We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of The Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill
Ranked #3 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Mill is a very nice B&B with an eye-catching front garden. The room was nice and clean and the hosts are giving a lot of information about pubs and restaurants in Bantry, which are in walking distance to the B&B. The breakfast was fantastic. Qutation of the holiday regarding interesting places: "Forget about Ring of Kerry, do the Ring of Beara". This was the best advise of our Ireland trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philipp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
102
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent B&B with great Dutch characters who own and run it.
Nothing is to much trouble.
Very good location on the main road, but set back from it, with a pretty garden across the front.
It is about a 10 to 12 min walk into Bantry.
This is two Bungalows joined together with a dining room and conservatory, which is a very comfortable area to sit, drink, chat and rest after a busy day.
Kitchenette available for tea, coffee, biscuits at any time play a refrigerator to keep your own wine or beer in as well.
Most comprehensive breakfast that I have seen (at least 6 Muesli types)
Very quirky decoration and ornaments throughout the whole place with paintings made by Cees himself.
Good size rooms which are immaculately clean.
Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Those who choose to stay in this place are in for a surprise. It is not only beautiful and well kept but unique in it`s appointments and style. This is truly a class B & B.. The hosts are lovely welcoming people and nothing is too much trouble. Conrad is very informative about the local area and gives good tips on where and where not to go. If we have to good fortune to go back to Ireland then we will stay there again just to say hello. The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: I would imagine any room would be good as they were all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retlaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great B+B. The hosts are Dutch and they do things well. They are so helpful!
Its different..it really somewhere worth trying if you need a room in the area. Super choice of food and tea or coffee available all the time.
Go for it...i think you will be glad!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a supertime! Perfect hosts, very nice and clean room and an excellent breakfast.
Bantry is also a nice town to visit. Restaurant The Snug serves nice food for a good price
We'll come back!

David en John from The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnenDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with Tosca and her husband. We had originally only booked 2 nights but enjoyed it so booked another.
The room was quite clean and spacious. We even had a small table and 2 chairs which was a lovely addition to the room. The bathroom was clean and spacious and even though we hung our towels to reuse each day we were provided with fresh ones.... this was nice.
Breakfast was fabulous. There were about 9 different types of cereal, various fruits and yogurts, scones and then a great choice of cooked options.
It was also within wailing distance from the main street which is great; it's nice to be out of the car and go for a walk.
Both Tosca and her husband were very friendly and each morning would check if we needed suggestions or directions for our days activites.
We would happily stay here again on a return visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereseHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights here and we were made so welcome and at home by Tosca the owner. After a day of travelling it was so relaxing to just sit in the beautiful conservatory where we were treated to teg and cake. We were served the best breakfast ever in the lovely dining room adorned by the very interesting artwork of Tosca's husband. This was our second visit to The Mill and it won't be our last. Terry and Paddy.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terryorpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bantry hotels
0.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#11 of 25 in Bantry
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill

Property: The Mill
Address: The Mill The Mill The Mill Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill, is a well established Bed and Breakfast. The Mill is a large bungalow, with all rooms on the ground floor. There is ample off road parking on site. We are recommended by many guides, including, The Lonely Planet, Le Guide Du Routard, Geo, The Michelin Guide, Dumont and more. It is a five minute walk to Bantry town, where you can enjoy nice seafood restaurants and bar food.Free WIFI available for you to use. All bedrooms are ensuite, with hairdryers and televisions.Separate kitchenette with coffee and tea making facilities. There is also a lovely conservatory where you can sit and read, or just relax and enjoy the views of the garden.The Mill is an ideal base for touring The Sheephead, Mizen Peninsula, Beara Peninsula, and for walking and cycling tours. We can provide a safe place to store your bicycles at night. It is also in a very good location if you are attending some of Bantry’s well known festivals, such as The Chamber Music Festival, The Masters of Tradition, or The Literary Festival.Breakfast is served in a comfortable dining room with nice art to see. There is also a buffet every morning which includes a range of mueslis, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and more, for those that prefer healthy options. We also offer a traditional cooked breakfast .(breakfast menu available)We hope that you will find The Mill, a home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing