We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Proper Meal ....”
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED UNTIL THE 28th OF JANUARY The Fish Kitchen is a family run business that prides itself in having a menu that is almost entirely all fish with the exception of sirloin steak. The Local fish shop downstairs, our main provider of fish ensures an excellent supply of the freshest fish in the South West. Where possible fish is sourced locally from the coops and trawlers of the South Western ports.We have the finest Mussels, Prawns ,Scallops and Lobster on our doorstep in Bantry Harbour, For further information on the source of our ingredients follow the link to our website.Our Food is Simple, Fresh and Locally Sourced.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Proper Meal ....”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ate at the Fish Kitchen recently and have nothing but good things to say about the meal and the service. We happened to be in Bantry for the hiking festival and stopped in for a late lunch. Located above a fish market, the restaurant does not spend its effort on ambiance but rather on the food. While we are from coastal Maine in the USA and eat shellfish often, the mussels and crab cakes at this restaurant were the best we have tasted in a long time - fresh, well prepared, and well served. With a local craft ale, the meal was wonderful. The mussels were served in a wine and cream broth that begged to be spooned up and the crab cakes were perfect with romaine. It seems that some of the difference between a good food experience and an excellent one is expectation. We were not looking for much that day but came away with some memorable tastes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    101
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosenheim
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“no 1 for a good rason”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Once again tripadvisor lead us to a fantastic place. Had a mixture of todays special and a la carte gave us delicious food on the table and a friendly staff. The desserrt, a Baileys Malteeser cheescake was the icing on the cake and it came with a coffee which deserved its name. If you like fish, go there, if not, go there find yourself somthing on the menue which is not fish

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caesar_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ate here last Friday night on the last night of our holidays having booked earlier in the week on the advice of locals, and we were not disappointed. The service was efficient and friendly, and the food was superb. I would recommend the food to anyone. If you wish to take some good food away from here, try the fish shop downstairs which is owned by the same family and is well supplied with fresh produce.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aoreilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good restaurant.........But!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived without prior booking on a wet May Tuesday, and had to wait for a free table ! That is the sign of a healthy restaurant, filled mainly withlocals. Starters were oysters and apple &celery soup, the latter was truly excellent. Mains were a seafood platter, with crab claw, langoustines and prawns, plus mussels in a delicate and fragrant wine sauce. Servicewas swift and courteous, a selection of micro brewery beers was superb. Overall, an enjoyable meal. Some negatives, however: the oysters tasted as though thay had been a good while in a tank; the dressed crab had a watery flavour, as though defrosted. Mussels although excellent, were clearly out of season, as the meats were tiny in relation to the size of the shells.
All in all, an enjoyable meal, I have given a four because of the pleasant atmosphere and the delightful service. Were I not a grumpy married old man, I would hasten back and marry both of the colleens!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For fish lover”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We drove from Dublin and never disappointed I tried haddock and chips and it was the nicest fish I've ever had. it was a so good to eat the crab cakes is so yummy. the dark chocolate mousse was da best. For all people who love fish you will not disappoint to visited this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing