We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Bridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge House
Ranked #2 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed over on Saturday night and had a wonderful time. Mona was gracious, welcoming and wise! The guest house is a living work of art as is Mona! Breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice, and among the many delights was Gobbeen cheese with quince jelly, tasty organic local rashers and sausages, homemade preserves etc. We will be back. An absolute jewel. Gavin and Stuart xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gavin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very quirky place that has loads of charm, bedrooms immaculate and breakfast amazing. I would definitely return great value too. In good location and very easy going. The young chap working there was my only criticism as he just opened the bedroom door twice and just came in... Mona was great

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Mona, What can I say about this wonderfull , magical,surprising bed & breakfast . My husband and myself had the honour of staying two nights in your home, such a welcome. Lovely Mona, thank you for your beautiful, delicious breakfast.I just love this Bridge House Bed & Breakfast,will be returning soon I hope. 'Lovely Skibbereen' Love Bernie /Noel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our 2 night stay at the Bridge House was excellent thanks to Mona's fantastic hospitality in her theatrical home. On arrival to the Bridge House, you never stop staring at every nook and cranny as Mona has tastefully decorated every inch of space in a creative and quirky manner which keeps you smiling. The bedrooms are all decorated artistically and beautifully with so many lovely touches.

The breakfast leaves you nicely full & is a healthy, hearty one and its style varies each morning.
Mona is at hand and always up for chat and advice on local attractions all throughout your stay. She is a delight, just like her home! Thank you,Mona, for such a wonderful stay. It's like no other!
Lauren & Gareth

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An impromptu visit to Kerry, no accommodation booked, a late call to Mona and thank goodness a room was available... and what a room! What a house, what a host! The entire experience was just fantastic. Two exhausted travellers fell in the door at 11pm to find a surprise at every turn, quirky, boho chic everywhere... Into their room at 11pm, to the most comfortable bed, strewn with rose petals, soft lighting and pillows everywhere. Bliss! Breakfast the next morning was just a delight and delicious! Mona certainly knows how to look after her guests! I would heartily recommend that no matter where on the N71 your journey is taking you, take the turn off for Skibereen and stay the night at the Bridge House, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaArtist48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It makes such a difference when you find a great place to stay and that's exactly what we found in Bridge House. Mona has created a wonderfully quirky home and she is the perfect welcoming hostess. Don't miss it if you are in the area. The breakfasts are to die for. Skibbereen itself is lovely and has plenty nice places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheenaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We found this place late on a wet afternoon but hadn't booked and there was no-one home when we knocked on the door. Whilst we were sitting in the car deciding what to do, Mona came flying down the road on her bike, skirts flying in the breeze. She welcomed us in and gave us tea and cake. The inside has to be seen to be believed. It is crammed with Victoriana; knick knacks, books, dummies in vintage clothes and even a stuffed animal in the bathroom! Although it is full to the brim, it is very clean and well cared for. The beds were extremely comfortable and breakfast was a feast. Highly recommended if you want a change from the generic, corporate style.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaItalia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skibbereen hotels
0.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Russagh Mill Hostel
Russagh Mill Hostel
#1 of 7 in Skibbereen
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#9 of 12 in Skibbereen
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
47 reviews
1.6 mi away
Liss Ard Estate
Liss Ard Estate
#3 of 12 in Skibbereen
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annie Mays B&B
Annie Mays B&B
#11 of 12 in Skibbereen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Address: Bridge House 74 Bridge Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing