We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bantry House B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bantry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gougane Barra Hotel(Gougane Barra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
201
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barstately homegrand pianotea roomonce in a lifetimeunique experienceformal gardensb broaring firehighlight of our tripprivate tourguest roomslike royaltyarched stonesteeped in historyitalian garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We travelled around Ireland for 2 weeks in May 2012. The entire country is gorgeous, friendly, easy to tour by car and so worth seeing. The Irish are so warm and friendly especially to Americans. We stayed in many wonderful hotels and B & B's but I must say our favorite was Bantry House. It is located along the southern coast in Bantry Bay and is a good location to use as a base for The Beara Peninsula (Do not miss- better and less crowded than the Ring of Kerry) and many of the other charming towns along the southern coast.

The Bantry House is a stately historic home that has been in the same family since the 1700's. It is now run by the owners daughters and son in law. They are an absolutely delightful family, so warm and friendly. They make all the difference because they are helpful, kind and seem to be unaffected by the incredible surroundings they have grown up in. The gardens alone are worth the visit to Bantry. But staying there makes a guest feel so very special as you are one of only a few guests staying in the home at night and you have the place to yourself so you really feel like you are living in a dream. Its like a mini version of Highclere Castle (Downtown Abbey). The rooms are lovely, enormous, have modern baths and have gorgeous views of the bay or the gardens, (we had both-just awesome). At night you have full and private use of the library and a drawing room with a roaring fire, and an honor bar. The antiques in this room will cause jaw drop. The breakfast is fantastic with a buffet of everything you could want and in addition they offer a hot dish. The breakfast room is charming and luxurious too. They do not serve dinner but there were several excellent restaurants in town which was a very easy and pretty walk from Bantry House.

All in all this was one of the great experiences of our trip to Ireland and one we will never forget. We felt it was also an amazing value for the type of property this is. Elsewhere the price would be double what we paid. We loved that there were only a handful of rooms so it was not crowded with tourists. Highly recommended to anyone with discriminating taste.

Room Tip: Upper floor with view of Bay and Gardens
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thesurfmeetstheturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We hope you will be able to visit us again. We are now getting ready for another busy season!
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Book a B&B room at the Bantry House. limited rooms so book quick. clasical and spacious rooms with modern bathrooms. Groundfloor: Biljartroom with fireplace. Good breakfast in nice athmosphere. Friendly personel who know how to welcome guests and proud about their location. Nice garden, unforgetable views (even in the rain).
In the morning (after you slept here,had breakfast) visit the museum and it feels like you lived here as a Duke.

Room Tip: limited rooms (believe 7) so book quick
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Hi Mark U,
i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us last year and thank you for reviewing. Hopefully next time you come to visit the weather will be a bit nicer!!!
Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Bantry House is a treat--gorgeous and stately with gardens and bay view to calm one's soul. Breakfast was wonderful. The hospitality was gracious. This is a must-stay spot for any traveler to the Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to enjoy a turret room with views on 3 sides.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

dear Jane P
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Merry Christmas and hope to see you again soon,
Sophie Shelswell-White, GM Bantry House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A wonderful ,historic house in a fabulous location.The B&B rooms are finished to a very high standard,the breakfast is excellent and the service second to none.We would love to return to further explore West Cork and would definitely make this our base.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill50p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear gill50p
lovely to read your wonderful review and let us know when you plan to come back so we can make sure we have a room for many nights for you!
Best, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I spent three wonderful nights in the historic surrounds of Bantry House.The house and grounds are beautiful but they have also played a significant role in Irish history and it is to the credit of the Shelswell-White family that they have worked hard to maintain it and the valuable objects it houses while still retaining the feel of a family home, which of course it is first and foremost. The guest accommodation has been elegantly and sensitively renovated. My room was warm and comfortable with a lovely view of the hundred steps. I spent each evening snuggled up in front of one of the fires in the library of the house which becomes the guest sitting room when the house closes to the public in the evening. This stunning room has to be seen to be believed. Guests have complimentary access to the house and grounds and no-one who stays here should miss out on exploring this piece of living history. The breakfast is ample,tasty, of very high quality and beautifully served.The smell of the freshly baked scones as you come down the stairs in the morning will remain with you and the ladies in charge of the kitchen and breakfast room are treasures. The family, Sophie, her Mom and sister whom I also met are among the warmest and most welcoming people you could hope to meet. You feel like a welcome guest and if only for a short time part of history. I cannot recommend Bantry House highly enough. It is the perfect place for a romantic break, a relaxing stress free weekend, a base for exploring West Cork or just a treat for yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear mollym1962
It really was a pleasure having you to stay. I m glad you felt so comfortable and relaxed which is exactly how we want our guests to feel. Looking forward to seeing you again one day!
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews