We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of WatersEdge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WatersEdge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
846 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Arrived by train to the joy of seeing a cruise liner tied up alongside the station - then finding the hotel is next door and so what a view from the room window!. The hotel is 1 min walk from the station so thats perfect for me. The greeting was exceptional and the room quite superb. Everything to the highest standard with a very good ensuite. The view from the window was over the harbour and the approachs. Looking right across at the islands. The restaurant served a very good meal again with great views across the harbour. Very quite in a very nice town. Really enjoyed this hotel and intend to return for a longer period.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour - not sure how many do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedgeMGT, Front Office Manager at WatersEdge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking time to write a lovely review about your recent stay with us.
We are so happy you enjoyed the beautiful views from our hotel. I have passed on your comments to all the staff

We do hope you think of us once again if you visit Cobh again.

Best Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    195
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
133
373
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stopped here in January as part of a week long trip of Ireland. What a beautiful hotel. Probably the best out of the 5 we stayed in over the week. The rooms was big and cosy, decorated to high standards. The bathroom was big, clean and powerful showers. We had our tea in the restaurant which was excellent. I would recommend staying here, we would again.

Room Tip: Any that have a sea view. We didn't see any ships,but it must be an amazing sight to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambz11mtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedgeMGT, Front Office Manager at WatersEdge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review about your stay with us in January
Its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us

If you visit Cobh again in the future, we do hope you think of us once again

Best Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of out tour around Ireland. Purely by chance, we had booked room no.1 which, looking at the floor plan, appears to be the largest room in the hotel. It consists of the main bedroom which was about 6m x 6m with another lounge area of about 5m x 2.5m with a balcony overlooking the quay. The bathroom was more like a large wet room with separate bath and shower and that was probably as big as the lounge. All the fixtures and fittings were tidy and comfortable, however the balcony didn't quite match up to the opulence of the room; it was a little small and not very clean. The only other small negative point was that there was a small leak in the skylight window which dripped but as this was behind a pillar in the room, it was not immediately visible.
The bar/restaurant was reasonably appointed and the menu had quite a good selection.
The staff were particularly friendly and appeared to always be available to help.
The hotel has its own car park underground but this is on a first-come first-serve basis and it is quite often full. There is parking in front of the hotel and this is free from 6pm at night to the morning (not sure of the cut off time). This roadside parking appeared to have quite a good turnover so finding a place to park was not a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a balcony and overlook the harbour. Room 1 is huge but has windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedgeMGT, Front Office Manager at WatersEdge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us,

We do hope you think of us one again, if you visit Cobh

Best Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed yet another lovely break at this hotel! Perfect location superb rooms, we had ground floor with a terrace over looking the harbour, simply stunning been coming 8 years and never tire of the hotel. Staff excellent and food is lovely we booked Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal and couldn't fault a thing. Parking excellent a must when stopping in Cobh town centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedgeMGT, Front Office Manager at WatersEdge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for posting such a lovely review about your experiences here with us. Its so good to hear that you have been visiting us the past 8 years

We hope to see you again in the future

Best Regards
Christine Savage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went for a lunch while on a business trip but were certainly not inspired to extend our stay. The menu is pricey for what you get. The fact we were so hungry and had to wait so long for our food was the only reason we ate it.
The prawns (on an open sandwich) were like rubber. The extra sides we ordered we served on the same plate as our mains.... so not great for portions. The hand cut chips were anything but....
The value for freshness & portions was not not worth the money and efficiency was very poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerjenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The WatersEdge Hotel is just that. The patio hangs over the harbor. It is very close to dining, pubs, shopping and waterfront parks. Cruise ships dock at the adjacent complex and provide a fascinating show, arriving in the morning and leaving in the evening. Harbor views for several miles. Staff are friendly and full of small town charm. Rooms are very roomy and comfortable. Parking in basement lot off street.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebrowngc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedgeMGT, Front Office Manager at WatersEdge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking time to write your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

If you decide to visit Cobh again, I hope you will think of us once again

Best Regards
Christine Savage
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very central location, on site parking, great views of the busy harbour from the room- which was right on the water - great service and a great dining room make this a very good place on a visit to cobh. Which is itself one of my favorite towns in Ireland. We heard the Carillon recital from the Cathedral on Sunday afternoon. Another tick for my bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleagedCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedgeMGT, Front Office Manager at WatersEdge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the dining part the

The Carillon recital from the Cathedral is amazing. So glad you got to experience it. We do hope you visit us again

Best Regards
Christine Savage
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
473 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WatersEdge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WatersEdge Hotel

Property: WatersEdge Hotel
Address: Lower Road | Yacht Club Quay, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — WatersEdge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WatersEdge Hotel is a special venue in every sense of the word. Nestled in the harbour town of Cobh near Cork, and situated on the waterfront, we really have got “rooms with a view”.The Hotel commands breath-taking views, spacious, comfortable accommodation and Bistro style food that cannot be beaten. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure, this is the Hotel to come to time after time.As a guest you will find you are the only focus of our staff and we look forward to welcoming you to Cobh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your WatersEdge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersedge Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing