We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate Seafood, Traditional Prep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Connors Seafood Restaurant

O'Connors Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a very stylish restaurant. With modern decor. This is the perfect place to bring your family or business associate. We also have a private dining room.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First rate Seafood, Traditional Prep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nice restaurant that was very busy on the night we visited. Large portions and the food was goof. Not very innovative, but well prepared.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    121
    45
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Down
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Put this one in your bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been in some fine seafood restaurants and while not actually the best O'Connors is well up there. When you go for an Early Bird experience quality isn't the main consideration. You would like quality but the bill is the main yardstick of success. The calamari starter sort of set the tone. I'm sure the batter was somebody's granny's secret recipe but combined with calamari cooked to perfection the whole experience was exquisite.(I'm not going to put up with chewy rubber bands ever again) The pork belly was served on a medallion of black pudding on top of herb mash and I was surprised to learn that it wasn't Clonakilty Pudding. It was from a local supplier, McCarthy's, who also supplies their organic pork products. Unlikely that I'll be back to Bantry any time soon but O'Connor's is on my list of eateries and it probably should be on yours too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthDownDogMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very fine restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very fine food. They had an "earleybird" menu of two courses for 22 euros that was very good value. The calimari was "melt in your mouth" good, and the seafood risotto just as good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleagedCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Prawns ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Forget about those tiger prawns that arrive frozen from Thailand, taste the real thing here. Roll up your sleeves and be prepared to get your napkin splattered as you enjoy a bowlful of the best cooked and sauced prawns I think you will ever eat. Yes they are served in the shell, and you have to do the work yourself, all the better you will be for that, and appreciate each morcel of tender prawn all the more. Perfectly cooked, each one slipping out of its shell perfectly slathered with a great hot, sweet, creamy sauce. Heaven.
All fish we had here was excellent. great service, friendly, efficient and with a local Irish touch.
The early bird menu up to 6.30 is superb value for such acomplished cooking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Modern restaurant, delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The food here was really good and presentation excellent. The service while very friendly was a bit slow at the end of the evening, we had to wait a long time before anyone came over between courses but in saying that we were in no rush so didnt mind. The Oreo cheesecake was amazing!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Connors Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to O'Connors Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing