We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #1 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in a wonderful, modern and very clean room which was a part of an historic Irish Manor House. This was truly a treat and one which we will never forget. We traveled to the Ring of Kerry one day, to the Ring of Dingle another day and to Killarney on the last day. We always came back to a comfortable bed in a beautiful park like setting!

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room with a king size bed. Also a heated bathroom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thank you for giving us such a positive review. I agree we are ideally situated to explore all the beautiful penninsulas in this part of Ireland and I am so glad you took advantage of the location! Best wishes, and hope to see you here again one day, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
117
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

More like a grand country house than a B&B and the best stay we had in rural Ireland.
We were given room 25 which had windows on 3 sides with sea views and a lovely bathroom.
As guests we had use of the magnificent library with open fire and also a sitting room and the billiard room. Staying here made us feel part of the history of the place.
It also came with the best breakfast we had in Ireland - the attention to detail was very impressive.
Definitely worth the extra - would return (if fact, we didn't want to leave).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugerglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thank you for staying the then writing such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Looking forward to welcomng you here again on another visit.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in Bantry House many times over the past few years and then it has always been a wonderful experience. The owners are the most friendly, warm & accommodating people you'll meet. It is a great spot for taking photos and making very special memories, can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always so lovely to hear from past guests who come back time after time. looking forward to seeing you here with us again soon. I will make sure to keep your favourite room available for you.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I surprised my wife on our anniversary with a stay at Bantry House. She was expecting a room in an "old house" and gave me full marks for accurate understatement. By prior arrangement (and extra charge) we were met with chilled champagne in the (spectacular) library. Our room was very large and comfortable with a great view. Other comments cover the highlights: the tour of the house, amazing gardens, wonderful breakfast and the presence of the family-owners. We had a delightful time. The only problem for me is meeting this standard on our next anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear John R
thank you for your kind comments and you did a great job on your anniversary! I am so glad it was better than expected and that your wife and you enjoyed your time with us.
We have a couple who stay every year since they spent a night at the house on their honeymoon over 20 years ago!
Perhaps we will become your anniversary retreat!
Regards

Sophie Shelswell-White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My group of two couples thought that the Bantry House was unique just to tour, but to actually stay in this magnificent mansion was like a dream. We arrived late in the day, but with plenty of daylight time left to walk through the house at out own pace and then stroll the grounds and gardens, as well as go on a hike. The rooms were also very nice, providng one with everything possible for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. We we given tip on local restaurants an in keeping wit our "coastal" location, chose THE FISH KITCHEN - small, but great place to dine on the freshest seafood "of the day" - if it was not freshly caught, it was not on the menu! We returned to OUR Bantry House afterwards and had access to the enormous Parlour Room, where we sat in front of an open fire, enjoyed an after dinner beverage and pretended like this was actually our house. Breakfast in the morning in their very lovely and intimate room was first class. A 2-day stay would have been best, but we felt fortunate to have had the opportunity to be Upper Class for one day/night. Strongly Recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
thank you for staying and giving us such a wonderful review afterwards. I am so glad you enjoyed the Fish Kitchen, (I always do too!) which does offer the best of Irish seafood. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests into our home and for them to enjoy the Library, the garden and the spectacular location. Again, thank you for staying!
Best wishes,
Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The grounds here are full of lush greenery, wonderful views and character. The hotel is clean and the service was spectacular. The carriage house is charming and there is so much history in the tour. Breakfast was very nice. This is a family business and they take pride in showing their guests the treasures that exist on this property. Service was not in your face but very subtle. Perfect combination of history, relaxation and excitement. Truly felt welcomed while we stepped back in time to steal a glimpse of Irish history.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again perhaps?
I will pass your comments onto my colleagues.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B and B for two nights. Helpful and friendly staff. Amazing breakfast, cozy reading spaces, brilliant billiards table, and gardens to die for! Loved the town, especially the quaint little bar celebrating their refrigerator's 70th birthday! Thanks to the staff at The bantry House for an amazing time!

Room Tip: the corner room overlooks the gardens and the bay.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hello and thanks for writing such a glowing review. Sounds like you had fun in Ma Murphy's pub celebrating the fridge's birthday! great story!
Thanks again, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Property: Bantry House B&B
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Hotel Bantry
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing