We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED UNTIL THE 28th OF JANUARY The Fish Kitchen is a family run business that prides itself in having a menu that is almost entirely all fish with the exception of sirloin steak. The Local fish shop downstairs, our main provider of fish ensures an excellent supply of the freshest fish in the South West. Where possible fish is sourced locally from the coops and trawlers of the South Western ports.We have the finest Mussels, Prawns ,Scallops and Lobster on our doorstep in Bantry Harbour, For further information on the source of our ingredients follow the link to our website.Our Food is Simple, Fresh and Locally Sourced.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ate here last Friday night on the last night of our holidays having booked earlier in the week on the advice of locals, and we were not disappointed. The service was efficient and friendly, and the food was superb. I would recommend the food to anyone. If you wish to take some good food away from here, try the fish shop downstairs which is owned by the same family and is well supplied with fresh produce.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aoreilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    105
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good restaurant.........But!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived without prior booking on a wet May Tuesday, and had to wait for a free table ! That is the sign of a healthy restaurant, filled mainly withlocals. Starters were oysters and apple &celery soup, the latter was truly excellent. Mains were a seafood platter, with crab claw, langoustines and prawns, plus mussels in a delicate and fragrant wine sauce. Servicewas swift and courteous, a selection of micro brewery beers was superb. Overall, an enjoyable meal. Some negatives, however: the oysters tasted as though thay had been a good while in a tank; the dressed crab had a watery flavour, as though defrosted. Mussels although excellent, were clearly out of season, as the meats were tiny in relation to the size of the shells.
All in all, an enjoyable meal, I have given a four because of the pleasant atmosphere and the delightful service. Were I not a grumpy married old man, I would hasten back and marry both of the colleens!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For fish lover”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We drove from Dublin and never disappointed I tried haddock and chips and it was the nicest fish I've ever had. it was a so good to eat the crab cakes is so yummy. the dark chocolate mousse was da best. For all people who love fish you will not disappoint to visited this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The freshest seafood cooked to perfection. Being local to the area I eat here often enough and it is consistently excellent. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, good wine choices, lunch and dinner menu. Very reasonably priced. I'd highly recommend the Fish Kitchen in Bantry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This restaurant is upstairs next to a fish shop and definitely serves fresh fish. I had hake and my friend had swordfish and both were excellent. The waiter was very knowable about the dishes and ensured that we got exactly what we wanted to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing