We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful & peaceful.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gate Lodge

The Gate Lodge of Lough Hyne House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate Lodge of Lough Hyne House
Arrival at Lough Hyne Sitting room with cast iron spiral stairs to the two bedrooms. One small single and the double.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The Gate Lodge of Lough Hyne House
Arrival at Lough Hyne
Sitting room with cast iron spiral stairs to the two bedrooms. One small single and the double.
Sitting room showing fourth bed.
Dining area in the bay window.
Kitchinette
Master Bedroom
View from the Gate Lodge
Sunset on the lough
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Skibbereen, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cyncaj11
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful & peaceful.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the gate lodge for the 2nd half of our honeymoon in Ireland. It was absolutely beautiful. The lodge is adorable & provides the necessities. I'm a little spoiled though & did not care for the shower or the bugs (spiders & the like) but these things are to be expected in such a rural setting.

There are so many hidden gems around the lodge. We stumbled across a path up one of the hills (up the road, opposite the lodge) and hiked to some of the most breathtaking views of the countryside.

Overall it was a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travelmop...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Hi,

we stayed for a full week in the Gate Lodge and had a wonderfull time.

Right from the start we fell in love with the gate lodge. The main room with the fireplace is great for long evenings and the view from the dining table over Lough Hynes is breathtaking. Keep the fire going for some time and even cold March weather cannot keep you from enjoying your stay.

During our stay we saw several seals swimming in the water right in front of the house and the rest of the wildlife is wonderful. We explored the beautiful area of West Cork from here and discovered many hidden gems. Have a look at the leaflets in the gate lodge should you need inspiration.

The lough is sheltered from the waves on the open sea and I was not the only one going for a swim in the clear water.

We would and will return every time we can make the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very quiet surrounding and nature
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and the stunning views
Liked least: (just a minor point) No one explained how things worked (tv, hot water, heating) and contact info was out of date
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing