We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice way tospend an afternoon”

Bantry House & Garden
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bantry House and Garden is a stately home in southwest Ireland situated right on Bantry Bay with panoramic views of the bay and the caha mountains. The estate is owned by Egerton and Brigitte Shelswell-White and is managed by their daughter Sophie and her partner Josh. It has been in the family since the 1700s. The house contains original furniture and objects d'art. The garden is laid out over 7 terraces with a fountain, large wisteria circle and 100 steps leading up to the woodland. The house, garden and tearoom is open to the public daily from easter to october. The estate hosts weddings, music festivals and fairs. We have a separate review page for our B&B accommodation.
Dublin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Nice way tospend an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent a lovely afternoon in Bantry House and Gardens during visit to West Cork in June. €11 entry fee but worth it. The tour of the house but could do with updated guide sheets. Lots of furniture in rooms other than those on the information sheets and information is limited. The gardens (100 steps) are fantastic - worth the climb for the view. Went to the walled garden which is not great but the walk back via the woodland path was very nice. The gardens are not huge but really well laid out and enjoyable to just sit and watch the bees at work. There was, what looked like,a naval exhibition in the stables but this was not open - which was disappointing. Nice restaurant - a bit pricey but good quality. Very friendly service at all times.You can take your meal/break in the veranda or, if the weather is nice, in the gardens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Larry C
thanks for visiting us in June. Glad you enjoyed your time in West Cork and so much of the house and garden. I know the guide book needs some work and sorry this has not been done yet. We will be making some significant changes over the next year and hope to deal with the guidebooks then (along with much more!)
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    152
    38
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved our stay at Bantry House and it will remain memorable for us.
The staff was very friendly, we enjoyed our talk with the gardeners, too.
They gave us nice advices for our own garden.
The breakfast was excellent.
We say thank you Brigitte for serving our afternoon tea in the greenhouse.
We would love to come back next year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank goli2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear goli2611

thank you for staying and reviewing. Glad you enjoyed looking around and spending time in the garden. Tea on the terrace is certainly a lovely way to spend an afternoon.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stately Home..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely & interesting stately home - just outside the pretty town of Bantry. Well worth a visit - lots of interesting artefacts and antiques from the family who owned the house. Beautiful setting overlooking Bantry Bay.
Unfortunately it was raining heavily the day we visited -otherwise would have looked around the beautiful gardens more.. The nice lady at ticket desk gave me discounted price just to view house!
Lovely cafe located in the original kitchen - hot cup of coffee most welcome in the rain... Hopefully the weather will be better next time I'm in the area and look forward to a re-visit !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marzi_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Marzi_1711

thanks for coming to visit and reviewing your time with us. We have had some gorgeous weather lately (thankfully) and hope on your return the weather is better.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant garden and grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed our stroll around the garden and grounds but felt the house rather disappointing for the entry charge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank denise032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review and sorry you did not enjoy the house. We have some big changes and ideas we are hoping to put into practise by next year so do hope you return then.

Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“always worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

great gardens and the 106 steps to the top are worth the climb even though the day we were there was not so good. the house is lovely but it need of investment although the family are doing their best

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gerk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for visiting us. The view from the top of the steps is beautiful. Hope to see you at the house again soon.
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bantry House & Garden also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Been to Bantry House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing