We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved Coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Organico Cafe

Organico Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Irish, European, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Organico Cafe serves an amazing range of delicious, heathy foods. (Just read the reviews!) Our menu is bursting with fresh goodness! We make everything in our own kitchen using fresh ingredients that are predominantly organic or locally grown. Our menu changes every day and includes incredible salads, amazing melts and comforting stews, with locally sourced meat and fish as well as a large range of vegetarian and vegan dishes. We pride ourselves on our coffee, which is an Irish artisan roasted award winning organic coffee and we have the biggest selection of drinks in west cork from over 20 different herbal teas, to matcha lattes to homemade keffirs and homemade mint hot chocolate! We serve raw milk, organic milk, coconut milk and soya milk. Our Cafe is modern, spacious and bright and is set out on two floors. We have a family friendly zone with a play area upstairs. We have free wifi and a relaxing couch zone. We serve breakfast till 11.30 (12 on Saturdays).
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Much improved Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Food is still superb and the new layout works well now people are getting the hang of where to go on entry. Am very pleased to say the coffee seems consistantly good now, including the new bulletproof variety, although it does carry a premium price. Highly recommend to anyone conscious of what they eat. Am not fond of the little open bowls of salt and pepper that people can stick fingers into, even if it is Malden salt flakes which are easily the best you can get ! Overall a great eating experience. Well done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Dennis,

Thanks for reviewing us again, and for your repeated custom, which is hugely appreciated. We are very glad you like the new coffee, it's a high altitude organic bean, roasted in Wicklow, and since we got our new machine in November we have been much happier with the results - thanks for noticing!
I think you might be right though about the little bowls of salt and pepper (Irish Atlantic Sea Salt by the way! The Irish version of Maldon ;-)) Like a few other things we are trying out they may go by the wayside.
Please continue to give us any comments you have as we really do want to know what you think, it helps us to constantly improve our service and our products.

Warm Regards and see you again soon,

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    44
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chocolate brownies to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This newly refurbished cafe is just what Bantry needed. Great coffee delicious cakes and salads, perfect place to meet friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Maureen,

I'm so glad you think we did the right thing in expanding! It makes it all worthwhile to get positive feedback such as yours. Thanks so much and see you soon! (And glad you like the brownies too...;-))

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very bright airy restaurant, staff vey helpful and friendly. Food fresh and delicious. Free newspapers and wifi

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnCork63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Anne,

Thanks for your comments; I am really glad you like our new Cafe.

Hope to see you again soon!

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, worth a visit! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch on 10th July 2014. Cafe has been remodelled n looks great! Hannah n staff are very friendly n efficient. Food is superb...we had fab salads, frittata n coffee n tea...reasonably priced n generous portions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Female60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for coming - we are delighted you enjoyed the food and liked our new Cafe.

Warm Regards

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I shopped in Organico in the adjoining shop and was impressed with the stock including black quinoa and fresh samphire in particular which I was thrilled to find. The cafe came with many recommendations and the expected hype being recently opened.
I have to be tough on this one - staff lacked any interest or passion for the job, no manners politeness or recommendations etc...basically pointing to the available food with disinterest.
For a cafe with great potential a sign was hidden telling people to queue from the left but it was unclear so people blocked the right hand side thus skipping the queue.
Fresh flowers in a vase beside the till, a seeming nice touch, we're tipped over by the cashier and the water in the vase poured all over my clothes unbeknownst to the staff member.
Another bad management issue was the layout of the available food..scones, cakes and breads... A basic rule of thumb to anyone in retail management is to place such items where the customer would be enticed to make an impulsive purchase...putting these items to the right of the till is a little too late for the consumer.....
Anyway the only plus for me on this visit was the matcha latte which was delicious...I would encourage management to be more consumer orientated and would try again in hope that these issues were improved.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank classicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Classic Girl,

Thank you for your honest comments. It is always useful at the start of a new venture to get constructive feedback and we are still finding our feet. The week you visited was a bit of a blur as we opened the new cafe downstairs after a manic 5 week renovation! We also were training in new staff and there were certainly times when we were overwhelmed by the sheer volume of people coming in as the Chamber Music Festival started the day after we opened which was challenging timing - there was no such thing as a soft opening!

I am really sorry that you were splashed with water, that was very unfortunate. Please visit again soon - I think you will be more impressed with everything. I am pretty confident in saying that we are not normally lacking in enthusiasm - quite the opposite in fact. We are all pretty passionate in Organico.

I am delighted you liked our shop, and the Chai Matcha, which we import from Canada and is pretty special. We have a very interesting Matcha with jasmine flowers if you want to try a different one next time. Warm regards Hannah Dare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Organico Cafe also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to Organico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing