We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tetrapod Trackpad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tetrapod Trackpad

Tetrapod Trackpad
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tetrapod Trackpad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Amazing to think how ancient this planet is and that all this was here many years ago - and that something alive crawled from the sea and left its mark for us to see 385 million years later. Crazy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thompsona96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Think about Tetrapod for awhile ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Think about Tetrapod for a few moments, a creature which used to live there 385 millions years ago! Now you have an opportunity to visit the tetrapod trackway, see the fossil, read information boards. Great experience to see and stop by to think about a passing time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I like what I've learnt about position of irealand many centuties ago and about first animals....just it wasn't enough, I needed more input on it. Latter at home I've googled it, but it would be better if the information was already there. Maybe I'm just a little bit nerdy. However,it was enough to arise my curiosity. But do go to see it,it is a unique experience and very different from most of the sights you'll find there...and it's free :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alfamarija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice, fl
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“385 million years old!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The tetrapod trackway was very interesting. According to the information, the fossil trackways were formed 385 million years ago, during the Middle Devonian period, when Ireland was part of the southern hemisphere continent of Euramerica. I’ve always enjoyed discovering fossils, and this place was very impressive. My Teenage Daughters also enjoyed this visit. I highly recommend a quick stop to check this place out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jdland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“foot prints of another time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

always be intrested in fossils but only seen foot prints once before on the Isle of Wight - visit the Heritage Centre for more information

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonUKAndy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tetrapod Trackpad also viewed

Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to Tetrapod Trackpad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing