We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it once was”
Review of Mogul Restaurant

Mogul Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Only Indian restaurant in Bantry, seats about 40, authentic cuisine, beer can be ordered, wine can be brought by customer. Service rather slow but ggood.poworth waiting for.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it once was”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I visited the restaurant with my family a week ago and was disappointed by the service and the food. We were served reasonably promptly, but the gentleman serving us could have at least raised a smile and walk around the table to hand out the food, rather expecting us to do the work for him.

The food was not bad, but was not as good as the meals I have had there previously.

Most Indian restaurants I have visited have always been exemplary in their service and their civility. Perhaps this fellah needs a holiday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terryc894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spotted the Mogul while walking around Bantry earlier in the day and liked the look of the menu, especially since they did nuggets and chips for our very unadventurous children! So, after a trip to the cinema, we headed straight there and got parking right outside, which was brilliant. I had the chicken tikka makhani, which was mild and tasty and my husband had one of the specials, which was medium and also very tasty. He said the prawns in it were cooked beautifully. It wasn't the most memorable Indian meal I've had, but it was very enjoyable and comparable with most others as far as quality and value was concerned. The waiter looked a little glum, but was polite and attentive, which is better than the other way around I suppose! All in all we felt we made the right choice with the Mogul.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMBODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We Enjoyed our meal.
The Waiter was nice.
Did find it a tad expensive, a vegetarian side dish was €8.95.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank poohwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Indian food”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Food is fantastic, staff are friendly and helpful. Lovely place to eat and service is great. Take aways are also brillant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank marieoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torun, Torun, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent dining experience!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Delicious indian cuisine! Lovely atmosphere! Very nice staff! Best indian meal I have had so far! great value too. Would reccommend to everybody!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mogul Restaurant also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to Mogul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing