We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Wonderful B&B!”

Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss This Wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our family recently stayed a night at the Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse while traveling through West Cork. Located in a perfectly tranquil, rural setting surrounded by gorgeous green vistas, we were warmly welcomed by Eileen. When she offered refreshments we never expected all that was presented to us which even included home baked pie! The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Fresh squeezed orange juice greeted us at the breakfast table. Everything was home made and delicious. Eileen has a way of making you feel at home and we loved our conversations with her. We followed her suggestion to visit Mizen Head and found it to be spectacular. We hope to visit again, hopefully for a longer stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed a night in Coolbawn lodge. The level of cleanliness is outstanding. Hospitality was great, very professional people. The food was wonderful. We could tell that the food was handled based on the recommended health and safety procedures. Everything was home made (what a great orange juice!).
We loved the coffee!

The location is perfect, a beautiful place. We highly recommend anybody who visit the area to stay at Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, we got the opportunity to see them, all of them are nice. A place we highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_1er9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Eileen went out of her way to give us a very different B&B experience. We were blown away with the attention to detail and top quality home baking and local produce that welcomed us upon arrival. This was the first time I've been to a B&B where an evening snack was also provided. We were so full after it we cancelled our plans for dinner in Skibbereen! I have been to many B&Bs around the country and this was by far the nicest in terms of welcome and delicious food.
If you're looking for a quiet night in a beautiful, remote setting in fabluous West Cork, you cant go wrong with Coolbawn Lodge. If your fond of a chat, with a cup of tea "in the hand", then Eileen's the woman for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEIJING
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had a wonderful stay here, the room was immaculate, the welcome was very warm and the food was beautiful. I felt like I was part of the family. I can highly recommend a stay here, it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just experienced one of the best B&Bs ever! The house was more than comfortable and the attention to detail is superb. The welcome offered by the lovely Eileen was delightful, and when we were unable to find somewhere to eat in Skibbereen, we were treated to a second helping of the copious amounts of tea and home baking that we had received on our arrival. Breakfast was generous, tasted good and was beautifully presented. Eileen obviously loves people and entertaining and this is reflected in the excellent quality of the service that she provides. Thank you very much Eileen, We look forward to staying with you again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

If you are looking for accommodation in this area you must stay with Eileen here. We have stayed in a lot of B&B's, some very nice but Eileen takes it to another level again. First off, the wonderful welcome when we arrived. We were greeted with a cup of tea and plates of home baking.
The choice of breakfast is varied and tasty no matter what you have, supplemented with cheese and crackers, wonderful fruit selections and homemade jams and home grown honey. It is sumptuous.
The rooms are clean, large and have wonderful personal touches such as bathrobes and little slippers.
Padraigh and Eileen are wonderful people. We had some fantastic conversations and thoroughly enjoyed watching the Hurling finals with them. They made us feel like family and we were genuinely sorry that we had to leave. I highly recommend staying at Coolbawn Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Coolbawn Lodge is a little gem tucked away in the countryside near Skibbereen, County Cork. We received a warm welcome from Eileen together with her now legendary tea, scones, home-made cake, cheeses . . . . ; the blackcurrant jam was gorgeous. Our en-suite bedrooms were spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. Eileen was knowledgable about the local area, recommending a lovely restaurant for dinner and the best place to buy local cheese. There was no down-side :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skibbereen hotels
0.0 mi away
PK Lodge
PK Lodge
#4 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Russagh Mill Hostel
Russagh Mill Hostel
#1 of 6 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#6 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liss Ard Estate
Liss Ard Estate
#3 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse

Property: Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse
Address: Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing