We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable room
Excellent friendly helpful staff but exceptionally drab dark interior decor does not uplift the spirits
Roadside location could be noisy at night
Good swimming pool and leisure centre
Good full Irish breakfast
Evening dinner menu did not attract us - we ate at the Waterfront nearby which was excellent
Potential noise from wedding parties well contained
Very handy for town centre
Basement car parking accessed by hotel lift very convenient

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hockerton2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ralph D

Thank you for your review recently posted on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. I am currently undertaking a bit of renewal with regard to the interior lighting and a number of areas are now completed with dramatic uplifting effect which you will appreciate on your next visit.

I am glad that you found the team to be excellent & friendly and I am sure they will be pleased also. We look forward to you returning to see if the improvements are to your satisfaction.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    370
    111
    35
    24
See reviews for
259
576
30
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One of the most memorable experience is in the Spa, It just so nice, The restaurant in the hotel was not so bad either, as I love fish and there are plenty of them to choose from, The view from the room is fantastic, One of a very special hotel in Bantry and I shall spread word to my friend ;0)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Claire Jane R

Thanks for the brief but kind review you recently posted on Tripadvisor. Brief and to the point and ended perfectly saying that you would be reccommending us to friends.

Thanks & kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night, and what a wonderful night it was. We had a room on the 4th floor which is the highest floor with a balcony with the most amazing view of the bay. Room was of the highest standard with a large bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed with tv with multiple channels. Free wifi in all areas as some of you will love. Had dinner in the restaurant downstairs, wonderful staff and food but some might find it had to pick from the menu. Spa facilities and leisure facilities available, we did both had a thoroughly enjoyed an hour massage and a quick dip in the pool. Breakfast the following morning was lovely very filling and plenty available. Staff through out the hotel were lovely. Only dislike was we had to take too lifts to get to our room nothing major though would get over it for every other good thing about this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mairead H

I am delighted with your very kind Tripadvisor review about your recent stay with us at the Maritime. Those views are spectacular......mind you they are a little daunting when the Wild Atlantic breaks forth in stormy fury, like last February. What I love about them is that they are ever changing.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of food and the high praise for the team which I will be passing on. I am sorry about the lifts but then we can never be perfect.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is the sister hotel of the Gleneagle, but its so much nicer!

Our room was great, a great big tv screen, gorgeous plush bathroom and a great big bed. We ate in the bar the first night and the food was great, and our waiter was so attentive, and on the second night we ate in the restaurant and nothing was a problem, we were able to bring our desserts back to our room!

The location for touring Sheeps Head Penninsula, plenty to see and do, and its even better if you get great weather!

Definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetitiaS_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear LetitiaS_71

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. You tried most of the facilities and had a great experience which is what we are all endeavouring to offer. I will be passing your comments to all the team here and I am sure they will be well pleased.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A lot of thought obviously went into the style of the interior in this hotel. The furnishings are modern, stylish and comfortable. There are several lovely seating areas to relax in throughout the hotel. The bedrooms are comfortable and quiet, and breakfast was excellent. The staff are very pleasant and efficient. The only down side is the bar, which is a bit bland and lacks atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in the Bantry area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth O

Thank you for your honest Tripadvisor review about your recent stay with us at the Maritime. I was particularly pleased, as I am sure will the team be, that you found us to be pleasant and efficient. I am delighted that you would reccommend us to anyone staying in the area as this is the positive promotion we hope to get from our visitors.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I have just spent 5 nights, B&B and evening meals at the Maritime Hotel with a group of friends, as part of an Ulsterbus coach tour. The hotel gets our top rating. The staff were MOST friendly, from Helen who runs the dining room to the receptionists, bar staff and room-cleaners, etc. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt like valued customers at all times. The quality of the meals was excellent and the rooms were spacious, well-decorated and pristinely clean. We all agreed that this hotel gets our 5* rating. (A small blip...the wifi service throughout the hotel needs to be assessed and updated).

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jack C

Thank you for your kind review of the Maritime which you posted on Tripadvisor. I will be passing your comments to all the team and they will be as pleased as myself I'm sure.

I should advise you, Jack, that the Wi-Fi is not just a problem in the hotel but is similar in west Cork. I think that we would be one of the safest places from Nuclear attack.......they just wouldn't find us on the radar! We are working on getting this vastly improved and hopefully it will be done for the summer.

Kind regards & thanks once again

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here in Jan 14 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were so friendly and the room was excellent. We stayed here on a package deal so had dinner in the hotel also. Meal was lovely, menu perhaps a little boring in comparison to the setting/class of the hotel itself but like I said it was a package deal so it was a set meal so I can't really fault it. Didn't realises at the time that the hotel had a pool, it looked so nice that we came back another day (live about 40mins away) with the kids to go swimming at they loved it. Waiters/waitresses were so friendly and accommodating which is a real asset to the hotel.
Location is great as it's a short stroll to the bustling bars, restaurants on Bantry town.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Elaine C

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review about your stay with us in January. I'm delighted with all your comments which I will be passing on to the team so that they get the same satisfaction. I really appreciate your comments about the staff as this is what gives the property it's life.

We look forward to you returning either with or without the children!

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
14.1 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Property: Maritime Hotel
Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing