We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Fantastic hotel for couples, families and anyone who is fishing mad lol.””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've been lucky enough to have stayed at the Bella Vista hotel three times over the past seven years (a huge thank you to the owner Kevin Murphy). The hotel is first class with great well serviced rooms and apartments, The hotel has magnificent views of the Cathedral and Cork harbour and is only a five minute walk from the town centre where you will find plenty of things to do and see. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel breakfast’s are great and will keep you going for most of the day while you are out sight seeing or out fishing. When you get back to the hotel you can have a well earned Guinness or three (lol) in the relaxing hotel bar and then sample the culinary delights on offer in the hotels on site Chinese restaurant (very tasty indeed). We have also been fortunate enough to have been able to use the fantastic Bella Vista self drive boats for our fishing expeditions, and have had some great catches in and outside of the harbour. On this last fishing expedition we were lucky enough to have caught a 2.575 kg Sea Bass which was tagged and released in the harbour area. While we were out fishing our wives went sight seeing in Cobh and on one of the days went and explored Cork City which is only a half hour train journey away.
If you want to go angling, sight seeing or just want to chill out and relax then the Bella Vista Hotel in Cobh is the place to stay. A huge thanks again to Kevin and his staff for another memorable visit and we are all looking forward now to our next visit.
Robert Glyn Hughes from North Wales
The five of us stayed 4 nights on 14th – 18th July 2014.

Room Tip: If you explain your needs when making your booking the staff will do their best to ensure your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberthughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Robert,

Thanks for coming online and leaving us a review, it was our pleasure to have you back for another stay and I'm glad to read you had another fantastic experience. We pride ourselves on the unique and beautiful views of the harbour which our hotel's location offer. "Beautiful View" as the name Bellavista translates.
Delighted to hear you were able to relax after a days fishing (beside the fire if it was a cold day).
We always try to make our guests feel at home and its great to read you feel like this with every stay

Thanks gain Robert, looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards
Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at Bellavista Hotel for 2 months in winter. Room was ok, but everything else went totally wrong. I stayed at the apt below the bar, where they organized parties and karaokes almost every night, so sleeping before 5 am was not possible most of the nights. I rented the apt with cleaning service incl. but never saw any house keeping within the apt. When we moved out after 2 months because we were tired of these things happening, the owner Kevin kept the 600€ we had to deposit in advance (600€ was the monthly rate for the apt) stating that we were not entitled for a refund since we did not clean the apt and left the rubbish bags in there when leaving. Thought this was a hotel, so we did of course not clean the apt. Will never stay again. AVOID.

Room Tip: look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben18285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellavistaCobh, Owner at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Good morning Ben, every now and again we receive a review out of the blue which is quite scathing about my business, but in reality I think everyone will see that this review is just not true.You say you stayed in 2013 and 9 months later you decide to write a review, if it was so bad why did you stay 2 months ? I have no record of you, disco,s until 5am in the morning every night...
I DO NOT THINK SO Ben, PERHAPS BELLAVISTA IN Benalmadena Spain.... certainly not Cobh.I think Ben when you decide to write things about Peoples Businesses you should at the very least.... if you have been there give a true and accurate reflection so that other travellers will be able to make an informed decision based on your thoughts and experience, dont just pick a business at random and try to ruin it good reputation, thankfully I think people will not just look at your review, they will look at a selection and see that you were the only person hearing music at 5am in the morning ?????
Many thanks and I hope you get the opportunity to visit us one day.
Warm regards from Sunny Cobh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the place to stay in Cobh! We took the self-catering suite no 7 with a lovely view of the sea. Kevin (Murphy) was friendly and helpful even before we met- via phone. By booking directly with the hotel, we got a good deal, including 2 breakfasts. We couldn't have asked for better! The Suite was perfect and the balcony overlooking the Cathedral and sea a lovely view. The kitchenette suited us perfectly - we even had a takeaway one night from the Chinese right next door! It's a short walk to the town itself (altho' a short hill climb). We left the car parked on site. There is so much to do and see in Cobh (see other reviews) and it was great to just 'chill out' on our return. The sitting room area is very spacious and clean and the bedroom perfect (Keep window closed if you don't want to hear the bells of the Cathedral!). Overall, a perfect stay and would highly recommend to everyone. Staff were so friendly, we felt part of their family! Thanks to Kevin+ staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was Suite Number 7, Bella Vista View - superb! As always recommended, have ear-plugs at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have to say that the staff at this establishment are extremely helpful. I found my room to be spotless. The craic in the bar was great and the Breakfast was outstanding. It was lovely to enjoy the view of Cobh harbour over a pint of Murphy's Stout, served at it's best.

Kevin Murphy is an excellent host and if you fancy a bit of Angling, you are in the right place. The Bella Vista has boat rod and boats for hire and a party of four will find great value and entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but a sea view is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Patrick,

Thanks for visiting tripadvisor and taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear you had a great stay and that you found our staff so accommodating! your comments have been passed onto our team.

Hope to see you again for another stay in the wonderful Cobh. The murphys will be waiting, poured to perfection as always!

Warm Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I can not compare the Bellavista to any other hotel in Cobh as its the only place I stay and its probably 10 years now. In that time the hotel has structurally changed for the better the welcome, comfort and staff remain as ever warm & friendly.
There is ample car parking for those who arrive by car, a well stocked comfortable Bar with plenty of seating inside and out & a Good Chinese Restaurant (and I go the Manchesters China Town a lot) on sight with the bonus if like us you are tired and hungry you can get a 'takeaway' and have it in your room with a Murphys from the bar, they will also cook your catch for the fishermen who stay and there is nothing better than fresh caught Cod, Bass and even Mackerel cooked to perfection by the restaurant, from hook to plate inside 3 hours.
To date I have stayed in a total of 6 differant rooms and suites, they are all to the same high standard comfort wise but the cooks amongst you may want to pack your own kitchen knives, in common with lots of self catering suites anywhere the kitchen knives take some abuse.
Lastly if you are a sea fisherman then this is a holiday of a lifetime but you can do it every year! Everything is here. Superb self drive boats & ackle but best of all the fish, Cod, Bass, Conger, Ling, Rays, Pollock, Haddock. Most can be caught within the harbour which is only second the Sydney harbour in size ( the Titanic docked here on its way to meet the iceberg) where no matter what the wind does its usually fishable. Outside the harbour using the navigation you can fish the wrecks and reefs and land the big stuff and only a couple of hours from the dock.
Kevin Murphy the owner is a manic fisherman who just happens to own a hotel he will do everything he can to ensure you get what you want out of your holiday whether it be a nice quite comfortable relaxing holiday or a 12lb hard fighting Atlantic Sea Bass. Give it a try you will not regret it.

Room Tip: If you are with friends consider a suite, the kitchen and dining room are a good addition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ericeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Bella Vista for 3 nights and could not fault it in any way from the moment we walked through the door till the minute we left we felt right at home all the staff are magnificent they will do anything they can to make your stay PERFECT. All the Guests were brilliant too Everyone was so Friendly and helpfull, and a very Special thanks to all the Bar Staff (they certainly had there work cut out and worked some very long hours, due to all the partying until early morning)The food was all 1st Class We wish we could get a delivery to Sunderland :-)
WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK again in a few months
All the best Rob & Jean

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Robert

Thanks for taking the time to come on and leave us a review, it is very much appreciated! I have passed on your thanks and regards to our bar staff, and I'm sure they enjoyed serving you and helping you to have an enjoyable stay (even if it was in the early hours of the morning! :) )
Although our restaurant do have a takeaway delivery system in place I'm not sure if it stretches to Sunderland(yet anyway ! haha).

We are delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to the Bellavista again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Travelled to Cobh for my brother in law 60th birthday party,which was held in the Bella Vista.We had booked the room on line for my wife and I but we turned up with our 14 year old grand daughter. Was that a problem for the Bella Vista ? not at all, theycould not have been more helpfull. If you are going to Cobh stay here. Rooms very good , food perfect, staff fantastic,location ideal.Thanks to all at the Bella Vista.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear David,

Thanks for taking the time to visit Tripadvisor and leave us a review. Glad your wife, granddaughter and yourself enjoyed both your stay and your brother-in-law's party.
We hope you got some time to enjoy the lovely harbour views our little sea-town offers and its many different sites and attractions.
Hope to see you again in the near future
Kind Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cobh
696 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cobh
537 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: £71 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing