We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelllous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at Seamounnt Farmhouse B&B for two nights while hiking on the Sheep Head's Way and I truly enjoyed it. Upon arrival after a long - and wet - day of walking a pot of tea along with home-made scones and jam made me feel so welcome and at home. Wonderful helpful hosts, delicious breakfast, cosy room, beautiful location - couldn't ask for anything better. On my second day Charlie drove me to the starting point of the day's tour and showed me an easier and better route. Thanks for that, it was a great walk.
In any case I will return and stay there again and will also recommend it to all my friends planning a holiday in Cork.
Rita R.
Stuttgart, Germany

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaRG0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Top notch place to stay. The made to order breakfast was absolutely delicious. Another big plus is the location if you're looking for an out of the way place to stay with beautiful scenery and numerous awesome trails to hike. We parked our rental towards the start of the peninsula and Charlie picked us up and drove us to our start point further down toward the tip. It took us a little longer than expected and he went out and checked on us. Little things like that made us feel more welcome and added a personal touch. Also, recommend checking out a neat little pottery shop about 5-10 minutes on down the road from the B&B if you're looking for some gifts or souvenirs. This is Ireland at it's finest and Charlie and Julia went out of their way to make our stay memorable and a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odaytrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Seamount was a great place to stay in the Bantry area. It is about probably about a 20 minute drive from the town of Bantry on the Sheepshead Peninsula. We were welcomed by Charlie, who offered us tea, even though we arrived to the B&B rather late (around 9:30 pm). We sat in the living area with him for awhile, drinking our tea, and talking about our travels up to that point.

Our room was comfortable, and we had everything we needed. Breakfast was DELICIOUS...perhaps the best breakfast we had in our 2 week trip! The homemade scones were incredible, and Julia makes homemade jams! The strawberry jam was out of this world. We had seen the pictures on TripAdvisor of Julia's sheep pottery, and we knew that we would want to bring some home as a souvenir. We asked Julia where she had bought it, and she gave us directions and called the owner of the pottery shop (Dun Oir Crafts) to make sure she would be open for us! The store was not far from the B&B, maybe just a mile or so further down the peninsula.

Overall, we had a great stay in Bantry, and we would definitely stay here again! (In Bantry, don't miss the Brick Oven restaurant...wonderful food! Best quesadilla I've ever tasted!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sceniccityred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friend & I stayed at Seamount for three nights and we had the BEST time! The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds were so comfortable it was hard to get out; and we loved the cozy fire in the living room where we enjoyed our late afternoon & night time tea & biscuits. Charles & Julia are beyond welcoming and helped us with everything we needed. They could not have been friendlier, and really left such a great impression on us...we loved them! The house is located on the most gorgeous stretch of land overlooking the sea. We had so much fun hiking around during the day, taking in the sights and meeting the neighboring farm's horse, donkey, sheep & many dogs! :) Bantry centre is beautiful as well, and the Seamount is an easy 15 min drive to town. But honestly, we had so much fun just staying on the B&B's property. It is an ideal & magical escape from the world and we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. I especially miss the fantastic breakfasts made by Julia. They were delicious! Be sure to taste her potato waffles! We look forward to visiting again, soon. :) And would recommend everyone stop here on their travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B & B one night last week. Amazing view of Bantry Bay. Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Friendly/kind hosts. Wonderful breakfast. Very reasonably priced. I wish we could have spent the entire trip at this place. We cannot wait to return to Ireland and will definitely spend more time at this B & B next time. View from upstairs double rooms is breathtaking. Best B & B we have ever stayed in. Hosts even told us about a pottery shop just down the road which was also a must see. I cannot give this place enough stars and words really cannot explain how much we enjoyed this B & B. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Double rooms have amazing view of Bantry Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned from our 7th year at this B & B which is by far the best B & B we have ever stayed in. The house is beautifully comfortably furnished and the breakfast is out of this world. From cereal, porridge, home made soda bread and scones, fresh fruit salad then full Irish, or omletes, with a variety of fillings, you are full for the day and do not need lunch!! With fabulous view from Bedroom windows. Julia and Charlie are the nicest people who make your stay just fabulous. Charlie is a wealth of information on walks and scenic places to visit. Sheeps head is a quiet unspoilt perninsular with so much to see and fabulous views. Bantry a short drive away is a delightfull small town with a good choice of restaurants, a variety of shops and a large supermarket. I cannot wait to book my nexy visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebula99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

About 12 km south of Bantry town, towards the Sheepʼs Head trail, we arrived at this beautiful home. Charlie met us at the door and help settle us in to our room (number 3 on the south side). The quiet and serene setting on the coast was to most relaxing location of our two week adventure. Julia and Charlie provided the most delicious breakfast yet. Made to order plus a great selection of all breakfast fare. Great spot to begin our adventure around the Sheepʼs Head peninsula. If you are looking to avoid to crowds... this is your B&B. A perfect experience!

Room Tip: We ended up in room three in a full-size bed. Comfortable but cozy/small for a six foot couple. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
7.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,212 reviews
6.7 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
643 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
8.6 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
523 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Seamount Goats Path Road | Glenlough West, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing