We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Break”
Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just back from westlodge Hotel

Staff are excellent very friendly food great and affordable room interior a bit dateted but very clean ,will defiantly go back again Bantry house just a stone throw away also great affordable Restaurants in Bantry Town within Walking distance .Only downfall was breakfast vewry well presented and good variety but cold on both mornings plates not warm

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I would advise everybody to stay away from this hotel , the bedroom carpets were threadbare floors were rock hard ! Stains on walls throughout the room including up over the head board of the bed. Dirty shower curtains - lots of dirty damp patches over bath. No privacy from accommodation staff who walked in without knocking on the day of departure an hour & a half before check out time.
Cold potatoes & veg served with the dinner which was like a conveyor belt - 3 courses in 40min.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aoife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If I could give a gold medal to hotel staff, the Westlodge Hotel Bantry would win hands-down. Brid in the Restaurant and Michael in the bar are both gems! We were made feel extremely welcome. We booked a 2-night deal which was very good value. The hotel, while not the most modern in décor, is an excellent base for touring this very scenic area. The quality of the locally produced food was excellent. The pool / leisure area is of a very good standard. This is a hotel I would happily return to and we wish them well for the future.

Room Tip: While the décor is not the most modern, rooms are spotlessly clean with good linens, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFitzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel a few weeks ago. First impressions on arriving was a little disappointing, while the hotel front looks very nice there were weeds growing through the brick work at the entrance. On entering the lobby it was nice and bright with large glass panels facing on to the road. At reception the receptionists were very polite and inviting and explained everything we needed to know. We then proceeded to our room and on entering first thoughts were that it was dated and needed to be up dated. The furniture was dated and had seen better days, the room was on the small side, but was clean and bright. The bathroom was clean and adequately stocked with towels and toiletries while it lacked a holder for the toilet rolls. Wifi is not available in the bed rooms and we found it was also hard to get connected on mobile devices in the lobby or the bar areas. In the bar we ordered tea and ham sandwiches which we would have thought would come with a little salad on the side as is what we find is usually the case in other hotels we have stayed at. For the evening meal in the evening we ate in the dining room which was very cosy and clean. The waiting staff were excellent and very obliging and friendly the meal, of baked Haddock was beautiful and cooked to perfection but the veg was a little scarce for two people to share. One thing we found to be very annoying was how the noise seemed to travel through out the Hotel. Doors could be heard banging constantly, noise from other guests walking or talking in the corridors resonated through out the building, toilets could be heard flushing from other rooms, as a light sleeper I found this to be very disturbing through out the night. In the morning when we went down for breakfast we were met by very friendly waiting staff who on hearing I was not happy with the breakfast from the pre cooked food heating cabinet ordered a freshly cooked breakfast for both myself and my wife. While waiting for the breakfast we were served with tea which was refreshed when the breakfast was served. We were seated by the large windows looking down over Bantry Bay which was beautiful in the morning sunshine. It is a pity that this view is spoiled by all the cobwebs and spiders and other bugs on the walls on the outside of the hotel which you cannot avoid looking at as you look out the windows. The leisure centre was very nice and we found it to be a very enjoyable experience. All the staff we encountered during our stay from the reception to the bar and the dining Room and house staff during our stay were very friendly and obliging. It was refreshing to find that there were more Irish staff employed than other Nationality's as this is not usually the case in Irish Hotels. It is better for the local population that work is offered at least on an equal basis. It is a pity the the negatives out way the positives at this hotel, if these issues could be improved on the hotel would be a nice place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: I would say that a room at the back of the hotel would be better if facing towards the bay the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Availed of Special Offer @ Westlodge Hotel in Bantry, which consisted of 3 nights B&B and 1 dinner. This entitled us to use of the pool, sauna etc, which we availed of each day. The Hotel is dated but clean, with reasonable food and friendly staff. Situated 2km from Bantry town with a very pleasant 20min walk from the hotel. Taxis/hackneys on call @ €5 per trip in either direction. Very good choice of restaurants and bars in the town, and Bantry is an ideal location from which to explore West Cork. Hotel was good value for the price and would certainly return again.

Room Tip: we had a double room in a corridor one floor down from reception, adjacent to the pool and recreatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife, almost 2 year old daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights on a DB&B package.
Most reviewers say it is dated and admittedly it is but it works!!!! The rooms were spotless, well serviced and very comfortable. My only crib is that in this day and age I feel internet should come as standard - at times I was able to get it but could not guarantee it. It was available in the lobby.

The location is superb within easy access for day trips to Mizen Head, Garinish Island, Gougane Barra. Bantry House and Gardens and Whiddy Island are a stones throw away.

The leisure centre, pool and Jacuzzi were A1.

Breakfast was standard but loads of choice, well cooked and very tasty. While I have no objection to being presented with tinned fruit for breakfast, I would prefer to be offered fruit in juice as opposed to sugar laden syrup.

Dinner menus were very traditional - roast meat and 2 veg affairs but were very well presented and tasty. This is not a criticism but just to warn folk that this is not a place to get a Thai Green Curry or other ethnic / fusion meals.

The key to why this place works are its staff at all levels! Customer service seems to be a forgotten discipline in many organisations nowadays. Not here! They were just brilliant, helpful and treated us very well. Management must be congratulated on this!

This hotel is very popular with bus tours and I can see why!

It is also very tranquil place so getting a good night sleep is not a problem. It certainly does not attract the rowdy element!

We see the WestLodge and west Cork being a regular haunt of ours now that our impending arrivals (i.e. twins) will mean more staycations!!! I just hope they can accommodate 5 in a room as adding a second room for the kids just doubles the cost which may be prohibitive even in this great value hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IE123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

As most people point out the hotel is dated, nonetheless it is an enjoyable and very comfortable place.I found the room and bathroom spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable and the hotel itself was very silent at night which meant we had an undisturbed sleep.
The bar was small but cosy, the breakfast was quite standard but nice.Staff were very friendly.
All in all a nice, tourist oriented hotel but it's reasonably priced and I can heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,253 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
536 reviews
1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
3.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range: £46 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing