We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Berehaven Lodge

Lodge exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge exterior
Entrance Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lodge exterior
Entrance
Dining area
Stairwell
Private decking with furniture
Hallway of lodge
Master Ensuite
Main Bathroom
Twin Ensuite
Master Bathroom
Kitchen in white
Kitchen and Dining
Double Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletownbere, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonny O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

High quality accomodation with a great on site bar and restaurant only a few miles down the road from picturesque Castletownbere.

3 good sized bedrooms, 2 of which were ensuite, and a third bathroom makes life easy for a house of 6.

The open-plan kitchen and dining area is perfect for entertaining neighbors

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you Jonny for taking the time to write the lovely review on Berehaven Lodge. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aoifec268...
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Heaven in west cork”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Absolutely amazing stay. Houses are spectacular and the lodge is even better. Can't get enough of the food and hate leaving. I can't recommend the place highly enough. Beautiful scenery, and polite and incredibly friendly staff that make the stay even more comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review on your stay at our Lodges here in Castletownbere. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and that you highly recommend us to others who may be contemplating a visit here.
All the best on behalf of all the team
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
County Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Week”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Myself and my family are just home after spending a fantastic week in this beautiful part of the country. We stayed at the modern, spacious and spotless Berehaven Lodge. Our accommodation was a 3 bed detached house and and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

The on site restaurant was superb. I would put it on a par with Sage in Middelton and Bastion in Kinsale. The food was fantastic, great value and the service excellent. The fish was to die for. Maybe a better wine list could be done but I could not fault any of the wines I tried.

We will be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you Paul for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write them on here. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to our Lodges and looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.
On behalf of all the team
Mary
Reservations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Best Time”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Two weeks ago we stayed at the Berehaven Lodges from the Thursday till the Monday. There were 20 of us. The lodges are fantastic. Clean, spacious, comfortable, spectacular views five star in our opinion. Thank You to Maureen for liaising with us before we arrived as we travelled from the UK. So much feedback and help. Much appreciated. Our party was a wedding group. We had our Wedding at Berehaven Lodge on May 27th 2017. All our guests (approx. 51) cannot praise the setting, venue, staff, quality of food and service enough from start to finish. Professional on every level. Grace corresponded with us from start to finish asking what we wanted and our expectations were excelled. Graces attention to detail when dressing the wedding venues was superb. Throughout the whole day also Graces touches and leadership through out was faultless. The food ...well what can we say. We dined in the restaurant on the Friday evening before the wedding. The food is superb. Mouth watering, so well presented and full of flavour. Mark an award winning Chef who in our opinion is Michelin Star. The way the food arrived like art on a plate. We were so looking forward to our wedding meal. The wedding meal was scrumptious and the level of service again of such high quality. All my family and friends raved about the whole day including the service, food and staff. Thank You so much Mark, Grace and all the Staff. Some of our party have already booked again for next year as we will be doing too. You made our day so very special from start to finish. We also attended the open barbecue on Sunday evening. Wow. Heartfelt Thank You from Kevin, Cathy, Family and Friends and looking forward to seeing you all next year xxxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you Cathy, Kevin and family for your lovely review of Berehaven Lodges and your wedding reception. It was indeed our pleasure to host your family and friends at our Lodges and for your reception. We are delighted that you enjoyed your special day and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Mary and all the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrEsther
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Five star!”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just attended a family wedding at Berehaven Lodge. It was a perfect mix of high quality service and laid back attitude. The lodges themselves are very spacious and easily fit 6 adults. There's plenty of communal space and the facilities are all very high quality; from the towels to the appliances. The jacuzzi bath was a surprise bonus! Some of the lodges have exceptional views over the sea and the decking lets you sit outside with your morning coffee and really appreciate them. We will most definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
On behalf of all the team at Berehaven Lodge, I wish to thank you for you lovely review and kind comments about your stay at Berehaven Lodge. I am delighted that you enjoyed the family wedding, it is indeed a beautiful location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castletownbere and Berehaven Lodge on your next visit.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh...
Castletown Bearhaven, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had our wedding here in Berehaven Lodge on Thursday 31st December 2015 with over 100 guests. We had an absolutely amazing day and that was down to the hard work and professionalism of Pat and Sarah Jane and all the staff at Berehaven Lodge. The service and food was absolutely excellent and we genuinely could not find fault with anything. In the lead up to the wedding the support and guidance we got from both Pat and Sarah Jane was extremely helpful. Pat called to my house on the morning of the wedding with chocolates and champagne for myself and the bridesmaids-a simple generous touch that means so much in the long run. The lodges themselves were absolutely spotless and so comfortable and our guests were all very impressed. It was lovely to have some food and milk in the fridge when we woke up the next morning as there was no need to rush out to the shop. Finally we cannot thank ye enough for all ye did for us both on New Years Eve and on the days and months leading up to our big day. Pat we are so sorry to hear that you are leaving as you were truly a pleasure to deal with. We both wish you the best of luck in your new endeavours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Dear Kayleigh and Gary.
What can we say. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You were a pleasure to work with. We hope that the day you envisaged was fulfilled. The team enjoyed working with both of you to ensure your Wedding Day was made as special as possible. We hope to see you and Alex and Danny soon.
Congratulations again and we wish you a very happy future together.
Looking forward to the 1st Anniversary Party!
On behalf of Pat and all the staff, Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthouse9...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellant Location and Accommodation.”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Meant to send this review last year !!

On the shores of Bantry Bay, overlooked by Hungry Hill, looking out on to Bere Island and the Atlantic, you will find this lovely holiday location. All the houses looked very nice - ours had ample room for the 6 of us (3 good sized bedrooms / 3 toilet / wash rooms, 2 of which were en-suite). Spacious open planned lounge / kitchen with leather chair's and big fire (if needed). Bright and airy feel about the whole house. Own car parking outside front door and own decking area with furniture. Good good function room / bar with beautiful views. If you are into walking, golf, fishing and good food etc, this is the place to go. Perfect base for exploring Beara and beyond - Will definitely return (hopefully) next year !.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility (and being so fortunate to have had lovely weather)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing