We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do like the Duke and Duchess”
Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #2 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do like the Duke and Duchess”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Book a B&B room at the Bantry House. limited rooms so book quick. clasical and spacious rooms with modern bathrooms. Groundfloor: Biljartroom with fireplace. Good breakfast in nice athmosphere. Friendly personel who know how to welcome guests and proud about their location. Nice garden, unforgetable views (even in the rain).
In the morning (after you slept here,had breakfast) visit the museum and it feels like you lived here as a Duke.

Room Tip: limited rooms (believe 7) so book quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hi Mark U,
i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us last year and thank you for reviewing. Hopefully next time you come to visit the weather will be a bit nicer!!!
Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
123
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Bantry House is a treat--gorgeous and stately with gardens and bay view to calm one's soul. Breakfast was wonderful. The hospitality was gracious. This is a must-stay spot for any traveler to the Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to enjoy a turret room with views on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
dear Jane P
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Merry Christmas and hope to see you again soon,
Sophie Shelswell-White, GM Bantry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A wonderful ,historic house in a fabulous location.The B&B rooms are finished to a very high standard,the breakfast is excellent and the service second to none.We would love to return to further explore West Cork and would definitely make this our base.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill50p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear gill50p
lovely to read your wonderful review and let us know when you plan to come back so we can make sure we have a room for many nights for you!
Best, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I spent three wonderful nights in the historic surrounds of Bantry House.The house and grounds are beautiful but they have also played a significant role in Irish history and it is to the credit of the Shelswell-White family that they have worked hard to maintain it and the valuable objects it houses while still retaining the feel of a family home, which of course it is first and foremost. The guest accommodation has been elegantly and sensitively renovated. My room was warm and comfortable with a lovely view of the hundred steps. I spent each evening snuggled up in front of one of the fires in the library of the house which becomes the guest sitting room when the house closes to the public in the evening. This stunning room has to be seen to be believed. Guests have complimentary access to the house and grounds and no-one who stays here should miss out on exploring this piece of living history. The breakfast is ample,tasty, of very high quality and beautifully served.The smell of the freshly baked scones as you come down the stairs in the morning will remain with you and the ladies in charge of the kitchen and breakfast room are treasures. The family, Sophie, her Mom and sister whom I also met are among the warmest and most welcoming people you could hope to meet. You feel like a welcome guest and if only for a short time part of history. I cannot recommend Bantry House highly enough. It is the perfect place for a romantic break, a relaxing stress free weekend, a base for exploring West Cork or just a treat for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear mollym1962
It really was a pleasure having you to stay. I m glad you felt so comfortable and relaxed which is exactly how we want our guests to feel. Looking forward to seeing you again one day!
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Sadly only one night at Bantry House as they had no vacancy for a further night. It was such a pleasure to stay in such a beautiful house. A bonus were the log fires blazing at each end of the library which was for the exclusive use of the guests after the public had left for the day. Our bedroom (one of the large ones) was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we were sad to leave after a walk in the gardens. The family can be really proud of what they are doing and we sincerely hope they make it even more successful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJWokingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear MJJWokingEngland
Please do come and stay again and Ill make sure we have a room for more than one night! I am glad you enjoeyd your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband & I arrived in Bantry for 1 night during the middle of our honeymoon. We were both just enchanted by this beautiful house & its lovely gardens, which are very whimsical. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed, but I knew that going in & wanted to splurge a little. I'm so glad I did because we definitely loved this little oasis of a stop in between Kinsale & Dingle. We also enjoyed Bantry, which was more lively than expected, although it was a Friday night.

Our room was adorable & the bathroom had heated floors, which we both were obsessed with :). Also, we had a gorgeous view of the gardens. We did walk up all the steps & it was worth it for the pictures & view that it provided. Breakfast was delicious & the people we met were very friendly.

We would definitely return & would love to renew our wedding vows here in 10 years :). It's just a lovely place.

Tom & Katie Morley

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room here! We just had a standard room & it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Morley
thank you for such a smashing review and I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Congratulations and looking forward to seeing you again on you anniversary!
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was fantastic stay at bantry house. To have the gardens and library to yourself at night and early morning is really awesome. The room vas lovely, with view on the terraces of the garden. If you have the opportunity, treat yourself to this B&B and go to the hostel the following night to balance budget!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crapaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear crapaudine thank you for your review of your stay with us last week. I enjoyed meeting you both and hope you had fun on the rest of your trip. Safe trip back to Switzerland (not France!!!)
Best, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM, Bantry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
363 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Property: Bantry House B&B
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast
Bantry House Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing