We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
munster
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for one night only , just a flying visit so to speak , our room was at the back of the hotel and we wont be making that mistake again as the church bells can become rather annoying after a while . Hotel room was fine nothing to complain about , the food in the hotel was very nice and the staff were helpfull so all in all we cant complain .Cobh is a very beautiful place but you can see that the recession has hit it . We would stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: Look for room in front part of hotel as church bells become annoying after a short period
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    171
    85
    44
    36
See reviews for
151
150
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We chose the cheaper, non-seaview room as we didn't intend to spend too much time in the room, however maybe pay the bit extra as it's very dreary to the back and the chimes of the cathedral mightn't be as loud to the front!
When we arrived we were met at the door by the manager who helped us carry the buggy up the front steps. Check-in was efficient and reception staff friendly, however when we went to our room it stank of stale smoke. With a baby in toe we asked to be moved and were accommodated straight away in a fresh smelling room. Bed very comfy and good storage space provided. Travel cot provided. Entry to carpark is by keyfob available for a refundable €20 deposit however it is not an adequate size for the hotel - twice we entered it to find all spaces were taken. the first time was remedied quickly but the 2nd time we were told to double park and we would be contacted when it needed to be moved - a bit of a restriction as we felt we couldn't go very far in case we needed to head back.
Breakfast was fine - cereals, yoghurts, fruits (not fresh but tinned which was disappointing) and buffet style full Irish. Lots of toast and brown bread offered with tea/coffee and wait staff were very friendly and efficient. Dinner that evening was part of the deal and there was a good selection on the set menu. I had crab cakes and chicken and hubby had salad and steak (for a €6 supplement). Again food was fine even if the crab was a bit scarce! Ate again in the bar the 2nd night and again food was good - although battered salmon in the fish basket meal was a bit odd to my mind!!
I rated cleanliness average as there were cobwebs on the light fittings and the windows need a good clean round the frames. Bed clothes and sheets impeccable though.
Over-all the hotel is well situated, friendly and for €99 per night b&b&dinner you really can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Specify non-smoking when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfc2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Only sea views good with Large but tired rooms. Coffee/milk etc in dusty drawer & hot water took 15mins to come through to 3rd floor @7am. No lifts or help to get suitcases to the top floor. Reception undermanned/unhelpfull plus request to print boarding pass met with, it will cost Euro 3, but Internet out of paper & ink anyway.Buffet breakfast/waitress good. Was going to stay further night but found Watersedge Hotel nearby which solved my Internet problem & whose staff were helpful & charming as opposed to the lifeless atmosphere at the Commodore.

Room Tip: Not 3rd floor if you older traveller as no lift. Ask front room re sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Commodore Hotel.
As of late we have began a programme of redecoration with our bedrooms. New duvets, valances and a phased programme of purchasing of new flat screen televisions is in progress. One of the rooms that we have completed is the room that you stayed in. I am surprised that you found the room to be tired as we have received very positive feedback about redecorated rooms to date.
The reason the tea/coffee making facilities are stored in the top drawer of the dresser is to provide as much room for guests as possible on the writing desk.
The hotel has an elevator which grants access to all three floors of the hotel that have guest bedrooms. Your room, which was on the main landing of the third floor, is accessible by the elevator. A lot of information is communicated by our front office staff at check-in. It seems that on this case the information was at best unheard or at worst not communicated. Assistance with luggage should also have been offered. For that I apologise and I have asked our Front Office Supervisor to follow up with the member of staff who checked you in. On occasion a large number of guests can check in at the same time, I can only assume that this is how you felt that reception was undermanned.
The reason your boarding pass was not able to be printed at the desk, free of charge, is because front of house staff do not have access to internet as all our reservations are handled by our reservation supervisor. This is in accordance with our internet security policy. As a result of your feedback we will be reviewing this policy. However in the interim, we do provide guests with a coin-fed surf box. This is maintained regularly by an outside company. On this occasion ink, was running low. A member of our team did inform the company and they were due to replace the ink on the day you checked out.
We were disappointed to hear that you found the hotel to be lifeless and our staff unfriendly. We pride our self on our Irish welcome and are sorry that you did not experience it on this occasion. This is however by far the exception rather than the rule.
Finally I would like to thank you kindly for your feedback, which I have communicated to all members of our team and we have already began to address matters you have raised.
Best regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I loved this place because of it's old world charm. Very freindly and helpful staff. Room was big and comfortable. Great location, right in the heart of town. Breakfast was good. We would stay here again for sure. They do offer free WiFi but we could not get it to connect. Go to Kelly's Pub just down the street for a great time with the locals.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogsbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted that you found our staff and helpful and friendly. I have contacted our I.T. team in relation to the Wifi.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore Hotel soon
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

we stayed at commodore on several occasions.group of friends,including singles and married couples.We always enjoyed our stay,great food great craic in lounge/bar nightly.abs.NO complaints.all staff so friendly and helpful.Highly recommend Commodore Hotel.

Room Tip: for small fee choose sea view room.Well worth it.,as liners frequently visit harbour.Hotel .directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TYNAN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear from one of our regular guests. We are delighted to you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be so friendly, We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore Hotel very soon,
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

i visit the commodore several times a year it a wonderful dining delight
the food is always special be it in the bar or restaurnt
in the bar you can eat or drink and watch the ships sail past in the wonderful cork harbour
the last sailing berth of titanic

Room Tip: the train runs to cork city and to foto wildlfe park the station is 2/3 mns from the commodore
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed in Cobh to experience the Titanic story after driving up from Glengarriff the same day. First of all, the good. The hotel is in an excellent location. We opted for a sea view room and it was fine. Large, with 4 beds in it (there was just the two of us!) The views behind the hotel are very ugly, overlooking the poorly maintained car park. The room was clean and light and yes, ok, it is very dated with cracks and some mould on the wall but still good value. We arrived early at 10.00 as we were doing the Titanic trail that starts from the hotel at 11.00. We asked is we could park our car in the hotel car park and this was no trouble. In fact, the receptionist confirmed that we could access our room right away, which was very welcoming after spending 3 hours in the car.

We opted to eat in the hotel that evening and, once again, the staff were superb. Very attentive and really seemed to care. They have obviously been well trained in customer service. Saying that, as a Londoner, I am always hugely taken aback at how civil, friendly and welcoming the Irish people are. I love them!

We had a great evening, particularly as it was a Wednesday and the local band were playing in the hotel. They were excellent and everyone had a sing-along, way past midnight.

The Bad.

breakfast was poor. No fruit juice, no bowls for fruit, disinterested waitress.

The Ugly
A little bit of money needs to be spent in the rooms. The TV was very small. It was a portable and in poor condition. The bathroom also could have done with a lick of paint and simple things like the flush handle being loose and hanging off, making flushing very difficult, could easily be taken care of.

All in all though, for 99 euros for BB with an excellent view overlooking the vast harbour, I can't complain too much!

Room Tip: Room 121 is tucked away from the noise outside and overlooks the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
656 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing