We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple menu but very good - amaretti cocktail a must!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rolfs Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Myself and my hubby went down to West Cork for our anniversary last weekend and ended up here one of the nights. The booking was last minute but they fit us in no problem. The country house is nice but there was not much of an atmosphere in the restaurant to be honest as the restaurant was not too busy. Hubby had a pint of Murphys and I ordered the Amaretti cocktail and my god, what a refreshingly gorgeous tasting drink. If you like almond flaours then you HAVE to try this drink. We are now going to source amaretti liquer and recreate this ourselves at home. I could drink buckets of it - yummy!! :) The service was good but I have to say have had better and warmer welcomes in country houses. I'm probably nit picking now as we went to another local place the next nigth and had such great food and service that I cant help but compare. We both had seafood and fish and all meals were very simple but tasty. They respect the produce there and do not do much to the food especially the seafood. We had scallops that had only come in an hour and half previous so they were super fresh! An all round good experience and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friederike H, Owner at Rolfs Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review as you know its back too school time and business all around slow down, so we had our first quiet night in over 4 months a welcome to us. I am delighted you enjoyed the scallops as this was one of the dishes that the AA gave us our Rosette for Culinary Excellence for 2012/2013 a firm favorite of mine also. Again thank you for the lovely review and we hope you will come and visit us again soon . Friederike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We enjoyed our recent 2 night stay in Rolf's and it was a great base from which to explore the beautiful West Cork countryside and coastline. The self catering unit was well kitted out (if a little spartan) and the open fire is a nice touch. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant on our first night, with attentive service. The profiteroles were delicious!

My only criticism is that the communal gardens and terraces are in need of a clear up and a prune. A wooden pallet left in the car park didn't create a great first impression - just a little bit messy.

Overall, good value for money and we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Isla2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friederike H, Owner at Rolfs Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you so much for the review, it is great to hear such good comments, as you know we have not had a great summer and I think everyone's gardens have suffered, however our garden are well matured and we have now with the last 2 weeks of great DRY weather been able to due the pruning that had be put off. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again for the wonderful comments on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Rolfs Country House is within walking distance of the Baltimore harbour and located on a hill at the end of a steep and narrow road. The cottages have charm, are clean and have good standard kitchen and bathroom equipment. We were conveniently located very close to the Wine Bar/Restaurant, sharing their lovely garden.
The restaurant is also worth a visit with its relaxed atmosphere and great food.
On the geek side, the TV is recent enough to have HDMI connectors (convenient if you travel with your tablet/phone/camera/media player). Wi-Fi access point is located at the reception, just ask for the password.
We had the most relaxing stay in a long while with our son and the week passed almost too quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverBarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed in one of the self catering cottages as had our dog, all mod cons. Food in the restaurant was excellent, with people coming from all over West Cork. Family run, very friendly couldn't do enough. Only 5 minute walk into village. Staff their greatest asset. Recent addition Daisy, a very friendly donkey who loves apples. Rolfs not to be missed.
Triona, Pat & Scamp.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank tfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Rolf's is about 15 minutes walk from Baltimore but is worth the effort. The restaurant is in a charming country house. Like most restaurants in the fishing village of Baltimore, West Cork, the speciality is fish and it was very tasty. I didn't order a starter but tried the starter of tomato and mozzarella salad, which was simply delicious. The fish came with boiled and mashed potatoes and a vegetable portion, which were all very generous. The desert was tasty but slightly disappointing, the profiteroles had been pre-prepared and were therefore a bit soggy and the use of custard at the bottom of the dish was what I would expect at a cheap and cheerful café rather than a restaurant, I tried the chocolate cake, which again was passable but hardly remarkable. The wine was Sicilian and tasty but not astounding. The main course and pleasant, relaxing atmosphere made the meal very enjoyable. But considering the price, all of the elements should have been perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I needed somewhere to stay the night before the West Cork 200 cycle. Rolf's Country House was very clean, modern and comfortable. Located in a quiet location atop a hill and just 5min walk from Baltimore. It also has ample parking. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Service very good and food excellent. Loved the beers. Room worked fine for 2 nights but too small for longer stay. Owners should find permanent fix for mould over shower (condensation problem) which is unsightly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djmp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
0.4 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
6.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
495 reviews
14.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Channel View B&B
Channel View B&B
#2 of 12 in Baltimore
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stone House B&B
The Stone House B&B
#3 of 12 in Baltimore
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolfs Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolfs Country House

Address: Baltimore Hill, Baltimore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolfs Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Guest accomodation of the year 2017...Rolfs is a family-run business established in 1979 by the Haffner family. Originally an old farmhouse, with a courtyard surrounded by traditional stone build outhouses and set in 4.5 acres of mature grounds and gardens. The buildings, dating back several hundred years have been carefully restored and renovated in its original style and character, providing beautiful bedrooms, Holiday Cottages and an award winning a la carte Restaurant and Wine Bar. "Your ideal base to explore beautiful West Cork." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rolfs Country House Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing