We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kevin”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“kevin”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a beautiful old style hotel. Very clean and friendly staff.Bar food is top class. Cork city is only 20 mins away. train service every half hour from cobh.Hotel is full of history and bring people back many years. Piictures of Titanic and Jack Doyle make people want to know more about this lovely town.I have stayed in Commodore on a number of occassions and will always go back.

Room Tip: Room with Sea View little more expensive but if it available go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flannkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    177
    88
    44
    37
See reviews for
159
152
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipp
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

An old hotel but still looks good. Room was very spacious and very clean. However the breakfast was just terrible. Full Irish was cheap crap, cheap beans, cheap sausages cheap instant coffee.

But I would stay again.

Room Tip: Sea-view room will cost you extra but it's very noisy with street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spratjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here on the 1st and 2nd November 2013 with my wife and 2 daughters ages 8 n 9. first impression was of friendly reception staff, booked in very easily. went up to our room in the lift which i think is as old as the hotel "very safe i'm sure" but the metal lift door would cause alarm to some as it slides open and closed. the room was large with 3 singles and a bouble bed. in the room was a tiny portable tv. the picture rail and skirting were full of dust as was the door. wallpaper peeling off, paintwork also peeling, radiators rusty and very old, windows extremely draughty. in the bathroom the basin was cracked and i would consider it to be replaced as soon as possible. the evening meal was fine as was the breakfasts, but the furniture especially the tables are in a terrible condition just covered by a white tablecloth.on the table next to us the waitress just turned over the tablecloth after the couple had finished but you could still see the stains on the tablecloth showing through. the bar area is what i would consider tiny for the size of the hotel, i belive the furniture had just been renewed or recovered just a day or so before so that was ok, they have some great old pics on the walls but once again they were full of dust, so thats it really. all this is in my eye the truth. we did not complain to the management about any of the above as we won the stay on a radio show and so we could not be compensated for what we considered a very poorly kept hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodorehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Alan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions of the Commodore Hotel. I was disappointed to read the mixed review of your stay. I can understand why you didn’t pass on your complaint to a member of management, but if we had known about your dissatisfaction we would have been more than happy to deal with the issues before you departed & would have ensured that you returned home satisfied.
Our family rooms are large & families appreciate the spaciousness of the accommodation. While I agree that the TV is small given the size of the room we are in the process of replacing the TV’s on a room by room basis. We are also in the process of redecorating our guest bedroom; currently over 55% of these have been redecorated. We are also currently working hard on our “First Impressions”; to this end we have recently re tiled the front hall of the hotel & purchased new furniture for the lounge & bar area.
In relation to your comments about dust in your room & the bar I have forwarded your comments to the accommodation supervisor & bar manager who are investigating it.
I was happy to read that you found the food offering satisfactory. We are currently drafting procedure & policy in relation to the recycling of tablecloths in the restaurant. I have spoken with our independent hygiene consultant & he has assured be that there is no hygiene issue with using one side of the cloth once, then the other side once.
I feel that your comment regarding the bar being tiny doesn’t accurately reflect the size of the bar; it contains 17 tables & is split between two adjoining areas. The bar can comfortably seat 50 persons at the tables, with more seating available at the two bar counters. While I accept that the building itself is on a grand scale due to the elegant Georgian architecture, I feel that the size of the bar is sufficient; we have had functions for 100 persons in the bar before.
I am glad that you received a friendly reception upon arrival & that you were checked in promptly. I agree that the elevator is dated, but is maintained to conform to all safety standards & there are plans in place to update the interior cabin.
Lastly I wish to thank you for taking the time to discuss your review with me on the phone recently. I am delighted to acknowledge that you will be returning to the Commodore Hotel again, as this will give us a second chance to make a first impression
Looking Forward To Seeing You Again,
Eoin McCarthy,
Operations Manager,
Commodore Hotel,
Cobh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cobh hotels

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for a night. Great location staff very friendly, we were an hour early but that was no hassle. Rooms very outdated and the view to the back was awful. But I wasn't there to spend time in my room. Cobh itself is lovely, the only thing I found was nearly all the shops closed for lunch. Tradition I'm sure locals are used too. We hopped on the train to cork and had a great day. The commodore hotel is in a great location. Breakfast was delicious and this alone was worth the stay. No greasiness at all, n as well as full Irish cooked breakfast they have a selection of continental breakfasts. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Front view would definitely be my request on next visit ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrigaholt, Clare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Did not stay but had lunch. We wanted to see the last place many of the passengers would have stayed before joining the Titanic. Great to see many of the old features have been kept in place. There is such an aura about the place an great views of the harbour

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TandIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Charming decor downstairs with a lovely modern bar area, great location and a fascinating history but sadly the rooms are quite old and worn out with damage to fittings in the bathrooms and quite a dark atmosphere.
Breakfast was great but the staff seemed a bit grumpy and overall i would say that the Commodore is a little overpriced for what it offers.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room as the rooms at the back are quite dark and gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We celebrated my friend's birthday lunch.The food is good.The server is so good and very pleasant..The location is easy to reach and perfect for summertime because of the sea shore.Cobh is a beautiful place and I truly enjoyed our day here..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
664 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
690 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing