We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!”
Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #2 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a neat experience it was to stay in this fine B&B! It was our first experience with a B&B and our favourite one as well in all of Ireland!! The rooms were so comfortable and cozy, and the view out to the garden was spectacular!! Breakfast was delicious, as well as the eating area was an experience in itself. If you can book into this place, it is definitely worth your money as well as your time in Ireland :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrsgotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and lovely to read you enjoyed what we offer. Important that your first experience of a B&B is a good one and glad we managed that.
Thanks again, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Our room was comfortable and looked out on to the beautiful garden. Breakfast was yummy with scones that were out of this world. We felt very privileged to be able to stay at this magical place. Many thanks to Sophie anf her staff for a delightful stay!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our second visit within a year. This time we took an American friend whose comment was 'Wow - this is a dream come true!' Location, rooms, breakfasts, house, people - all excellent. It was a delight to meet Sophie and Dee again (wonderful hosts) and all the staff. We wish them every success. Needless to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: Having stayed in, or seen, many of the rooms, it is clear they are to the same high standard; roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJJWokingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hello and so great to read your review. it was wonderful to catch up again last month and your surprise for your friend couldn't have worked out better!
Plans for next year yet???!!!

See you both soon I hope
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Staying at Bantry House is a unique experience. Not only are the grounds beautiful, and the house itself a wonderful slice of history (the B&B is run by a descendant of the Earl of Bantry who lives in the house), but the room we had was very beautiful, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean and updated (heated floor was particularly nice). You also had access to a wonderful library room, which put you right into the mood of the 19th century. It is located on it's own property so it was very peaceful and quite around the grounds, which added to it's appeal as a unique place to stay. Breakfast was very nice, as there are only eight rooms to let, it was very quiet at breakfast and service was very personal. Staying on-site afforded us an early morning access to tour the house, which was fascinating to see. Great experience if you can get a room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCL613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hello and thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Hope to see you again another time
Best wishes,
Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Ireland! Breathtaking views, historic house and gardens. We stayed in a beautiful suite that looked over the bay. The bathrooms lend a modern touch to a time capsule experience. Breakfast was delicious and we just pretended we were at Downton Abbey for the night. Thank you for opening the Bantry House up for visitors, it is a national treasure!

Room Tip: Don't forget to walk up the rear steps for an unbelievable view and take the guided tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Kevin and family (cuz!!)
lovely to have you and get to know the 3 of you a little bit. The rest of your trip looked like so much fun too. Thanks for reviewing and hope we all get to meet up again one day
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Sophie and her son met us at the door and ushered us to our room on the third floor. Room in the corner was great and we enjoyed the whole experience. PS. Great breakfast also including fresh raspberry jam, Irish butter and scones.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cechef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hello and thank you for reviewing your stay.
Lovely comments and glad you enjoyed everything so much.
Scone recipe is available on our website now!
Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Bantry House B & B is certainly stunning, very grand and has a gorgeous sea view.
When arriving, go past the main Bantry House entrance (that is just for visitors) and drive along the coast until you see the entrance through a gatehouse which is almost in the middle of town - which is for guests – the driveway leads up the back of the house and the guest’s car park etc.
If you arrive in the daytime you can enjoy wandering around the grounds. The very long stairs up from the back garden look intimidating, but if you can, definitely go up them because the view from the top is worth it.

The tea room has excellent all homemade, locally sourced food which can also be ordered as room service and brought to your room until 6pm. Guests can use the library and there is a small but cosy lounge with an honesty bar of spirits, beer and wine.

Wifi is free however, we could not get it in our room, it is only available on the ground floor and the library and wasn’t a good connection - disappointing as we need to take our work with us and internet is vital, not to mention it being incredibly useful for planning the next day’s activities etc!

Our room was a large double – very spacious and lovely. Also, summer would probably be a better time to visit as the house and our rooms were very cold (we visited at the end of March) it was so cold we actually left the inbuilt hair dryer on for a while to try warm the place up! In a stately home cold drafts can be expected but I think space heaters in the rooms would be very helpful and appreciated. These things however, did not ruin our stay and would probably visit it again – in summer!

Breakfast was absolutely amazing – local food, quality food!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hi and thanks for your review.

I feel dreadful you were cold and of course do have plug in heaters to pop into the room on request. So sorry this did not happen in your case. Also I can only apologise for the wifi. Generally it does work well in the main lobby area, breakfast room, library and even in the main rooms of the house. We have so many routers and boosters but sometimes when bad weather and thick walls combine the signal will be weak.

I am happy though this did not ruin your stay and look forward to seeing you here on another visit

Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
646 reviews
1 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Address: Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range: £148 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast
Bantry House Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing