We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glanleam House
Nearby Hotels
Butler Arms Hotel(Waterville)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caitins(Cahersiveen)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ring of Kerry Hotel(Cahersiveen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Dwyers The Villa(Waterville)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
34
5
0
1
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
5
0
1
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled gardenenjoyed every minutefairy treegreat historydrawing roombeautiful areastunning viewshealingestatelandladypicnichousekerryramblingflowersvalentiabay
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

One cannot even walk at ease in this location,I was charged €6 to cross this ladies land via the cliffs to access the lighthouse,I had a small dog on a lead and was attacked by two dogs who were as ill mannered and as vicious as their German owner,pretty disgusting considering it is supposed to be a local tourist attaction and a huge let down for the local community.This was worse than terrible !!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
23  Thank Siobhain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Avoid at all costs. Whilst on Valentia island for a day trip we decided to visit Glanleam house and gardens as my mother is a keen gardener. The main gates were open and the ticket office unmanned so we continued up the lane to the main house where a watchful dog alerted the owner to our presence. We were presented with a photocopy of a hand drawn map, given general directions and charged €6.00 each (no senior citizen rate). No on-site information, no tickets, no receipts. Very quickly the error of our ways became apparent as we started to explore the ‘grounds’ hoping to find some walled or landscaped areas. What we found was an over grown, ill kept poorly signed mess. The toilets were just about fit for purpose, the foot paths crumbling and covered in moss and the ‘gardens’ over grown and unkempt. Yes, we did see some sub-tropical fauna and yes we understand that this is an old 19th century ‘working farm’ green house, but decided that it wasn’t worth dragging my elderly mother around on poor foot paths for hours. This may be a botanist’s idea of fun but it is certainly not for the average tourist / gardener. We were back at the car within 15 minutes and felt pretty much ripped off after spending €12. My mother approached the owner to return the ‘map’ and offer some feedback (if a refund, partial or not, was forthcoming that would have been welcome). What we did get was a tirade of abuse.....’what did we expect’...’we were unbelievable’ .....etc. As we drove out of the grounds I could still see the ‘lady’ shouting in my rear view mirror.
Later that trip we visited Muckross house in Killarney, enjoyed free parking, beautiful grounds and immaculate gardens, tropical plants in a Victorian green house and lovely restaurant and facilities with friendly staff. Cost...€0. If sub-tropical plants are your thing you can also visit Garnish Island in the harbour of Glengarriff in Bantry Bay.
Do not waste your time and money on Glanleam and its ignorant owner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
23  Thank DTJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Such a wonderful location, great to stay in a manor house with such a history, restored to perfection by the owner,everything about Our Glanleam stay was perfect, and the owner was so welcoming, a nice cup of tea as soon as we arrived plus a great breakfast. We were entertained royaly by the owner, All on a magical island
We will surely return to Glanleam, cannot how you could not fall in love with the ho

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view if available
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place is amazing, with a brilliant history and gorgeous grounds. There are 4 or 5 houses on site available to rent.

As paying guests we found the owner "Meta", in her seventies, very helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant. I'm sure my opinion of her would be different if I were to be caught trespassing, wandering about outside of the car taking pictures on her private gated property with out paying the entrance fee, all the while claiming I was just "turning around". "Private Property" & "Fee To Enter" are both clearly posted on the entrance.

With that said....
We stayed 4 cozy nights and had a great time.
The house we rented was modern and comfortable large enough for the 4 adult men to each have our own room. The kitchen was large for group cooking... stocked with all anyone could need. Large fridge. Laundry room.... dryer was hard to understand ( so many drying options).
The wind was whipping around out side, but we were warm, dry and toasty. The fireplace was definitely used in the evenings. Hot water was plentiful.

The grounds are brilliant. Fields with sheep and geese, enormous trees, lots of paths to walk with sights to see like the Safe Forest, Lighthouse, multiple Energy Spots, a little river. We were there in late April so all the flowers were not yet in full effect. The daffodils were popping and there were a few other little brushes of color taking shape, but I can only imagine the glory of the blooms in the summer.


My only complaint was lack of WI-FI, only because we expected it to be there. Owner said she was waiting for Hot Sticks to be delivered to her so as to boost signal to the house. This arrived the last night... so we never had any wi-fi access. This didn't have a great impact on either of us... but if it was a working trip that may have been a problem.

Whether you stay on site or just visit for the day Glenleam is wonderful. Valentia Island is worth the drive.
I hope to return, with my wife, in the future and stay for a full week during the summer.

Room Tip: Boat House is right on the coast and looked great. Ours was the A house and it was great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeffree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As previous comments 'Horrid owner", we ended up going in to grounds to turn around because the road down was impossible to turn round in. We did not even stop yet we had a women yelling at us and running after us. We just drove out. But, by the time we got to the gates she had locked us and another car in. The intercom was not answered. We were about to call the police when we were also let out by a guest. DO NOT drive into this place. DO NOT go near it with a barge pole!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
17  Thank BigFamilydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews