We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the Best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rolfs Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed there about 3 years ago. Beautiful stone buildings with lots of little courtyards & beautiful grounds. Peaceful & quiet with beautiful, most comfortable rooms with the very best linens. The dinner was superb and breakfast just as good, you have to see the spread to believe it. If you cannot stay then at least go for a meal. Ample parking.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and have the same high standard
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Rolfs Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great place to relax, rooms are quaint and cosy.The food at Rolfs is excellent and service is spot on. You can tell that the owner is passiontate about good/local ingredients. Baltimore is a lovely place to escape, have a few beers and relax. Really enjoyed my stay here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP19832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Rolfs is a great little spot! Just out of town, nestled up the back of a quiet little country road. Food and wine was fabulous, as was the service. Rooms were nice and clean. Beautiful white bed linen.
All in all a great stay. Would visit again in a heartbeat! No where but Rolfs in Baltimore!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasant place to stay for a weekend. The location seems to be further from Baltimore than it actually is (it's about half a km from the village, up a quiet country road). The accommodation is clean, if a little basic, with a good en suite and an excellent shower. Breakfast was very nice, with a good mix of continental breakfast and very good cooked breakfast (it is obvious that high quality produce are used). The evening meal was good. The set menu is disappointingly limited, however the flavours in the courses we got were excellent. The wine list was pretty pricey for the wines in offer. All in all, definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr_duddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages for a weekend in july they were fabulous very spacious with two really big sized bedrooms which were perfect for a family of five. Rolfs is ideally situated only a few minutes walk down to the harbour where you can catch the ferry to cape clear which we did and is well worth a visit.
We also ate in the restaurant where the food was excellent I especially loved the chocolate orange flavoured cake. We were only sorry we couldn't stay longer and definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Self catering beautiful views over the gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wherecathgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Rolfs Guesthouse in July this year. The only downside was the weather. We just missed 6 weeks of beautiful weather which was a little unfortunate.
Rolfs Guesthouse was a lovely place to stay. The location is beautiful, even through th raindrops.
We only had breakfast so can't comment on dinner. The breakfast itself was nice, but the homebreads and jams were lovely. The coffee was lovely - I hadn't realised how bad coffee was in Ireland (haven't been home in a few years!). Probably the best coffee we had in Cork at least.
The staff were friendly, and helpful. My kids were delighted by the donkey too, which was a real bonus for them. Would certainly head back to Rolfs if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife, 2-year old daughter and parents-in-law loved staying here. Our hosts were very welcoming. The place has modern amenities, is well kept, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was generous and quite filling. We would definitely come back here when in Baltimore!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
0.4 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
6.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
488 reviews
14.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stone House B&B
The Stone House B&B
#3 of 12 in Baltimore
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Channel View B&B
Channel View B&B
#2 of 12 in Baltimore
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Baltimore
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolfs Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolfs Country House

Address: Baltimore Hill, Baltimore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: £30 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolfs Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Guest accomodation of the year 2017...Rolfs is a family-run business established in 1979 by the Haffner family. Originally an old farmhouse, with a courtyard surrounded by traditional stone build outhouses and set in 4.5 acres of mature grounds and gardens. The buildings, dating back several hundred years have been carefully restored and renovated in its original style and character, providing beautiful bedrooms, Holiday Cottages and an award winning a la carte Restaurant and Wine Bar. "Your ideal base to explore beautiful West Cork." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rolfs Country House Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing