We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bantry House B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
US$164
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$195
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$169
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
201
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barstately homegrand pianotea roomonce in a lifetimeunique experienceformal gardensb broaring firehighlight of our tripprivate tourguest roomslike royaltyarched stonesteeped in historyitalian garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our overnight visit to Bantry House was a splurge to celebrate making it halfway through our 21-day Irish holiday. The rooms were large, the grounds fun to walk through. (We didn't actually visit the house, however, not knowing if we could or not. We did relax in the library for a few minutes, however.) Yes, the price was a little steep compared with the "average" B&Bs, but hey!, we were on holiday, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. (Besides, no other place offered us bathrobes!) And just a short walk to "downtown" Bantry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captcalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for staying and your review. Delighted to think you saved your splurge for us! I am sorry you didn't realise that you could visit the formal rooms of the house that is of course included in your stay. Perhaps you can plan your return trip to Ireland and spend another night with us. I would be more than happy to show you around personally.
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Words can't describe how stunningly beautiful this property is! What an amazing place to stay in Bantry Bay, and quite possibly one of the best places I have ever stayed! This house is a true historic site. The grounds are manicured perfectly, giving it a storybook feel. The garden, fountain, statues, rooms inside the house, and the location are all amazing! There are only 6 rooms here, so if you want to stay there, book it! The rooms were nice sized and weren't too modern in terms of keeping up with the overall feel of the house. We spent so much time just walking around and taking pictures! The breakfast was wonderful as well. Full breakfast with more than you could ask for in terms of variety and selection. If you have an opportunity to stay here at the Bantry House, you should, for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BZBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello,
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you visit again one day in the future. I will try very hard to keep up to the "spectacular on all levels" title of your review!
Again, thanks and best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in a wonderful, modern and very clean room which was a part of an historic Irish Manor House. This was truly a treat and one which we will never forget. We traveled to the Ring of Kerry one day, to the Ring of Dingle another day and to Killarney on the last day. We always came back to a comfortable bed in a beautiful park like setting!

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room with a king size bed. Also a heated bathroom floor!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello and thank you for giving us such a positive review. I agree we are ideally situated to explore all the beautiful penninsulas in this part of Ireland and I am so glad you took advantage of the location! Best wishes, and hope to see you here again one day, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

More like a grand country house than a B&B and the best stay we had in rural Ireland.
We were given room 25 which had windows on 3 sides with sea views and a lovely bathroom.
As guests we had use of the magnificent library with open fire and also a sitting room and the billiard room. Staying here made us feel part of the history of the place.
It also came with the best breakfast we had in Ireland - the attention to detail was very impressive.
Definitely worth the extra - would return (if fact, we didn't want to leave).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugerglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello and thank you for staying the then writing such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Looking forward to welcomng you here again on another visit.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in Bantry House many times over the past few years and then it has always been a wonderful experience. The owners are the most friendly, warm & accommodating people you'll meet. It is a great spot for taking photos and making very special memories, can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it is always so lovely to hear from past guests who come back time after time. looking forward to seeing you here with us again soon. I will make sure to keep your favourite room available for you.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews