We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Hockley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here with my 70+ year old mother and we were pleasantly surprised, having read some quite negative reviews.
The hotel is set on a hill in beautiful, well maintained grounds overlooking the bay and the mountains. There's no better way to start your day than eating breakfast in the restaurant taking in the view. Unlimited car parking which isn't the case if you stay in a hotel in the centre of town.
The pool and sauna facilities are fantastic and free! All the hotel staff are friendly and happy to help.
The bar food is excellent, the food comes from the same kitchen/chef as their restaurant and we didn't feel the need to venture into town in the 3 nights we stayed as there were so many delicious dishes to choose from.
The room/furniture was a little dated but very clean and what you would expect from a country hotel. The maid came in every day and was happy to come back on 2 occassions when we were a little slow moving.
The lift was interesting as it only goes up one floor so bear this in mind if you have mobility problems. However, it was worth climbing the extra flight of stairs even though one of us is on the waiting list for a knee replacement as that's where the best rooms are.
I would definitely stay there again. I hope whoever buys the Westlodge doesn't make too many changes, including the staff as we had a memorable trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor, ours was called 'island view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    173
    126
    71
    60
See reviews for
220
203
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cobh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and it is a really nice hotel. Staff on arrival were very friendly. The room was nice but could do with some redecorating. The restaurant was extremely busy but the staff retained a very friendly attitude. The food was very nice and the bar areas were both nice with friendly staff.Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edohalloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel which are greatly appreciated.
Our bedrooms are currently being updated and modernised, which takes some time.

We very much hope you will return to stay in the Westlodge Hotel in the future.

Best wishes
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

just back from staying at the westlodge in bantry it was our base during a coach tour of cork and kerry we where late arriving there but food was laid on for us soup salad and chips all ok but the soup came out last now to the hotel it self .It was clean and in good repair the food was ok breakfasts where good some of the choices for dinner where a bit strange there was no heat on anywhere in the hotel the room where the singers preformed was ice cold i think someone had complained and it was switched on make sure that you have enough money with you has they will not exchange sterling in to euros .But i have stayed in a lot worse if i returned to the area i would probable stay somewhere else

Room Tip: we where in the basement by car park avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ward47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the fact that your soup came out last, which should not have happened. Regarding your comments about some of our evening meal choice options being strange, we would appreciate more clarity - what exactly was strange? If is is a case that our menu did not appeal to you, we would have happily offered you another alternative.

Regarding "foreign exchange" - this is a service which the vast majority of hotels in Ireland simply no longer offer, for the simple reason that there are several cashpoints in Bantry town from which you can withdraw Euros directlly from your UK account with your debit card. The location of the banks in town are clearly listed in our bedroom folder.

We very much hope you will return to say with us in the Westlodge Hotel in the future and we would like to thank you once again for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

Many thanks
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just come back from a 4 night stay at the Westlodge Hotel. The hotel is set in some beautiful grounds from which you can walk down to Bantry Bay. The staff were all very helpful and if you needed anything i.e extra pillow. it was there in your room when you went back. The food was very good, we did have one night where they were possibly short staffed in the restaurant and the food had been kept heated a little too long but apart from that it was excellent. We were on a coach trip so our menu was limited but had a decent choice, and the breakfasts were excellent.

The leisure facilities looked good but we did not have time to use them as our excursions were very full and took all day. There was entertainment on in Hanna Murphy Bar every night and after the one night the room being very cold they did put a fire in there the next evening and the radiators were put back on in the rooms. To overcome this people got up and danced and had a good time.

A very good hotel for a reasonably priced holiday with lovely grounds and in a good place for touring the Berra and Kerry rings. I would certainly recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: Our room 106 was in the basement which was near to the leisure complex but very quiet. The room did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johngillay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tullamore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel has much to offer, but so much to improve on too! Plenty of parking facilities, and fabulous grounds so beautifully maintained, right next door to Bantry House.
The foyer has no main focal point such as a stove/fire, or if there is one, it was not lit that we could see. There is a cold feel, despite much glass. Not very welcoming after a days hiking. This area is subdivided into many little areas or snugs. Facilities for families with children big or small are very good, with an excellent leisure centre. The pool is fantastic, and there is table tennis, tennis, squash, snooker, something for everyone, so the kids will not be bored. Our kids really enjoyed these facilities so much, and staff were some of the friendliest we have ever come across in our travels, both at home and abroad. This must be said for the entire hotel staff, who cannot do enough for guests. A fantastic cohort of workers, and sincerely hope they are appreciated..However, we opted to have dinner in the hotel on the first night, and this, unfortunately was sadly lacking. The presentation was the poorest we have ever encountered, however the service of staff was excellent. Potatoes were clearly reconstituted, and the veg was completely substandard, consisting of diced swede, carrot, which were from some type of 'big value' frozen pack and obviously thrown into a large pot, and then thrown very carelessly onto a kidney dish, with some peas ( 4?) thrown over as a pathetic excuse for greens. The beef was edible, but swimming in thin gravy which had grains of chives, which was really not very nice. Every dish, including the salmon, was thus presented- riddled with chives!Starters of cheese and ham tartlets were not authentic/homemade, and nothing about this meal was home-made. I have seen and tasted better food in a boarding school facility, and there is no excuse for this sloppiness. However, I did complain upon checkout, and the cost of the wine was deducted from the bill.
Breakfast was more than adequate, good selection on offer, but fruits were from a tin. This hotel really doesn't go in for fresh produce, it would appear. Lots of coach tours frequent this hotel, which may have accounted for our experience. Rooms have no wifi, and are in need of a complete overhaul. Beds, though, were really comfy, as were the pillows, and we all got a great sleep. Despite the shortcomings, we all had a great time, and would come back again in the future. Please do something about the food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarasatecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us, which are greatly appreciated.

There is actually a wood burning stove in the reception area of the lobby, it is to the left of the reception desk as you are checking in. At this time of the year, it possibly was not lit when you arrived.

Thank you for your comments regarding the food, which have been passed onto our head chef. I would appreciate your letting me know via email whether you communicated your dissatisfaction to any of the restaurant staff during the meal, as had you done so, they would have been happy to replace or change your meal for you.

Our wifi reception in some bedrooms is sometimes poor, and to a certain extent is beyond our control, due to the phenomenally fast increase in technological devices which travellers now routinely carry with them. One of the main causes of this is the downloading or streaming of movies on iPads and other mobile tablets. For this reason, we also have a coin operated computer and printer available in the lobby for guests use. Had you voiced your concerns to reception, they would have been happy to inform you of this service.

We very much hope you will return to stay with us in the Westlodge Hotel in the future.

Best regards

Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

clean rooms and friendly staff.....wi-fi was poor but not a big deal. brillant shower........bantry is a lovely place and well worth the trip to west cork....as for the wedding itself, nice setting, big dance floor...pa speakers for speeches was poor. got a breakfest even after being 2 hrs late for it with no charge

Room Tip: 60 quid for 2 of us for a night on a bank hol wknd so not a bad price.....maybe the wi-fi is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you would like no hot water to bathe in the morning (apparently at night is better but do check that! expecting it to be available is not a given). Two channel early edition design T.V. You will also have to choose to only use two of the following at the same time, kettle/ T.V./ lamp/ hairdryer/ charge your phone?? (sockets scarce). The view! a high wall with neighbours house roof. and the sound effects! the rattle of heating pipes, a large pipe runs along the wall. Words fail me to describe the decor and furniture effects. And on the positive side! the kettle was large and new, a pleasure to boil( hot water always available that way!).

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments which are appreciated. We apologise for the lack of hot water, and your review does not specify whether you rang reception for assistance on this. Had you done so, we would have happily moved you to another room.
We are aware of the shortage of sockets in the bedrooms, hence we have now extension leads and adapters available at reception, to facilitate the huge increase in technological devices which travellers now carry with them. TV's are in fact plugged into the sockets directly behind the TV, and our new bedroom tent cards inform guests of this. There are also other sockets in our bedrooms.
We hope you will return to the Westlodge Hotel in the future, and should you have any complaints next time, we would greatly appreciate you raising them with our reception staff at the earliest convenience
Yours sincerely
Patrick Gill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantry hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
12.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Property: Westlodge Hotel
Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing