We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an amazing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
kerry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is an amazing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

my boyfriend and i are frequent visiters,,,,,
i love this hotel everything about it is brilliant,, staff are so friendly, the resteraunt is great... and the brick oven down the road is a must when in bantry...

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank magskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    367
    111
    35
    23
See reviews for
257
571
30
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

If your image of west Cork is beautiful landscapes and quaint country towns, then don't go near this hotel. It would look more in place in an American style shopping mall, or on the high street of a modern town. How they got planning permission for this monstrosity is beyond me.

To rub salt in the wounds, there is a junk yard directly across the road between the hotel and the bay which has been cordoned off in typical builder's fashion with unsightly plywood.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CJB7326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Interesting modern style hotel on main street in Bantry Co. Cork. It is a great location from which to tour scenic West Cork. The Hotel decor, while clean and modern would not be to everyones taste as it is rather dark and heavy for a hotel based on the waters edge and with the name Maritime in its title. I was expecting a sand/ sea themed decor but that is just a matter of personal taste. Overall for what little interaction we had with staff they seemed fine. Reception was a little fraught when we arrived. We were early for check in and the reception area was under pressure but I felt they could have been a little friendlier. We had lunch on the first day in the bar area and had lovely chowder served by a very friendly local named John who recommended some touring routes for us. He was right, it was beautiful, and we appreciated his input. We dined locally that night and the area is well served with bars and restaurants to suit all pockets. Breakfast is a buffet affair and was as expected and we had no complaints except maybe some of the staff could be a little more competent but that may be due to inexperience and summer staff. Generally it was fine. We used the pool area and again I found the decor dark and imposing and slightly off putting but that is a matter of personal taste and it was clean and well run from what I could tell. We had dinner one night as part of our package in the main Ocean Restaurant. While waiting to be served we perused a very interesting looking a la carte menu with some lovely choices on it. However we were shown only the Table de Hote Menu as we had booked a package. It was adequated, the food ,while basic was lovely and plentiful but I would have liked to have been offered the choice of upgrading to the more extensive menu and paid the difference. This was never offered and I feel it is a missed opportunity for the hotel. They should give the opportunity to customers who might be prepared to pay a higher premium or explain on booking that they only offer the limited Table De Hote menu as part of their packages. Small niggle but it bugged me. Generally we found our stay to be just what we needed, restful, good food, delightful scenery and even the weather obliged so no complaints really.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleNDrogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

travelled over from tralee. lovely room, good breakfast, smack in centre of Bantry. well recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Just back from three days at this hotel. My husband and I were celebrating our birhtdays. Our daughter rang the Matitime the morning of our arrival to arranage a bottle of sparkling wine on ice for when we arrived!! The very kind lady on the desk gave us an upgrade to a room on the fourth floor with a huge baloncy when she heard it was our birthdays. The room was super. We had dinner on one night and food was amazing. We cant wait to go back. Staff were excellent. Beautiful places to visit too. Bantry is great town to base yourself for many trips. Thank you for best birthdays ever!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Very good staff, very clean rooms, a good spa club, magic views to bantry bay... We will definitely come back there ! Rooms are furnished witch excellent standards : book there and you will enjoy it... The very best breakfast buffet we ate in Ireland too !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just got back from a 4 night stay and although the hotel was very nice and the staff friendly, I was disappointed with the accomodation. There is no air conditioning in any of the family suites so you have to open the windows at night. The noise from the traffic prohibits a decent nights sleep as the hotel is on the main road. Also the family suites are misrepresented on the website. They are not as spacious as the photo suggests, I guess this must be their best one. The leisure club is good and the staff here were very helpful and had a great attitude. The kids club was also very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
14.1 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Property: Maritime Hotel
Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing