We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better!!!”
Review of Ard Na Laoi B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ard Na Laoi B&B
Ranked #5 of 13 Cobh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not be better!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent location and very close to the train station if you don't have a car. It is easy to get the train for day trips into Cork. Waterfront location provides wonderful views and is close to be able to walk to any sites in this beautiful town. Michael could not be more hospitable and helpful, telling us about where to find whatever we were interested in. Room is comfortable and there is a lovely sitting room to read and relax, or use the telescope to view the islands. We stayed here for 4 nights, and plan to return.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful, minimal street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdNaLaoi, Owner at Ard Na Laoi B&B, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Mary D

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive and favourable review of our B&B. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks

Mike & Ber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because it was recommended by Rick Steves in his book. The B&B was just okay, to be honest. The location was great. Beyond that it was just average. The rooms were cold and the amenities were basic. There was only enough hot water for one person. Unfortunately, my wife showered second so that didn't go over well (ice cold shower). Breakfast was basic Irish breakfast. Overall, it was just okay. I don't know what the other places in town are like, but this was certainly less comfortable than the B&Bs we stayed at in other cities in Ireland. The owners were very pleasant, however, and will treat you well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdNaLaoi, Owner at Ard Na Laoi B&B, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
DearJeffe13

Many thanks for your feedback on our B&B. We appreciate your time in writing a review.
I would like to follow up on a few of the points that you made -

1. There are radiators in each room which can be regulated by guests
2. I am interested to know which amenities you felt were not available to you during your stay
3. All guests are asked on arrival what they would like for their breakfast
4. If there was an issue with hot water you should have brought it to my attention immediately and it would have been resolved

All guests are asked on departure if they were happy with their stay and I am disappointed that you did not raise your concerns with me then.

Many thanks
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Excellent location right across from the water, close to load of great pubs. Michael was a wonderful host taking great care of us during our stay. Wonderfully clean and spacious rooms with ensuite and comfortable bedding. Thanks for a wonderful place :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Not fancy, but clean, comfortable rooms in the perfect location. We were able to park on the street right in front of the hotel, which is located on the main street, right near the attractions you'd want to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL73NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Recommended by Rick Steve. This is a very nice B&B with a wonderful innkeeper. The breakfast was very good and the rooms comfortable. Ours had a view of the bay, which I would recommend. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had a very nice stay at Ard Na Laoi. The location was great, easy walking distance to everything in town. Michael was a fantastic host. We got a very large and filling breakfast. The cost was almost unbelievable too. If we were ever in Cobh again we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar5622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What a view from Ard Na Laoi B n B. The perfect spot in this great little and surprising town of Cobh. Michael was a great host and found the B n B and town so charming that we stayed an extra night. Welcoming, great breakfast a private study to take in the view of the harbour. Wonderful.Definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Na Laoi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Laoi B&B

Property: Ard Na Laoi B&B
Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard Na Laoi is a B&B offering bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of Cobh. We are located on the main street with harbor views and within walking distance of local amenities and attractions, and a a short drive from Cork city. Double and triple rooms as well as a spacious lounge are available for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing