We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #2 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was fantastic stay at bantry house. To have the gardens and library to yourself at night and early morning is really awesome. The room vas lovely, with view on the terraces of the garden. If you have the opportunity, treat yourself to this B&B and go to the hostel the following night to balance budget!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crapaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear crapaudine thank you for your review of your stay with us last week. I enjoyed meeting you both and hope you had fun on the rest of your trip. Safe trip back to Switzerland (not France!!!)
Best, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM, Bantry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
123
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have previously experienced country houses which have been a little bit full on. Here the owners are friendly but keep a distance which is professional. Neither do they make you feel that you are an interloper.The rooms are well furnished and the bathrooms are modern which is a plus in a house of this age. The breakfasts are one of the best I have experienced.
Bantry House is in a magnificent position with stunning views from the main house. What was particularly welcome is the freedom you are given in this great house during visiting hours. There is also a cosy snug and billiard room .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coliemorecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Coliemorecolleen, it was lovely to have you stay with us and I am glad you enjoyed it. Ann and Mary do a fantastic job in the kitchen to ensure our breakfasts stay the best!
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We came for a 2 day visit to Bantry and visited Bantry House for the Chamber Music after a tip off from a fellow hotel guest.
It was Amazing and took place in the Library in a quaint, comfortable atmosphere.
The House is beautiful and the gardens are Incredible.

Well worth visiting, even if you passing through Bantry!!

Room Tip: It's just off the main road into Bantry town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
hi macker35, so glad you enjoyed yourself during the festival and thanks for visiting. The Library is a special room and makes a lovely setting for concerts.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just treat yourself and stay here for a couple of nights, you will fall in love with the place. When the ordinary punters go home, and you have the feeling that the garden and house are just yours, that is magic. Guests staying in the b and b (in the East Wing), have access to the library after hours - the huge room at the back of the house, filled with rare and ancient books and beautiful pieces of art, not to mention the stunning chandelier and fireplaces, the room looks out on to the parterre and the hundred steps. Or enjoy a game of billiards in the billiards room. Or get up really early in the morning and climb the hundred steps before breakfast - you need to work up a good appetite because breakfast is incredible and so delicious. Savour the warm scones fresh from oven. Make sure you taste the yogurt with strawberries in it. And I also recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon. The lemon drizzle cake in the tea room is also worthy of mention, and sipping cappuccino while gazing at Bantry Bay beside the sunken garden is just heaven. The guest rooms are clean, impeccably furnished, there is everything you need. I especially loved the window seats as all the rooms look out on to the parterre and those amazing hundred steps. There are some beautiful rooms to visit in the house, and it's not a guided tour so you can linger in your favourite room. Take a look at the titles of some of the books in the East Bow Dressing Room! We met several members of the family and they were charming and welcoming. Just think of a reason to treat yourself, and stay here for a few nights. I'm trying to think of a reason to go back soon!

Helpful?
3 Thank DeiseBlowIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear DeiseBlowIn
From all of us here at Bantry House I would like to say a huge thanks for the lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you can come again one day.
Best wishes,
Sophie Shelswell-White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The house and gardens are, or should be, a national treasure. What distinguishes it from other fine homes is its continued ownership and occupation by one family for several generations. The furnishings and rooms are exquisite, The dining room still has its chandeliers intact, still with candles and the most extraordinary sideboards, wine coolers etc. It has 180+ degree views over and across Bantry Bay and yet is adjacent to the town centre with its shops and restaurants nestled at the end of the bay. The gardens and lawns surround the classic structure providing a quiet and beautiful environment. Our room, with en suite, wifi etc. was large and comfortable. What a pleasure it was to wake up to those wonderful views, the garden and bay on one side and the magnificent and original stables to the rear. With hand tooled leather wall and door coverings intact notwithstanding their age, the silks around fireplaces marble columned grand library and drawing rooms, its special charm is its originality, having not been subject to the brutal modernisation suffered by other classic houses. Breakfast in the old coal cellar is delightful. Our stay at Bantry House was the highlight of our 8 days in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Bantry House was our second stop while touring Ireland. It is over the top for a B&B. The rooms and property are exquisite. Sofia and her family are very gracious hosts. They made reservations at O'Connors for dinner.
Our room had a great view of the gardens. We ventured down to the billiards room and study after the house had been closed to visitors for the evening.
The breakfast was well done on gorgeous plates.
We toured the grounds before setting off to see other places

Room Tip: Book early. This is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scubabob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Sometimes you break out and treat yourself and sometimes you regret it, but not this time.
The accommodation is really special, the bed luxurious, the shower decent and the breakfast matches the rest of the quality. For the rest of our trip around Cork/Kerry we stayed in "ordinary" but mostly very good B&Bs this was a very nice treat in the middle and the cost of €220 for two was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThomasFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
364 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Property: Bantry House B&B
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast
Bantry House Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing