We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Lissycasey
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel for three nights from the 12th to the 15th of August. We got a great deal on a family room at €300 for three nights B&B and one evening meal.

We picked the hotel for its location and access to the leisure centre but it did have its pros and cons:

On the plus side:

1. Great value.,
2. Staff were friendly and helpful, in particular Dave in the bar and Lauren on Reception.
3. The pool was brilliant and the kids would have stayed in it for our entire stay if we left them.
4. The leisure centre staff and the pool side safety was top notch.
5. Breakfast was busy but ticked all the boxes.
6. Bar food and service was great.
I
On the negative side:
1. The room was tiny and not really a family room but it did have two double beds as requested.
2. The room was dated and could do with a spruce up, hair dryer didn't work and we decided not to use the kettle ( it had seen better days).
3. The shower didn't work properly, went from hot to cold every couple of minutes......thank god for the leisure centre.

To finish up we enjoyed our stay and the hotel is an ideal base to visit West Cork.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay in the Westlodge Hotel which are greatly appreciated. We have passed your very positive comments regarding our wonderful staff on to the staff concerned.

We are sorry to hear that the hair dryer was not working, we keep spare hair dryers at reception and had you rung down, we could have easily dropped one up to you.

We are in the process of replacing the tea / coffee making facilities in each bedroom.

We are acutely aware of the fact that some of our family rooms are slightly on the small side, and during your visit we were, as they say "packed to the gills" with families which is indeed a good complaint. We are currently looking into replacing the beds in family rooms with some camp beds, but have not yet made a final decision - as other feedback we have had is that families greatly appreciate their children being in proper beds rather than camp beds.

We very much hope you will return to the Westlodge Hotel in the coming months as we are open all year round and will be doing great deals for autumn!

Best regards
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    177
    130
    70
    60
See reviews for
222
208
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for several nights. Rooms were spotless. Quiet. 15 mind walk into Barry town. Pub grub is 'OK ' dining in What looks like to be an up market restaurant is like a throw back from the 80's. Unimpressed! Gym was very limited. Pool and stream room was very give. Staff helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FionaM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay which are greatly appreciated. As a result of feedback over the busy Summer months, we are expanding our bar menu. There are in fact, at least six extra "specials" added onto the bar menu daily, in addition to the regular menu, and they are displayed on the two black boards in the bar.

We would appreciate more detailed feedback regarding the gym being limited. There is a modest choice of equipment, however; we also have a wide range of other sporting facilities available such as tennis, pitch and putt, golf, squash and badminton.

Should you have any other comments regarding the hotel, we would appreciate them. We very much hope you will return to visit the Westlodge Hotel in the coming months.

Best regards
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, nice a quite. Very good facilities for kids and walking distance from bantry town, I would recommend this hotel as the staff are very nice and helpful, the weather was not very good while we were staying there but there is nothing can be done about that

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paulclarke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us which were greatly appreciated. We are very fortunate in that our wonderful and highly experienced staff have been with us many years and they are a huge asset to the hotel.

We endeavour to provide a wide range of facilities for families with children and if you feel there are any extra facilities which we could offer, please do let us know by dropping me an email to patrickgill@westlodgehotel.ie

We very much hope you will return to visit our hotel in the coming months.

Best regards
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had booked in here for a one night stay over August Bank Holiday weekend. It was my first visit to Bantry. I booked it a week before and made a big mistake of not checking the reviews. We arrived around 7 in the evening, first impressions good in reception for a 3 star. But omg when we saw our room: very tired and dated décor, mismatched furniture, chipped paint, bathroom shower rusty and not very stable, and over all not a pleasant room. So went back to reception and asked for another room but this was as bad. We advised at reception we were not happy and wouldn't stay. As it late in evening on a Bank holiday we didn't know where we would find somewhere else and were thinking about driving the nearly 3 hour trip home when receptionist (who was trying her best to be honest) offered us to see one of there self catering cottages. We viewed it, it was a bit dated and basic too but it was an improvement on the hotel rooms so we accepted this. Oh but were we sorry, the bed was so uncomfortable that we got very little sleep.
Following morning we visited the leisure this was the only nice thing about our stay. Pool and facilities very good.
Then we went for breakfast, food variety poor and standard average. If you don't want a full Irish not much more choices, no fresh fruit, cheese or yogurts available. I had beans on toast that were cold, asked for soft boiled eggs but what I got, you could play football with. So overall not a pleasant experience. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it. The location is great with fabulous views and the majority of the hotel grounds lovely but the poor standard of the rooms so let down this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonhen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel, We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard of your bedroom. As mentioned in previous replies, the hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme, and as there are over 100 rooms and we are very busy in the Summer season, this process is taking some time.

We are disappointed to hear of your comments regarding our food,and have passed your feedback onto our Head Chef. Had you asked for fresh fruit, or cheeses or yogurts at breakfast time, we would have been more than happy to provide them for you.

Should you wish to return to the hotel in the future, please contact me directly and I will ensure you have a higher standard bedroom than this time round.

We very much hope that you will return to stay with us in the future, as Bantry is a lovely town in which to base yourself for visiting the Wild Atlantic Way

Best regards
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantry hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Westlodge for five nights in early July with our 4 small children. As many have said the rooms are basic but with small children we are not so concerned with decor! We found the staff on arrival to be very friendly and welcoming and really that set the tone as every single
staff member was the same! They chatted to our kids and took time to listen to any requests that we had.
We had breakfast and dinner each day in the hotel and found the food to be wholesome with good options for kids. Service was great on each day too. The children enjoyed the pool and wanted to go each day! There is also a small playground in the grounds as well as pitch and putt and other sports. There is a free kids club each evening and a free supervised playroom session for toddlers so Mum and Dad have a quiet drink. We found the entire stay to be great value, relaxed, hassle-free and a perfect base from where to explore West Cork. Our children were sad to leave and want to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leitrim13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us which are greatly appreciated.

In particular, we appreciate your comments in relation to our hardworking, loyal and cheerful staff and we will be passing your comments on to them today

We sincerely hope you will tell all your friends what a family friendly hotel we are and very much look forward to your return visit in the coming months

Best regards

Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed in the westlodge hotel for 2 nights. It ticked most of the boxes for quality and value for money. Excellent parking and lovely music in the lower bar at night. But one fault I would have was the food menu in the upper bar was very poor. We went for something to eat around 7 and the choice was hopeless. We ended up just having soup and brown bread..now we could have got that anywhere and not at hotel prices! Secondly, I have never come across their policy of one key per room..thats a thing of the past, every hotel has a key per person with 2 people sharing. other that those faults it was grand. I don't think I'd go back again...one visit is fine but the second would be one too many.

Room Tip: hard to say as walls are not sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our food. Our chef is currently working on expanding our bar menu in response to recent feedback we have had from guests.

We usually have a number of daily specials on our noticeboard in addition to the bar menu, and if there was anything else which you would have liked to order, our kitchen would have been happy to facilitate you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we very much hope you will return to our hotel in the future.

Best regards
Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for the August bank holiday. And we taught we got a good deal for the three of us for two nights b&b and 1 dinner for €248.
We arrived and reception looked good. We then went to our room ( which the hotel is like a maze ) when we arrived at the room we found that the room was very dated. Old carpet with a few tiny tears in it that seems to be repaired. The shower was going from hot to cold and some of the paint was peeling off in the bathroom.
We proceeded down to the pool and while a bit small it was nice to have a swim and relax as we had a long walk done that morning.
The rooms are definitely does not have any sound proofing as we could hear people going to their rooms at night and vice-versa i bet they heard our child early in the morning. Breakfast was OK. They had full Irish and choice of juice and cereal and bread.
We then had dinner there that night and the dinner was by no means great. I would say that at best it was average pub grub and would not recommend the dinner at all.
The next morning i was leaving early to play golf so i went down to pay and i noticed there was a drink that was on our bill that we never got. I said it to the lady and she only charged me for what we owed. I then went for breakfast which was 7.45am which i was told the night before it was open at 7.30 but it was actually open at 8am as it was the bank holiday. the girl at breakfast informed me it was open at 8am but said everything was ready so she very kindly let me in. I taught this was a really nice touch as i was been collected at about 8am.
Later when my wife was checking out, the person at reception questioned her about the drink that we " supposedly" had taken and told her and showed her that it was charge to our room. My wife said she was made a little uncomfortable about it but in the end we they did not charge us.
To summarize: the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel says it is a 3 and a half star but i would rate it 2 star plus.
Its a pity as the hotel has so much potential but is just missing some badly need cash injection to maintain the up keep and bring it up to the standard that it deserves.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin30041976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. As we have mentioned in previous responses, the hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme which is taking some time.

We are also currently extending our food menus, in response to recent feedback from guests and would like to assure you that there will be a larger choice of menus available in the coming weeks.

We very much hope you will return to stay with us in the coming months.

Best regards

Patrick Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
93 reviews
3.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
348 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
498 reviews
12.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Property: Westlodge Hotel
Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing