We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxed and very welcoming”
Review of Liss Ard Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Liss Ard Estate
Ranked #3 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxed and very welcoming”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here around this time last year for a late Valentines weekend. What sticks in my mind is the warm welcome we received and how we were encouraged to feel at home. The food in the restaurant is fantastic - a huge choice of fresh food for breakfast (fresh breads, fruit, cold meats, cheese, fish .. i could go on and on) and although there was a limited choice for dinner, it was delicious. The room was perfectly comfortable. There were lots of couches with open fires in the open areas and, while you could help yourself to tea and coffee, if you wanted a beer or other drink, you could also just help yourself from the dining room and mark it on a slate tab .. nice informal touch. Staff were really helpful yet totally unobstrusive - they arranged horseriding for us next door and there are bikes there with which to explore the area (the beach is only a 20 minute cycle away with a route along by the very picturesque lake). Lots of nice attention to detail here. I'd definitely recommend as a getaway weekend for couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    40
    10
    13
    3
See reviews for
61
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We returned to Liss Ard for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year to recharge the batteries. As soon as we arrived I knew we had made the right decision to return. Liss Ard has definitely grown in poularity over the past year and yet what makes Liss Ard so unique remains unchanged. A wonderfully warm welcome, a serene and tranquil atmosphere and excellent service all round. Nothing is a problem and everything a pleasure. It was our daughters eighth Birthday whilst we were there again and although we headed out for dinner that night, the restaurant staff were looking our for our return and then Ella was serenaded at her door with a yummy desert by the restaurant staff - even though it had been an extremely busy evening in the hotel for them. These small gestures mean so much and make memories especially for children. Our son now wants to ensure that we return when it is his birthday!
Our meal in the hotel the following evening was divine and a lovely selection for the kids too. Liss Ard is a retreat for us - where we walk rest, read and eat and no matter the weather we take advantage of being outsdie and enjoy the beautiful grounds. So well done to Melanie, Mary, Kate and all the team for retaining the uniqueness of Liss Ard which makes it a very special place. We look forward to return in the summer the Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we were in Liss Ard for a wedding.
Great place, wonderful food and service.
Lots to do in the Estate and near by area.
Excellent management, very helpful and worm.
We had four great rooms.
Perfect for everybody.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank israel b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

As one of only two couples at the estate we were upgraded into a suite and given the royal treatment. The sitting rooms are stylish and individual. Very cozy, with roaring fires. Our room was amazing. The bed was fantastic and the bathroom was the size of a NYC apartment. Even though the weather limited our exploration of the expansive grounds (and the amazing Turrell Sky Gardens), it was still a delight. And they even had rain gear that we could borrow for our walks.

The staff was amazing, friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive. Everyone was lovely, but special kudos to the masseuse, who gave me perhaps the best massage ever and was utterly charming. The restaurant was very good and the food was local and innovative. Breakfast was copious and delicious.

We will absolutely return, probably in the summer to see the estate in all of its glory--though truth be told we loved having the manor to ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A fantastic country house where you can use all the wonderful sitting rooms and lounges. A wide range of different bedrooms to chose from, ours stylish with a lovely comfortable bed. The estate is great to view on the freely supplied bikes, and if you want to canoe on the lovely lake these are available too. The restaurant was very good, the room with artwork really interesting. Overall, a truly fabulous location; we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Ferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Don't go there on a Sunday in May. We toured Ireland, booking accommodation and dinners through an agency. We spent two nights at Liss Ard, mid May, in two rooms of the splendid Country House. The water failed at 6.15 pm just as we were going through the shower. The only information in the room was a 'welcome' letter which gave two extension numbers - Reception '0' and kitchen '103'. No answer from Reception after five attempts; eventually someone replied on '103' and said they'd put the pump back on. [These 2 numbers were given in connection with Breakfast: guests were informed it would be served in two sittings at 8.45 am and 9.45 am and they should advise staff which one they wished to book.]
The girl serving dinner to the three of us - we were apparently alone in the house - was very willing, but filling in for the first time (as the regular girl was away). The Receptionist seemed to have disappeared by 4 pm. There was no information about emergency numbers - or when/if the front door was locked at night. Our belief on the Sunday night was that we were alone in the House/Estate.
On the Monday it transpired they would not be opening the restaurant. They arranged for us to go to a local, excellent inn. The manager spoke to us late afternoon and said that there was a 200 acre estate as well as a Country House and she could not have a lot of staff on for 3 guests. She claimed someone always slept in the basement. She arranged for the dinner charges to be waived in compensation for our poor experience.
To be noted: the Welcome letter was from the Operations Manager, and she clearly saw herself as managing all the various aspects of the Estate, not just the hotel function. The gardens and wider country estate are attractive to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We often travel to west cork during the summer from Dublin, as we love the local food culture and beautiful scenery, and have experienced my fair share of fine dinning and good service, we stumbled upon lissard, en route to a little beach called Tragumna and decided to stop off on the way back. From the moment we entered we had the warmest welcome from a very kind and helpful waitress, we had some specific dietary requirements in our family all of which were not an issue (compared to a few establishments we have been to) our waitress was more then willing to accommodate our needs. The food was of a very high standard and delicious. I would recommend dining at Lissard to everyone. when we finished our meal we went on a little adventure to find the "sky Gardens" which our waitress had recommended, and it was Beautiful .
Special thanks to the waitress Faye, and we will definitely be back next summer for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
1.6 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
13.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#7 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liss Ard Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liss Ard Estate

Property: Liss Ard Estate
Address: Castletownshend Road, Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liss Ard Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Georgian property returned to its former glory with furnishings offering a comfortable modern twist. 163 acres of woodlands, lake and waterfalls for our guests and visitors to enjoy. Fifty acre Lough Abisdealy available for fishing, swimming and complimentary rowing boat. We buy all possible produce from within 50 km of Liss Ard and grow our own vegetables in our walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Liss Ard Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liss Ard Estate Hotel Skibbereen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing