We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even nicer then imagined. Loved whole area, house...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Baltimore, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

karenmart...
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Even nicer then imagined. Loved whole area, house fabulous”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a beautiful homely cottage which is on a very secluded lane not far from the village. Easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants and shops.

The cottage is well equipped for self catering and was a real home from home. Lovely crisp linen and fluffy towel. Loads of little personal touches and a welcome from Martina which couldn't be nicer along with fresh milk, tea,coffee and cakes.

We stayed for a week in May 2017 and were very lucky to have great weather. Absolutely loved Baltimore especially Caseys Hotel for food and drinks, Bushes Bar for beer and Algiers for the "disco" on Friday night! What a hoot. Rolfs (up back road in Baltimore) was really nice for a romantic meal for two was splendid.

Our doggy loved the field (garden) in the cottage and the lovely walk down to the sea from the house.

We visited Sherkin Island (ferry 10 mins) from Baltimore pier and walked around Horseshoe Bay - stunning.

Loved West Cork - Glenore, Bantry, Schull, Mizen Head, Glengarriff, Skibbereen (farmers market on Saturday is a must) Had lunch at Joe's Coffee House in Gelngarriff- definately recommend.

We will be booking again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianrga...
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical place to stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and our two teenagers ( who were delighted with the excellent WI FI in the house) recently returned from a wonderful holiday in Baltimore, Co. Cork. we stayed in the lovely Laharn cottage, belonging to Martina and Jim, they were the most welcoming of people we have ever stayed with. This is our second time staying with them and the welcome we received was second to none. Martina had baked some delicious fresh cream buns for us, which did not last very long i might add and some Gourmet crisps which went down very well. The house itself was spotless clean, the beds all made up ready for for us and they are so comfortable, the house itself is so cosy we did not want to leave it, and a log burner ready to go with lots of logs to burn should you need them. I like to cook in a lot and this has to be the best equipped kitchen we have ever had, everything you need to cook with and a large Rosemary bush in the beautiful garden, what more could you ask for? This cottage and Martina and Jim make it a magical place to stay and not forgetting how beautiful the village of Baltimore is. We loved it and were very sad to leave, but cannot wait to get back there again. A fantastic holiday and a real treat to stay here, Baltimore is a gateway to the islands especially Cape clear. There is so much to do and this house is within walking distance from great restaurants, where you can enjoy a delicious pizza at the Waterfront and watch the sun set into the sea, just wonderful!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful place, wonderful people.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D
1 review
“Quiet, sheltered, home from home.”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From the home-made cake to the wind range of holiday reading, we felt relaxed and welcome from day one of our fortnight at Lahern. The teens particularly appreciated the unlimited wifi, while the adults lounged on the sunny (up to about 4pm) terrace, or around the wood-burning stove. Fuscia and montbretia sheltered the former during a blustery time down in the village of Baltimore, but still allowed great views of the heather and gorse covered hillside opposite - 'Spain' - crowned with its ruined Napoleonic watchtower.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9sophiem
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just spent a week in this lovely cottage. A short walk into Baltimore , the cottage had all the creature comforts we needed to make for a relaxing break. It is beautifully furnished and well equipped. The village is quiet in low season but we enjoyed driving along the stunning coastline, returning to sample locally sourced fish and meat in the evenings at the few restaurants in the village. I would recommend a stay in this cosy cottage , excellent value and a friendly welcome from the owners

Date of stay: March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthilary
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blissful week in beautiful West Cork!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Cottage clean, comfortable and homely. Welcome from owners generous and included milk, cakes and wine. Cottage situated in a quiet valley close to small fishing port of Baltimore and short walk away from a pretty cove for seal watching or swimming. Great coastline to explore, including the islands of Roaring Water Bay. We were lucky to stay during on of the warmest Septembers in recent memory. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried...
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.