We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Character hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Character hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just got back from 4 days at the Commodore. Lovely hotel, full of character. The staff were great - really friendly and made us (Brits) feel very welcome.

There are some aspects of the hotel which are a bit shabby, but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment. We had a sea view room on the third floor which was amazing - the most fabulous views each day. Sun from morning to evening.....magical.

Breakfast - excellent !

Our only moan would be that although there is double glazing, it is obviously very old and does not work anymore - we were woken up a number of times during the night.....get this sorted and the hotel would have got a 5* from us.

Room Tip: If you go for a Sea view room, then you get fab views, but you also get noise from the street....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs_Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    165
    80
    42
    32
See reviews for
145
143
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My dad asked me to post his review for the hotel :-)

The Commodore Hotel, to me and my wife, is what we would call home away from home. It is a splendid hotel in the middle of the town, near the shops and only over the road from the promenade, a place where one can sit and watch the boats and ships coming and going all day. There is also a view of the islands, Spike and Haulbowline. There are ferry boats to take the visitors on tour around the harbour, the latter being one of the three largest natural harbours in the world.
The Commodore is also only a few hundred yards away from the railway station and the trains run every hour to Cork City. The hotel is located beside the Heritage Centre, which remembers the Irish who emigrated from Cobh, the single most important port of emigration, and attracts many visitors every year and furthermore the Commodore is a very short walk away from the magnificent St Coleman’s Cathedral.
The staff in the hotel are really fantastic. They are helpful and kind and can’t do enough for you. And the food is really good. There is live music a number of evenings a week in the hotel, which attracts a good crowd and the atmosphere is great. The rooms are very comfortable and we always choose one with a sea view, which is really wonderful.
All in all a sojourn in this hotel is not to be missed. You return home refreshed and counting the weeks until the next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alihann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobh, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Did not have occassion to stay in the Commodore Hotel as I am from the area, but down through the years the Commodore Hotel has always been a host to various diffenent festivals, such as the Cobh International Folk Dance festivals, Corks 2005 European Capital of Culture and many more such evens and I will say that there was alway an excellent reception provided by the Commodores owner and staff, the Commodore Hotel has recently modernized, just to day there was a group of four English visitors leaving, on asking then were they leaving and they said sadly, yes , but if I could pay for an extended stay in the Commodore they would love to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed in the commodore hotel for our friends wedding . On arrival we booked in to our room,wow what a shock it was freezing cold ,small ,very small and a smell of cigarettes ,I had for health reasons booked a non smoking room on contacting a very nice staff member we were changed to a lovely room ,thank you .cant understand why we were not giving this room first ????
The wedding was a great day ,the food was excellent and the service was the best .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Well Cobh is very enjoyable. The hotel was clean and the room had a great view. And they are updating as they can after the recession. Shower was hot and bathroom updated. As time goes on I hope they change the mattress in the rooms as our was not very enjoyable. Also the towels where harsh.
It was well situated with a very wonderful view, close to Titanic white star office, cathedral,and the Cobh museums and heritage center

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudykazudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a beautiful old style hotel. Very clean and friendly staff.Bar food is top class. Cork city is only 20 mins away. train service every half hour from cobh.Hotel is full of history and bring people back many years. Piictures of Titanic and Jack Doyle make people want to know more about this lovely town.I have stayed in Commodore on a number of occassions and will always go back.

Room Tip: Room with Sea View little more expensive but if it available go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flannkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

An old hotel but still looks good. Room was very spacious and very clean. However the breakfast was just terrible. Full Irish was cheap crap, cheap beans, cheap sausages cheap instant coffee.

But I would stay again.

Room Tip: Sea-view room will cost you extra but it's very noisy with street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spratjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing