We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value + good location”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 August 2010

travelled over from tralee. lovely room, good breakfast, smack in centre of Bantry. well recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

Just back from three days at this hotel. My husband and I were celebrating our birhtdays. Our daughter rang the Matitime the morning of our arrival to arranage a bottle of sparkling wine on ice for when we arrived!! The very kind lady on the desk gave us an upgrade to a room on the fourth floor with a huge baloncy when she heard it was our birthdays. The room was super. We had dinner on one night and food was amazing. We cant wait to go back. Staff were excellent. Beautiful places to visit too. Bantry is great town to base yourself for many trips. Thank you for best birthdays ever!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Very good staff, very clean rooms, a good spa club, magic views to bantry bay... We will definitely come back there ! Rooms are furnished witch excellent standards : book there and you will enjoy it... The very best breakfast buffet we ate in Ireland too !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamoizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just got back from a 4 night stay and although the hotel was very nice and the staff friendly, I was disappointed with the accomodation. There is no air conditioning in any of the family suites so you have to open the windows at night. The noise from the traffic prohibits a decent nights sleep as the hotel is on the main road. Also the family suites are misrepresented on the website. They are not as spacious as the photo suggests, I guess this must be their best one. The leisure club is good and the staff here were very helpful and had a great attitude. The kids club was also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had our wedding here in April, and i must say what a venue!! If i we had to do it all again it would be back to the same venue. The service we and our guests received was second to none. Our guests are still thanking us for a wonderful day and for introducing them to such a wonderful hotel, it was nothing like they expected for a wedding. The service was impecable and all the guests commented on the standard of the service provided by the staff and how the meal was resturant quality food and not tipical carvery food. Our weddng co-ordinator Martin was the best he did everything to make our day what we wanted and he was such a gentleman to deal with. If your planning on getting married any time soon i would certainly recommend this hotel and certainly i would definaltely deal with Martin.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Beware of the photo on the hotels website the hotel sits on the main road into Bantry and is very noisy. Our suite did not have air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open and barely got any rest due to the heavy traffic on the road. We arrived at 1:45 pm and had to wait 45 minutes for the rooms to be cleaned. Rooms have insuffecient cubbord space if you intend to stay more than one night. The hotel staff are very accomodating and friendly though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarekdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in June, staff were very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were of a good quality, they were clean, well equipped and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant was a bit chaotic on one of the mornings for breakfast and the hot buffet food was a little cold (ordering directly from the breakfast menu seemed get around this) , however we dined in the hotel on both evenings and the service and food on those occasions was fine. Pool and facilities were great. Loads of parking in the underground lot. Funny layout, in that you needed to use two lifts and a connecting corridor to get to the room. Only neg was that couldn't connect to internet using own laptop, some issue with Wi-fi. Overall a pretty good hotel, great break, will be returning..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lekutiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
651 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
536 reviews
12 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
19.5 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range: £64 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing