We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Seafood”
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED UNTIL THE 28th OF JANUARY The Fish Kitchen is a family run business that prides itself in having a menu that is almost entirely all fish with the exception of sirloin steak. The Local fish shop downstairs, our main provider of fish ensures an excellent supply of the freshest fish in the South West. Where possible fish is sourced locally from the coops and trawlers of the South Western ports.We have the finest Mussels, Prawns ,Scallops and Lobster on our doorstep in Bantry Harbour, For further information on the source of our ingredients follow the link to our website.Our Food is Simple, Fresh and Locally Sourced.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Excellent meal here - fresh seafood was all perfect. Good service also - only complaint is maybe it is so small you are very close to tables and everyone can hear what is going on - but other than that would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Declanm5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    102
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“SMALL BUT BEAUTIFULLY FORMED!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were invited here to join friends who live near Bantry as they had heard good reports.

We were certainly not disappointed by the food - some really exceptionally fresh and well cooked fish dishes. As the restaurant is situated above the local fish shop this is not surprising.

Prompt and friendly service. It is small and booking is essential. We will certainly return on our next trip to West Cork.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBJCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the nicest meals I've ever had!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place was a great surprise. Our meal was really tasty, affordable and obviously fresh off the boat seafood. Great bistro style atmosphere, nice waitress. Cheap wine, and a great selection of craft beers. Prawns with chorizo... Unreal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary89Kenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Another gem of a restaurant in the south west. Cork has some truly excellent seafood to offer and service to match, something we could learn more about in Dublin for sure.

Less intimate that O Connors across the way but notwithstanding it promoted a very good atmosphere and encouraged interaction with partons at tables in close proximity to us which was fun.

My wife chose the chowder this time and the salmon which were both devoured eagerly. I chose the chorizo and prawn starter which was immaculate followed by the lobster which was sensational. The staff were very friendly in aiding us make our selections and choosing suitable wines to compliment our choices which was a nice touch.

Overall a very good experience, the food is top notch. If you are after a more romantic meal I'd choose O'Connors but there is little or no difference to me in the quality of food in both - they are excellent and a credit to Bantry

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DestAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“SEP 2013 DINNER”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Recommended by various publications and online, as well as our lodgin - The Bantry House - we thoroughly enjoyed having a fresh seafood dinner, a very nice starter and an adequate wine offering. All of the seafood options were freshly caught that same day. It is a very small restaurant and even though it seemed like most diners were "local" (which is a great indicator) there were visitors like us also - a reservation is a MUST, as they were constantly turning people away. Easy to find in the town center.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing