We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, superbly comfortable!”
Review of Ard Na Laoi B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ard Na Laoi B&B
Ranked #4 of 13 Cobh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobh, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, superbly comfortable!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Without doubt this B&B could lay claim to a enviable Distinction due to its water side location, however aside from the superbly comfortable suites, the welcoming sitting room with water outlook, and spacious dining room -- it was the hosts that really elevate this B&B to lofty heights.

My original plans were to saty one evening, but it was extended to two. Without doubt I would have stayed longer if not for committd travel plans.

I highly recommend Ard Na Laoi to you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Michael was a perfect host, going above and beyond to help us with a flat tire and phone calls that resulted. Our room was very nice for his reasonable rates and the adjacent sitting room, with coffee and tea fixings, biscuits, and a lovely harbor view, made us feel right at home. Good breakfast, perfect Cobh location.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

In the end of October 2011 I've travelled Ireland for a week with four friends. After a stay in a hostel on the first night, we'd decided to try a B&B. After this we've stayed in other B&B's as well, but I'd like to think this one is the best we had this week. We found there are lots of B&B's that are former hotels. Not this one. Ard Na Laou feels more like home.

Just by good luck we choose this place, an when we rang the doorbell, Michael invited us in. Our group of five was split into two rooms on the top floor. A double, and a four bed room. Both looked great. Not too big, not too small. They were both ensuite, and clean as well.

Few floors below is a lounche area with free coffee, thee and cookies! We could use wifi here with our own computer. No place to whash the empty cups though. Michael took care of that. He and his wife (I assume) are great hosts!

We found that too, the next morning when they coocked us a wonderfull Irish breakfast! It was served in the dining area downstairs. It olmost felt like their living room which was a pro for me because that is why we stay in a B&B for.

The location is good. The B&B is in the center, an therefore sightseeing spots are nearby. So are the pubs. Michael advised us on a few and we had a great night there! Ard Na Laoi is a good, cleen and comfy place that feels like an Irish home, and is run by great people. I'm glad we went to Cobh and found this place!

Room Tip: The four bed room on the top floor has greatviews over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Lupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My husband, brother and I stayed at Ard Na Laoi for 2 nights in October 2011. It was a great location on the seafront, and a hospitable welcome from Michael made a great start to the visit. Rooms were comfortable and clean, the sea-view delightful, Irish breakfast with white pudding beautifully cooked, and also fresh soda bread, a large harbour-view drawing room with tea/coffee/chocolate biscuits available, what more could anyone ask? We especially liked having sheets and blankets rather than duvets, and also there being a bath as well as a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Michael and Bridgette O'Shay made our stay at the Ard Na Laoi a most pleasant memory of the south coast. The rooms are on the small size, the smallest of the B & B's we booked during our 3 weeks in Ireland but ours was very comfortable. Breakfast is yummy with many choices, served with Michael's lilting conversation and smile. The Ard Na Laoi ("On The Lee") is indeed on the waterfront just across from the TI building, Maritime Museum and several good restaurants, on a quiet street, and is the former rectory of the adjacent ancient Methodist Church, now closed. You might even have the good fortune of seeing the QE as we did on its maiden stop in the Cobh harbor, site of the final sailing of the Titanic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bugsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Jjstayed one it was great lovely view over habour and good.breakfast would stay again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballymaguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Outstanding place to stay and the whole experience was wonderful. The room was spacious, the beds were spotless and Michael is such a nice host. Our room was on the first floor facing the street. It over looked the last port of call for the Titanic. The location is wonderful and I wish we could of stayed longer than what we did. The breakfast was excellent as well. I highly recommend that you stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliviainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
662 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Na Laoi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Laoi B&B

Property: Ard Na Laoi B&B
Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard Na Laoi is a B&B offering bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of Cobh. We are located on the main street with harbor views and within walking distance of local amenities and attractions, and a a short drive from Cork city. Double and triple rooms as well as a spacious lounge are available for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing