner is not the most reasonable woman when things dont go her way like over finger marks left by my baby on the upstairs window we forgot to clean and told we were dirty which we are not its a shame because it put a bit of a dampner on our stay which up to this was amazing valentia island is a piece of paradise no matter were you stay......

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I Phoned this house as we wanted to stay in Valentia on our way home. The owner was abrupt and rude on the telephone they had rooms available but said no children ours are 13/15 years old. No apologies were made what was strange was that was not stated on their flyer or website.

I checked trip advisor as I trust it and was not surprised to see the negative comments. But I also noted trips with children ????

We stayed in the moorings in Portmagee instead and had dinner downstairs very welcoming lovely breakfast and we would stay again.

Skip Glanleam House

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
14  Thank HausfrauIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

To visit Glanleam gardens is to experience a truly magical environment. The idea that its possible to grow such lush and exotic plants on one of Europe's most westerly inhabited island surrounded by the atlantic ocean is hard to imagine..............until you see it! Try walking around the gardens, take time to explore the many hidden treasures, water courses and pools, see the walled garden and then walk on to visit Valentia lighthouse and take tea at the lighthouse cafe overlooking this stunning place. Come prepared, you will be visiting the far south west of Ireland where the weather can and does vary by the minute. Bring good walking shoes and rainwear - enjoy the almost tropical athmosphere in the gardens, take time to breath it all in and when you finally leave say a big hello to the gentle dog.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reenellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I am an avid gardener so you can imagine my delight when I recently went to Valentia Island County Kerry to find this attraction on the doorstep. However the experience of the visit to the gardens was a huge disappointment and extremely expensive.
The literature promises a magical sub tropical garden with various sections and wonderful walks. The reality is that for 20 euros (2 adults and 2 under 5's) you wander around and around overgrown paths which are so badly maintained that it is impossible to view or distinguish any of the plants or themes of the walks. The paths are actuially dangerous and some of the overgrown plants hazardous tskin and eyes. The visitor map highlights areas such as bamboo walk and orchard which in reality are completely overgrown and inaccessible. I could still be looking for the pond in the bog garden but had to call it a day!!
The directional signage is very poor if in existence at all - some missing and other signs lying on the ground. At the end of the visit I felt very ripped off and disappointed.This was made even worse when a few days later I visited Derrynane House and Gradens and paid 6 euros for the same family group to visit both the House and wonderful, accessible and maintained gardens.
Anyone taken in by the marketing literature should think twice before visiting.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
15  Thank carapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
0.4 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
279 reviews
14.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
8.8 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
111 reviews
4 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 9 in Valentia Island
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glanleam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glanleam House

Address: Knightstown, Valentia | Ireland, Valentia Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valentia Island
Price Range: £86 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glanleam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glanleam House Hotel Valentia Island
Glanleam Hotel Valentia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing