We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Spacious Apartments with Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent one night here in April 2012. I had already spoken to them by phone from the states and they were wonderful and upon our arrival they were just as lovely. We were shown to our apartment rooms, which we got for a less than any hotel here in CT, because it was midweek and off season. We were actually there for the 100th Anniversary of the Titanic and I was so lucky to even get these great rooms.

Our rooms was very bright, open, spotless and spacious with a vaulted ceiling. Our patio doors opened up to the most GORGEOUS view of the harbor and the cathedral. Being a photographer I was very excited to be able to catch the cathedral all lit up at night from that angle. Waking up to the sparkling water of the harbor was just another plus. That's a view I could never get sick of. Beautiful!

As for the people talking about hills...well... EVERYTHING in Cobh is a hill! LOL! Unless you are on the main street waterfront, then you are on a hill! But it's still wonderful and only a short walk, about 3 minutes to the main waterfront street.

Kevin, the owner was wonderful, funny and accommodating. He let us leave our car at the hotel so that we could explore the town that day, even though we had officially checked out that morning.

Breakfast was simple and very good and out of all the places we visited in Ireland Cobh and Dingle were the two towns we wished we could have stayed more than one night. I love Cobh and this B&B was perfect! I would highly recommend this hotel.

By the way - if you do visit Cobh I suggest you hit the Roaring Donkey Pub up the hill from Bella Vista. It was so much fun!

Room Tip: Out of the two balcony apartment rooms the top most apartment has the better view of the cathedral a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Double room with no windows and locked patio with no key. Room stifling and when we asked for the key for the patio (which they could not find) we were completely patronised by the manager and were told that our issue was insignifcant and we should just get on with it!!!!! The next morning we were told by the same manager that she found the key and she just laughed at us!!! Don't stay here if you value your self worth...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
6  Thank Sallyroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of the Titanic commemorations. Location is good, as long as you don't mind the hills... but they are a good way of walking off the drinks! We stayed in a two bed apartment (suite 10 at the top of the building). There was a strange smell on arrival, like stale water so I had to buy some scented candles in the local shop. Apartment was very large and actually had 3 bedrooms but it felt empty and lacked atmosphere. Did not visit the bar or restaurant on site. Has possibilities if a little more attention to detail was paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

fantasic value staff were very helpful all the time they us feel very welcome... and gave us all the information we needed.... breakfast was great ,, full and plenty.. romm was a big family room .. spotless.. huge bathroom... fantastic views of cobh and over lookin the ocean from room window.... the chinese restauraunt inthe hotel was a bit over priced.. although the staff were excellent.... worth a visit and cobh iself is so beautiful

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

we played the titanic reaturant for years and although we are from bandon we always stayed at the bella vista and played there a few times for weddings. the location is superb and we always loved to hear the bell ringing at st. colemans cathedral. very easy to walk down to the seafront. bella vista was for me and my harp-playing wife always a heavenly place especially the room facing the seafront. we always had to go back to bandon early on monday mornings after gigs and by boarding the rushbrook ferry we were already homesick. kevin is a treasure

Room Tip: if you love the sea it doesn't get better than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpowellberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Couldn't rate this hotel highly enough. Stayed here twice so far coming from South Kilkenny, recently for the Titanic Festival. It's a quaint hotel with lots of character. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff and housekeeping staff. We had a lovely spacious room (suite) which we weren't expecting with added bonus of a balcony and great views! Only about a 5-10 minute walk from mainstreet Cobh and nice a quiet location. We loved everything about it. Will definitely be going again and have no problem recommending it.

Room Tip: As well as standard rooms the hotel have lovely suites and apartments if you want more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I would have no hesitation recommending the Bella Vista to anyone looking for self-accomodation in Cork. We booked it primarily as we were able to bring our Golden Retreiver with us but were taken aback at the size of the accomodation we received for the price we paid. While the furnishing is a bit dated we still had way more room than we needed and the views are wonderful.
Catherine is a great host and was very helpful in recommending where to go and what to see. The restaurant, if a bit pricey, is absolutely excellent and one of the best Chinese meals we have had in a long time.
If you are looking for a few days exploring Cork it is a great location and being able to bring a pet is an added bonus .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
0.2 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
522 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
6.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
740 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cork International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: £63 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing