We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Ripoff”
Review of Glanleam House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valentia Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glanleam House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valentia Island
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rude Ripoff”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Avoid at all costs. Whilst on Valentia island for a day trip we decided to visit Glanleam house and gardens as my mother is a keen gardener. The main gates were open and the ticket office unmanned so we continued up the lane to the main house where a watchful dog alerted the owner to our presence. We were presented with a photocopy of a hand drawn map, given general directions and charged €6.00 each (no senior citizen rate). No on-site information, no tickets, no receipts. Very quickly the error of our ways became apparent as we started to explore the ‘grounds’ hoping to find some walled or landscaped areas. What we found was an over grown, ill kept poorly signed mess. The toilets were just about fit for purpose, the foot paths crumbling and covered in moss and the ‘gardens’ over grown and unkempt. Yes, we did see some sub-tropical fauna and yes we understand that this is an old 19th century ‘working farm’ green house, but decided that it wasn’t worth dragging my elderly mother around on poor foot paths for hours. This may be a botanist’s idea of fun but it is certainly not for the average tourist / gardener. We were back at the car within 15 minutes and felt pretty much ripped off after spending €12. My mother approached the owner to return the ‘map’ and offer some feedback (if a refund, partial or not, was forthcoming that would have been welcome). What we did get was a tirade of abuse.....’what did we expect’...’we were unbelievable’ .....etc. As we drove out of the grounds I could still see the ‘lady’ shouting in my rear view mirror.
Later that trip we visited Muckross house in Killarney, enjoyed free parking, beautiful grounds and immaculate gardens, tropical plants in a Victorian green house and lovely restaurant and facilities with friendly staff. Cost...€0. If sub-tropical plants are your thing you can also visit Garnish Island in the harbour of Glengarriff in Bantry Bay.
Do not waste your time and money on Glanleam and its ignorant owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DTJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    0
    1
    14
See reviews for
17
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Such a wonderful location, great to stay in a manor house with such a history, restored to perfection by the owner,everything about Our Glanleam stay was perfect, and the owner was so welcoming, a nice cup of tea as soon as we arrived plus a great breakfast. We were entertained royaly by the owner, All on a magical island
We will surely return to Glanleam, cannot how you could not fall in love with the ho

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place is amazing, with a brilliant history and gorgeous grounds. There are 4 or 5 houses on site available to rent.

As paying guests we found the owner "Meta", in her seventies, very helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant. I'm sure my opinion of her would be different if I were to be caught trespassing, wandering about outside of the car taking pictures on her private gated property with out paying the entrance fee, all the while claiming I was just "turning around". "Private Property" & "Fee To Enter" are both clearly posted on the entrance.

With that said....
We stayed 4 cozy nights and had a great time.
The house we rented was modern and comfortable large enough for the 4 adult men to each have our own room. The kitchen was large for group cooking... stocked with all anyone could need. Large fridge. Laundry room.... dryer was hard to understand ( so many drying options).
The wind was whipping around out side, but we were warm, dry and toasty. The fireplace was definitely used in the evenings. Hot water was plentiful.

The grounds are brilliant. Fields with sheep and geese, enormous trees, lots of paths to walk with sights to see like the Safe Forest, Lighthouse, multiple Energy Spots, a little river. We were there in late April so all the flowers were not yet in full effect. The daffodils were popping and there were a few other little brushes of color taking shape, but I can only imagine the glory of the blooms in the summer.


My only complaint was lack of WI-FI, only because we expected it to be there. Owner said she was waiting for Hot Sticks to be delivered to her so as to boost signal to the house. This arrived the last night... so we never had any wi-fi access. This didn't have a great impact on either of us... but if it was a working trip that may have been a problem.

Whether you stay on site or just visit for the day Glenleam is wonderful. Valentia Island is worth the drive.
I hope to return, with my wife, in the future and stay for a full week during the summer.

Room Tip: Boat House is right on the coast and looked great. Ours was the A house and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As previous comments 'Horrid owner", we ended up going in to grounds to turn around because the road down was impossible to turn round in. We did not even stop yet we had a women yelling at us and running after us. We just drove out. But, by the time we got to the gates she had locked us and another car in. The intercom was not answered. We were about to call the police when we were also let out by a guest. DO NOT drive into this place. DO NOT go near it with a barge pole!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank BigFamilydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valentia Island hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We spent a great afternoon in these gardens. They are well worth the visit. And we found the owner delightful and helpful. We paid - I think - 10 euros for the entrance fee and it was definitely money well spent.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 738chrisd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

most comfortable houses to stay on-property. working fireplaces and the best walks in Kerry with stunning views. Meta and the family accomodate your needs. can walk into the village which is charming and relaxed. full of history and stunning planting. we were there twice ver the Springtime for lambing season - Eoin could not have been more interested in us and taking our daughter to meet the lambs. we love it

Room Tip: estate managers house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our short tour of the Ring of Kerry. Meta was a very welcoming hostess and we loved the house and the way she has restored it. It has only 4 rooms and will not suit those who like modern smart hotels. However it's location overlooking the bay and the view we enjoyed whilst eating the outstanding organic breakfast prepared by Meta and her daughter made this one of the best stop overs we have had. The gardens are stunning and we were very helpfully provided with maps and advice on walking locally. I would really recommend this hotel to those who like staying in restored splendour amid breathtaking scenery.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
0.2 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
234 reviews
19.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
8.5 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
136 reviews
4.2 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glanleam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glanleam House

Property: Glanleam House
Address: Knightstown, Valentia | Ireland, Valentia Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valentia Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Glanleam House Hotel Valentia Island
Glanleam Hotel Valentia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing