We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quality keeps us coming back”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Quality keeps us coming back”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

this was our 2nd stay here this year and a perfect way to round off the summer. There were 4 of us this time and from the moment we walked into the hotel we were treated lik one of the family. It is good to see that tghe standards of service are being maintained in all areas to the usual high standard.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, Service in the bar and restaurant friendly and efficient as always, with all the staff making time to have a quick word with us. Thanks once again to James in the leisure centre for all his help in organising a birthday surprise spa break. Roll on next summer for another trip

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoreilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear aoreilly_13

Once again it was great to have you return to us and this time sharing the experience with other members of your family. Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor review and I will pass it around to your extended family of friends here at the Maritime which I'm sure they will enjoy.

Look forward to your return soon

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    382
    113
    36
    24
See reviews for
272
597
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is really lovely if you like comfort and modern surroundings. We stayed in the family suite which was so worth the extra few Euro. We had baby with us and he had great fun rolling round the spaciouse living area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar was nice and had entertainment on each night even though it was midweek. The Breakfast was just yummy and staff very helpful. The leisure cente was nice but, as per usual in hotels these days, the pool was way too cold for my liking and other guests also. I didn't want to bring my baby into the pool which was a dissappoint for me. Free parking also. The hotel is sort of 2 buildings so it takes a while to get used to the lifts for which area you need to go but you won't get lost. Very good hotel to stay in for exploring the area around. Would definately return. We were on 4th floor along the front of the hotel to have views of the bay. We didn't find the traffic to annoying but other guests we spoke to said the lower floors were noisy but its was people that lived in quiet areas and weren't used to traffic. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Millyhol

What a good review on Tripadvisor you gave us. I can see why they consider you a senior reviewer through the honesty of the review. Yes we were very good but you had one or two points that you expressed where we have room for improvement. I will discuss with the leisure center your comment regarding the children's pool and see if we cannot change this to your satisfaction.

Again it is really refreshing to get such a review as yours

My thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Had our 2nd wedding in the Maritime Hotel in August. The hotel lived up to its expectation. We had a brilliant day there. The food was excellent, the staff-each one and everyone we met were helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were so clean and bright. The overseer on the day Mr Finbarr Walsh saw that everything went without a hitch. We had plenty of food and all tables were served together. Breakfast next day was fresh and hot and helping ourselves made everything so much easier. WELL DONE and GOOD JOB.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Ncrem

Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review. I am delighted that we were part of your special day, every bride and groom deserves the best on their day and I'm glad that we were there for you. Our wedding experience is from the day you book until the day your last guest leaves and I'm glad that all your visitors enjoyed their stay with us. We know you will be back and we look forward to it.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We recently got married and this hotel was used for our reception and main staying point for all of our guests. Primarily we picked this hotel ahead of others because of the amenities: bar, restaurant, free parking, good food, modern rooms, sky tv, spa and pool, proximity to town, function room size and layout and the views across Bantry Bay. And nobody was disappointed. We had excellent service from start to finish, nobody went hungry nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The breakfast was brilliant each day, fresh and hot and well topped up. Dinner was equally as fresh and hot. Not a bad word can be said about this hotel. My wife and I didn't want to leave as we were so well looked after, so we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Daniel G

We were so happy to be part of your big day and I am so pleased that you were as satisfied as your Tripadvisor comments say. Every bride and Groom wants their day to be special and we work at making that happen. From the day you book to the departure of your last guest we want everyone to really enjoy the experience and I am so glad that we did that for you.

We know you will be back and we look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offaly, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed her for 3 nts from sep 1st-sep 4th wit my wife and small child (14 months old). After long drive from another location, we found this hotel situated in beautiful location on the bay front and with secure under ground parking. The staff on the front desk were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double room which was bay facing, the room was modern and spotless. The room was small with a baby in tow, but was completely our own fault for not booking a bigger room. We dined in the hotel on every occasion either for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food in the bar and restaurant was excellent with staff to match Small touches like staff (Aideen) remembering our baby's name evey time we entered the restaurant. The hotel is in a perfect location for everything you need to do i.e. sightseeing, shopping, eating out.

+ staff
service
food
location
modern hotel
cleanliness

- baby pool was cold.
no air conditioning in some rooms

Room Tip: Ask for room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollieOffaly_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear ollieOffaly_Ireland

Thank you so much for your kind Tripadvisor review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you noted the small things especially Aideen noting your child's name every night. I really do believe that it is the small things that matter and that if we can get those right then people feel really satisfied just as you did. I will look into the child pool issue you raised also and see if we can change it.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is probably the best place to stay in Bantry. The view is stunning and ever changing with the weather, the sea, the ships and birds. relatively quite and good parking for the car. The food in the restaurants is good and Breakfast unmatched.

Room Tip: Take the sea side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Tanzie1952

Thank you for such a lovely Tripadvisor rating and comment about your recent stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. Obviously the changing views got to you. I am always in awe of the same and continue posting them on our pages which always get comment. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed-roomed suite with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. There was ample room and the view overlooked the sea. The hotel is in an ideal location and within walking distance to shops/bars/restaurants and ferry to Whiddy Island. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free car park is just across the road. We went for a family wedding and the function room was lovely with beautiful views. Within the hotel there are lots of individual library/lounge areas for lounging on comfy sofas. The bar is open till late and the lunch time meals were big and tasty. Good value for money. Didn't use the spa/pool so cannot comment. Breakfast fine. Very flexible to accommodate guests who turn up after the official breakfast opening times. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor, rooms 219 and 220. Make sure you get sea view rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Ingrid252525

Thank you for your very kind review posted on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at The Maritime. I am delighted with your comments, most particularly about the staff and their friendliness. I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us while at the wedding, that you have recommended us, and we hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

I will be passing your review out to all the team and I am sure they will be as pleased as I am.

Again my thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
618 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
503 reviews
20.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Property: Maritime Hotel
Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing