We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westlodge Hotel & Leisure Centre”
Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Westlodge Hotel & Leisure Centre”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Being a regular visitor over the years I have seen that the many subtle improvements of the last few months have brought the Westlodge Hotel on no end. The food was excellent ( great to see local beef back on the menu ), service with a smile and friendy staff and management have all added to make the trips better and better. Though the hotel was very busy this weekend we enjoyed the 2 night break. The remaining little changes to come will only further enhance the hotel.
Thanks to everybody at the Lodge for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    184
    130
    72
    60
See reviews for
225
211
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed in the Westlodge Hotel over the May Bank holiday for the last no. of years. This is a family run hotel with super friendly staff, genuinely interested in looking after their guests. They even remember me from previous years!
As a light sleeper, I specifically asked for & got a room away from any noise. This means a lot when one is due to run the annual half marathon the following day!

In addition this year, I managed to leave my swimming togs behind in the leisure centre! When I contacted them, Sarah in the pool had them & posted them to me - no hassle whatsoever.

For genuinely good value, lovely staff & beautiful location you can't beat this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportGirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived for a one night stay. Driving up to the hotel the scenery was just beautiful.. Unfortunately thats where the niceties stopped!! Check in was quick and easy and the staff seemed friendly. The decor in the main reception was tired and it was obvious from our arrival that there was a wedding under way. We made our way to our room for the night only to be greeted by a long hall of worn out carpets and doors that would be more at home in a hostel not a supposed 3 star hotel in the room itself it was more of the same unfortunately just the basics were inadequate.... one plug socket in the room. what about charging items???? none by the bed and not to mention the pillows seemed a very low standard . We tried to have dinner in the bar because "the restaurant was too busy" we were waiting about 20 min for the mains to come out which was average at best then to be told when I went to order dessert that the "kitchen is closed for an hour whilst we serve the wedding"??? Surely this was some sort of a joke. There has to be some sort of balance at the end of the day we were also paying guests with every intention of being return guests only to be made feel like an inconvenience to their day... overall very very disappointed with the hotel could easily find much nicer hotels for much the same price and a higher qualiy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantry hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The main reception entrance area looks like it was put together with a few bits of left over chipboard, not at all welcoming, then you go into the actual reception, nice and bright but that's when any sort of welcome stops. Check in straightforward enough, however I asked the receptionist of she had any brochures / information on Mizen Head "You might find something over there" she said whilst pointing vaguely to some brochures, I asked if she knew whether the visitor centre at Mizen Head would still be open (it was 5pm at this point). She had no idea. Given it's such a tourist pull and only 25 minutes from the hotel I was surprised at her lack of knowledge. Then we went to our room, given it has a 3 star rating, it, in my opinion, barely made 2 stars! Room very basic, previous tenants socks found down the back of the radiator, carpet not properly vacuumed.. When we finally located the tea/coffee making facilities, found the kettle flex had no chance of reaching the nearest power socket to the table, so kettle had to be boiled on the floor, not the safest thing to do, and definitely not easy for those less mobile guests (thankfully not us). Next morning woken from 6am by other guests checking out early, bedroom doors don't close, they SLAM!!! Went for breakfast to find that all hot food was pre-cooked and sitting on hot plates, leaving it with a rubbery texture. Restaurant staff were pleasant enough, however they seemed half hearted about everything. Then upon speaking to another guest, we were advised that the hotel was actually in the hands of the receivers, waiting to be hopefully be rescued by some financial group. This explains an awful lot about the whole feel of the hotel, it's tired, it's dated and the staff appear to be just going through the motions. Given the hotels excellent location and fabulous 24 acres of parkland it does nothing to entice you into wanting a return trip. £80 for the room and breakfast extortionate!!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend a room, as the noise from doors closing in other rooms is awful. I would im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryRuss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just back from a fab weekend at Westlodge Hotel. There were 50 adults and 12 children in our
group celebrating a birthday. From time of check-in on Friday to departure on Sunday staff
could'nt be more helpful and friendly. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent and might I
say very fresh and hot (unlike other comments I read on tripadvisor). Our dinner on the
saturday night as one big group was served without fault by the friendly staff in the dining
room. We used the bar on both nights during our stay and on the saturday night had a
little bit of music for our birthday celebration.
Overall for price and comfort I would highly recommend this hotel for family breaks.
"The Kenny Gang"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel in August 2013 and was very disappointed would never ever stay here again, rooms were very poor stains on carpets i was certainly glad my kids were past the age for crawling on the floors. Breakfast was not good very little to choose from and very badly laid out. Restaurant and bar food not great. Bantry was lovely - will certainly go back but would never go back here.
Staff are very nice and friendly really this is the only thing this hotel has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with our hotel. Our hotel is being currently updated, which is a lengthy process. We have checked with staff on duty at the time of your visit and you do not appear to have made your dissatisfaction known to them at the time. Had you done so, we would have offered you an additional menu, and also a different bedroom.
Please contact me in the coming days so i can arrange a return overnight visit for you and your family, with meals included
Best regards
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hello, I am not a regular Tripadvisor visitor / contributor, but I do get annoyed at some of the negative comments I see here, some totally unjustified, I think it is easy to hide behind a keyboard and an anonymous identity but think carefully first because what you write can badly affect a genuine business trying to do its best, I have checked some TA reviews for hotels/guesthouses I have stayed in and they bear no relation to what my wife & myself experienced, the old adage: "you only hear one side of the story" especially applies here. Some of the comments are vexatious and subjective in my opinion, and I always say to people to try for themselves and don't take a TA review at face value. I am writing this at the moment from my laptop in the lobby of the WestLodge and have thouroughly enjoyed it so far, lovely comfortable bedroom, great shower/hot water (as a hillwalker this is so important), nice friendly staff and lovely food and good pints of Guinness..... I get so annoyed when people hen-peck about 'dated' decor etc - I bet my life on it that their own houses are not much better, and that the hot water takes a while to get to the bathroom! Lighten up for God's sake and give places a break. I have stayed in hotels in the UK and Europe and the WestLodge along with most Irish hotels are streets above what I have experienced abroad, my only fault with Irish hotels is that they do not make better effort to plug themselves abroad and promote their great value, I say this from experience having paid upwards of the equivalent of €150 for a nights B&B for the two of us in pretty mediocre hotels abroad.I have no children myself but if I had, I would prefer a hotel to be family friendly and pass on the savings from not having Wilton carpets and gold plated taps, and make a family holiday more affordable. In my opinion, I would heartily recommend the WestLodge, especially if you have kids, we certainly want to come back here and explore more of the lovely walking here, it is a great base for the Sheeps Head Way. Leisure centre is a great bonus here, I have not had the time to use it but few family hotels can boast such a facility. Please ignore some of the poor comments you see here and try for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
97 reviews
3.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
363 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
501 reviews
12.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Property: Westlodge Hotel
Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing