We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend in Lassanroe Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend at Lassanroe Cottage. It was a surprise for my wife and she was delighted.
In short, this place is perfect. Every detail is thought through.
Peter and Anna were very helpful e.g. I text Peter on Saturday with a query about the hot tub. 1 minute later my phone rang and 1 further minute later the question had been answered.
Check out Atlantic Sea Kayaking night time trip - excellent.
Church Restaurant - Nice food but poor service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanx_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a fantastic time at the cottage, the place is beautiful and its hard to top the hot tub but we found everything we could possibly need. All the rooms are a perfect mix of old and new and we will be making this trip again and again. Thanks to Anna and Peter for answering any queries we had before we got there and I have to give an extra mention to Liz who went above and beyond in helping make it a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper201380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in lassanroe cottage for our one year anniversary and we experienced exactly what we hoped for! It was private without being remote, very accessible to skibbereen for bars and restaurants but if we wanted time alone it was perfect! In particular have to mention the hot tub, given the Irish weather there is nothing like relaxing in a hot tub with the rain drizzling on ur head! With wifi and all movie channels it's easy to have a cosy night with your other half ( not to mention the free bottle of champagne that's provided) loved it and are planning our return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deecmurphy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

my wife and I just returned from a 2 night stay in the riverbank barn and we were very disappointed with barn.
on arrival in the barn I hit my head going in the door with no warning signs to watch your head! but it was the smell in the barn which immediately caught my attention. it was a dank, musty smell and when I went down the precarious spiral staircase I could see where the smell was coming from. the walls downstairs were damp and the smell was a little overpowering, maybe the owners can't smell it.
inspecting the rest of the barn it wasn't finished to a high standard with a lot of the fixtures and fittings only finished to a DIY standard at best - ill fitting doors in kitchen, carpet around the jacuzzi, carpet in the toilet/shower room, shower grout dirty, patio area not painted or tided in a while etc.
the reason I bring these things up is that you are paying top dollar for the barn and I'm sorry but it is very overpriced and I think the owners are on to a good thing here offering a unique experience.
we headed to mizen head on one of the local day trips and we seriously didn't want to spend the 2nd night but because our card details were given we decided to stick it out.
personally, I would pay a quarter of the price and stay in a local b&b because the area is beautiful and I would recommend the church restaurant in skibbereen and a trip to mizen head.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saffycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here midweek for two nights. We have never stayed in a b&b or self catering accommodation before for short breaks only hotels. We didn't know what to expect.

This place is amazing! Was good to be able to relax in this cottage with no outside noise at all. There are two other cottages in attached to this one. We could not hear anything from the other people through the walls at all, unlike a hotel room. The courtyard cottage number 1 is just the perfect size for a couple to stay in. The kitchen has everything you need, right down to tin foil for the leftovers!

We stayed in both nights for dinner, getting a Chinese from the local town and cooked dinner the second night. We had lunch in skiberreen both days, ate in Apple Betty's and The Church( lovely atmosphere and friendly staff).

The bedroom was perfect and cosy, with clean bathrobes left on the bed for the two of us and rose petals on the bed. TV in bedroom was linked to the sky box, which was great!

The hot tub on the upstairs deck was so relaxing. We used this both evenings for a few hours! Nice to sit back and look at the stars!

Sitting room part is just what you need for two people. Very comfy sofa, which was lovely for a lazy afternoon snooze. Some DVDs, books and magazines were there. Good thing was there was full sky movies package and wifi was excellent for those who want to keep in touch with the outside world, pretty quick and was able to stream netflix on iPad.

There are some things that are outdated and could be changed, but it all adds to the character of the cottage and I wouldn't change it.

Really nice grounds and got to pick blackberries for our breakfast!

We didn't get to meet the owners as they were away, but they left a note to say sorry and info about the cottage. We will definitely return to grove house or stay in one of the other places they have.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benfox1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from our second stay here. Two days stay is must. Courtyard cottage two was amazing. Our own private double jacuzzi was the highlight along with the champagne. Peter and Anna greeted us and are very welcoming

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just home from a very relaxing and comfortable stay at The Tree House (no.1).
Very comfortable. Open plan which is nice with decent wifi with SatTV and DVD player also.
The hot tub on the balcony at the rear of the Tree House was lovely.
The toilet is a of a unique 'composting' type. No big deal but you must read the clear instructions provided.

The whole modus operandi here is that you are left alone which to be honest is a welcome change from a hotel, room service, check in, check out. Well thought out and kudos to the owners who have figured on this and made it a welcome passive feature of our stay.

Plenty of places in 'Skibb' for superb food and cold beer.
All 100%.
Our favourite was probably the 'Sibin' out the Baltimore Rd near Baltimore (Rath).

Thank you Peter and Anna for a beautiful stay. We will pass the word.
Aidan.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank dauphin_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
17.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
11.5 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,253 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
1.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
511 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House and Courtyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House and Courtyard Cottages

Address: Skibbereen Retirement Village | Coolnagarrane, Skibbereen P81 VX40, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Courtyard Skibbereen
Skibbereen Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing