We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale Watch West Cork

Whale Watch West Cork
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Responsible tourism award winner - Whale Watch West Cork runs responsible whale and dolphin watching tours led by zoologist and conservationist Dr Nic Slocum. All tours depart from Baltimore, Harbour, West Cork on board Voyager- daily between April and November (sea conditions permitting). Each tour takes you around the beautiful islands and headlands of West Cork,stopping at Cape Clear Island affording visitors an insight into the unique lifestyle of the islanders of Roaring Water Bay. Our overseas arm, Whales Worldwide, runs exclusive wildlife holidays to unique destinations including Baja, Maui, Patagonia and Sri Lanka to watch whales responsibly in their natural habitats. Each tour is personally guided by Nic Slocum with a maximum of ten like-minded guests per holiday. We are dedicated to providing each of our customers with a safe, comfortable and educational whale and dolphin watching experience. We seek to impart accurate knowledge on the marine mammals and other wildlife we encounter and on the wider issues of marine conservation through informed commentary with special emphasis on the current threats facing these unique animals and their fragile environment. We directly support conservation measures through education and research.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Nick was a fantastic guide. We were so lucky to have seen nearly 300 dolphins and two kinky whales. Definitely an unforgettable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    16
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really enjoyed the tour. Nic was excellent, a wonderful host who is extremely knowledgeable and accomodating. He provides really interesting facts and stories about the area, the nature and the animals. He genuinely seems committed to ensuring all passengers have an enjoyable experience. For four hours of a trip, and the level of service provided I feel the 50 euro is well spent. A gentleman, and I would be delighted to recommend the tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleWatchWestCork, Manager at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi jjb37
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with Whale Watch West Cork. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and the marine wildlife of West Cork and hope you may find the time to join us again at another time in the future.
Thanks again
Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maui and Loreto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Nic was professional, knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. Both the trips my wife and I shared with Nic were beyond doubt exhilarating. We saw whales every day we went out on the boats. Fantastic trip and company. I would thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank choosycolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleWatchWestCork, Owner at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Colin B
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience of our overseas tours to Mexico and Maui. We were delighted to make this "dream come true" for you and your wife. We loved having you on board for the Maui and Baja 2014 tours...your obvious enjoyment and fascination with the variety of whales we saw, from humpbacks to blue whales and the Pacific gray whales is what makes this job so rewarding.
We hope we may have the pleasure of showing you other natural wonders of the whaley kind sometime in the future.
Thank you again.
Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A MUST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

You have to do this.

Nic was brilliant, He has a deep knowledge of the wild life in the area and was extremely friendly.
We had the best weather we could hope for and this allowed us to travel as far as Fastnet Rock.
On are way back we stopped of at Cape Clear for something to eat. Lovely Place petty to advertise it really, so I won't, just go there and leave it the way you found it, taking your rubbish along with your memories. (thank you for the next ones who visit)

We didn't get to see any whales but this early in the season we didn't hold much hope of that. We did get to see common dolphins though, loads of them all around us racing the catamaran for a quick break and a bit of fun before going back to chasing fish. This was one of the highlights of the holiday.
We also enjoyed seeing a glimpse of a harbour porpoise, some common seals, a variety of bird-life such as guillemots, gannets, cormorants and more.

I would highly recommend this tour as we will always remember it for as long as we live.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have never been on a whale watching tour, so I was skeptical. But the owner Nic was a great tour guide and very knowledgeable about the local history as well. We didn't see any whales, but we did catch glimpses of dolphins, good views of seals and a basking shark. If you keep your expectations in check (weather especially) and realize that you may see nothing at all, and just enjoy the scenery, you will be fine. But the best part was Nic's good humor and occasional stops for history info. Bring some snacks (it's a 4 hr tour) and some water. There is a restroom on board and you make a stop halfway through the tour in a harbor with a coffee shop and restroom. The boat was clean and well equipped. We will do this tour again when we have friends visit us here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnusds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Watch West Cork also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 
Baltimore, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 

Been to Whale Watch West Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing