We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bantry House B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bantry
See available hotels
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gougane Barra Hotel(Gougane Barra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
201
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barstately homegrand pianotea roomonce in a lifetimeunique experienceformal gardensb broaring firehighlight of our tripprivate tourguest roomslike royaltyarched stonesteeped in historyitalian garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I spent three wonderful nights in the historic surrounds of Bantry House.The house and grounds are beautiful but they have also played a significant role in Irish history and it is to the credit of the Shelswell-White family that they have worked hard to maintain it and the valuable objects it houses while still retaining the feel of a family home, which of course it is first and foremost. The guest accommodation has been elegantly and sensitively renovated. My room was warm and comfortable with a lovely view of the hundred steps. I spent each evening snuggled up in front of one of the fires in the library of the house which becomes the guest sitting room when the house closes to the public in the evening. This stunning room has to be seen to be believed. Guests have complimentary access to the house and grounds and no-one who stays here should miss out on exploring this piece of living history. The breakfast is ample,tasty, of very high quality and beautifully served.The smell of the freshly baked scones as you come down the stairs in the morning will remain with you and the ladies in charge of the kitchen and breakfast room are treasures. The family, Sophie, her Mom and sister whom I also met are among the warmest and most welcoming people you could hope to meet. You feel like a welcome guest and if only for a short time part of history. I cannot recommend Bantry House highly enough. It is the perfect place for a romantic break, a relaxing stress free weekend, a base for exploring West Cork or just a treat for yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear mollym1962
It really was a pleasure having you to stay. I m glad you felt so comfortable and relaxed which is exactly how we want our guests to feel. Looking forward to seeing you again one day!
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Sadly only one night at Bantry House as they had no vacancy for a further night. It was such a pleasure to stay in such a beautiful house. A bonus were the log fires blazing at each end of the library which was for the exclusive use of the guests after the public had left for the day. Our bedroom (one of the large ones) was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we were sad to leave after a walk in the gardens. The family can be really proud of what they are doing and we sincerely hope they make it even more successful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJWokingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear MJJWokingEngland
Please do come and stay again and Ill make sure we have a room for more than one night! I am glad you enjoeyd your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband & I arrived in Bantry for 1 night during the middle of our honeymoon. We were both just enchanted by this beautiful house & its lovely gardens, which are very whimsical. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed, but I knew that going in & wanted to splurge a little. I'm so glad I did because we definitely loved this little oasis of a stop in between Kinsale & Dingle. We also enjoyed Bantry, which was more lively than expected, although it was a Friday night.

Our room was adorable & the bathroom had heated floors, which we both were obsessed with :). Also, we had a gorgeous view of the gardens. We did walk up all the steps & it was worth it for the pictures & view that it provided. Breakfast was delicious & the people we met were very friendly.

We would definitely return & would love to renew our wedding vows here in 10 years :). It's just a lovely place.

Tom & Katie Morley

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room here! We just had a standard room & it was beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Morley
thank you for such a smashing review and I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Congratulations and looking forward to seeing you again on you anniversary!
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was fantastic stay at bantry house. To have the gardens and library to yourself at night and early morning is really awesome. The room vas lovely, with view on the terraces of the garden. If you have the opportunity, treat yourself to this B&B and go to the hostel the following night to balance budget!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crapaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear crapaudine thank you for your review of your stay with us last week. I enjoyed meeting you both and hope you had fun on the rest of your trip. Safe trip back to Switzerland (not France!!!)
Best, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM, Bantry House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have previously experienced country houses which have been a little bit full on. Here the owners are friendly but keep a distance which is professional. Neither do they make you feel that you are an interloper.The rooms are well furnished and the bathrooms are modern which is a plus in a house of this age. The breakfasts are one of the best I have experienced.
Bantry House is in a magnificent position with stunning views from the main house. What was particularly welcome is the freedom you are given in this great house during visiting hours. There is also a cosy snug and billiard room .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coliemorecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Coliemorecolleen, it was lovely to have you stay with us and I am glad you enjoyed it. Ann and Mary do a fantastic job in the kitchen to ensure our breakfasts stay the best!
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews