We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We only had the one night here but it was a good experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, spotless and very cosy. Breakfast the following morning was served in the restaurant which has panaramic views of Baltimore Harbour and across to Sherkin Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    32
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
66
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I chose the Waterfront hotel for a romantic weekend away with my girlfriend and i dont think i could have picked a better spot. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were very luxurious and had amazing views over the harbour. We had a lovely meal in the Lookout restaurant after a day of taking in all the beautiful scenery of the surrounding countryside. From the advice of the wonderful staff i found the ideal spot to propose to my girlfriend. A weekend i'll never forget!

Room Tip: The upgrade to the superior rooms are completely worth it. You thank yourself for splashing out once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeMc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The bedroom was fantastic with amazing sea views of the harbour. The breakfast room also looked over the water. The staff were very nice and helpful especially when my grandmother became ill on one of the mornings. The only let down is the noise in the rooms from not only the bar downstairs and the crowds overflowing onto the streets at night, but also noise from adjoining rooms. You could here peoples voices and the shower sounded like it was in our own room!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the quiet period and got a good deal so was great value for money. The room was spacious with a very large bed and great views out over the harbour. Service was good and everyone was friendly, downstairs was a restaurant and pub with a nice open fire. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay in November. Hotel has great views overlooking harbour and islands. Restaurant has huge floor to ceilings windows giving a spectacular view at breakfast time. You can watch the ferry coming in from your room and walk to it in order to go to Sherkin or Cape Clear. Bar was fine and food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnydeWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Pleasant hotel with well appointed rooms, the staff are friendly and courteous and the hotel is in a great location so you can easily explore the surrounding area.

The food is decidedly average and each table is "adorned" with what must be regarded as the worst ketchup available in Ireland in my opinion, Kandee Ketchup.

Nice hotel, pity about the ketchup.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyDoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Once again, we ended a beautiful Irish holiday in this fantastic hotel. Everything about our stay was absolutely faultless, thanks to the special care and attention given to us by Kate and her wonderful team. Our room was amazing-a view over the harbour,a spacious and beautifully appointed bathroom, a big comfy bed (from which you can see the seaview) and a comfy lounge area from which you can also take in the gorgeous view. Whilst the more upmarket restaurant was closed for the season, the food in the brasserie downstairs is always excellent, with a great selection of yummy seafood and awesome pizzas (and, having also just spent time in Italy, we can attest to the quality of the pizza!). The bar downstairs is always good for a few pints and some good craic. We even caught a music session there during our stay. Breakfast was a scrumtious feast with a variety of continental fare as well as an excellent selection of delicious hot food, all included in the very reasonable room tariff. The full Irish was huge and delicious! This hotel is such excellent value for money, but for us, it was the warm welcome and that extra mile the girls went to for us that make The Waterfront a place we will most definitely be visiting again on our next trip to the Emerald Isle. Oh, and it's only about an hour's drive from Cork airport, which makes it the perfect first or last stop when visiting Ireland.

Room Tip: You simply must have a seaview room! They're gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
0.5 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
6.4 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
14.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
397 reviews
23.4 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
20.0 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: The Square, Baltimore | Co. Cork, Baltimore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront, Baltimore, is a relaxed family run establishment comprising of rooms, 2 restaurants (one is open all year the other is seasonal) and a bar.We are located right in the centre of the village of Baltimore overlooking Baltimore Bay and the Islands. We have a selection of Standard and Superior rooms available, most with Sea View.All our rooms are bright and spacious. It is owned by the Jacob family who look forward to welcoming you during your trip to the beautiful Baltimore village in the South West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing