We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for a family wedding and boy, was I surprised! I didnt have any expectations as I was too busy thinking about the wedding, however, I was amazed at how beautiful this hotel was. The staff were lovely and accommodating. The room was fabulous, I genuinely thought we must have been given the best room in the place it was that amazing! Huge, spacious room with all the mod-cons, lovely giant shower and the bed was to die for! I wish I had booked an extra night! The food was out of this world! The breakfast the next morning was the best I've ever had! Such a great choice of specials, as well as continental and hot foods.
Was genuinely gutted to be checking out of this place, cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear kellyireland

I guess we hit your "Wow!" requirements. Thanks for the great review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. I and all the team here were delighted with such a high rating. I hope that on your return visits we will be just as good and you will enjoy as much.

Kind regards & Thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We went to visit the hotel over the bank holiday weekend. We were a group of 6 adults celebrating our patents anniversary. The staff very very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent good choice for breakfast, slightly more limited choice on the set meal of an evening but still enough for all of us to try different food in both nights.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lighting throughout the hotel and restaurant is very low which was very difficult for my father who has poor eye sight. There had been some flooding issues and the dehumidifier in the corridor was working overtime!

It was a busy weekend in the hotel with lots of families with young children. In the mornings these children were very disruptive, I appreciate that this is not the hotels fault but it may be worth thinking where rooms are allocated particularly to groups with no children!

Overall a very nice hotel, excellent value and we would visit again.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank ClaraS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear ClaraS14

Thank you for your kind and honest review recently posted on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and saying that you would return is a great boost for us.

I accept your comments regarding the lighting and we are improving the type of energy saving lighting as the are replaced. As one of the earliest "Green Hotels" we invested in low energy bulbs at the beginning but the quality of light from these was not as good as today's ones.

With regard to room allocations I appreciate your points and will raise them with the reception staff for future consideration.

I was particularly pleased with your final comments regarding value as we do aim to please.

Thanks once again

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed there last weekend. Very busy, good atmosphere. Great hotel for any occasion. Friendly staff and good service. Good value also. The only complaint I would have is that there was a very poor cold water supply in the taps, Well done though

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 178gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear 178gerry

Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor review regarding your recent stay with us at the Maritime. "Friendly staff, good service & good value" what can I say. Concise but great and I will be passing it to all the team here. We are working on getting a better flow in the water and should have issues resolved over the winter period.

Thanks again

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely hotel. Staff can't do enough for you. All ages catered for. Rooms spacious and bright and had a balcony which was a lovely bonus. Breakfast to suit all tastes and bar food was excellent.
One little gripe - no enough signage to find rooms, lifts have to be changed to get from one floor to another and it would help if stairs option was marked more clearly. Otherwise the perfect location for a break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breffni054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Breffni054

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Maritime. I am delighted with your comments particularly with reference to the team and how they were so good. I totally understand the confusion with the room access and will look at getting more signage for them.

Again my thanks and I will pass your comments to the team here also.

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights Sun to Tues.Check in very quick, you can access your suite from the hotel car park.Rooms very comfortable, we had a balcony overlooking the bay.Food excellent, two specials every morning for example kippers or cream cheese bagal with bacon on our first morning along with the regular Full Irish, porridge and pancakes.Loads to do during the day we drove to Sheeps Head it was very beautiful scenery everywhere really lovely.Bar food in hotel very good , big portions.Overall very happy with this hotel...not exactly lap of luxury but very comfortable..staff excellent and great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Aileen S

Thank you for the kind Tripadvisor review you posted recently about your stay. Good Food, Good Staff great exploring we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I will be passing on your comments to the team here and I am sure they will be as pleased.

Thanks once again

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Went to the maritime for a family wedding and it was fantastic. The staff were very professional helpful and curtious, the food was amazing and well prepared. The rooms were absolutely exceptional very modern and extremely clean. I would highly recommend the maritime hotel to anyone looking for a wedding venue of simply some where to stay on holiday

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Martina O

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us for a family wedding. I am so pleased with this as we put such an effort into making the wedding experience one to remember for everyone, it is nice to get it acknowledged! The team here will be as pleased with your review as I am and I will be passing it out to them.

Again my thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

booked to stay in the martime hotel on the 18th october through hotels.com (NEVER AGAIN using Hotels.com -long story short -the hotel had no record of the booking and hotels.com started passing the book to expedia and vice versa so we were treated as a drop in on arrival through no fault of the hotel)

after resolving the problem with the booking there was still vacancies, so we booked a 1 bed suite, the reception staff were friendly and caring and beyond their duties to rectify the situation( even though it wasnt their fault),
We were given room 424 overlooking the lovely bantry bay , the suite was spacious and clean with lovely decor. We went for a meal that night to unwind and have to say the food was out of this world and all the staff were friendly and warm.


Overall, my self and my boyfriend had a great stay in the hotel, will defo be back in the near future and will highly recommend it to friends and family looking for a lovely relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: if booking a suite - room 424 is brilliant for overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sineador88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Sineador88

Wow, you must have got a run around on your booking to say that you had to deal with so many third party agents! Anyway i just want to thank you for your very kind Tripadvisor review and how the team here managed to save a weekend for you both! am delighted that you managed to enjoy the stay and remember our best rates are always available on our own site!

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
498 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
416 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing